Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable, but noisy.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Rooftop dining.
Cons: It's the location that is a bit trying. It was convenient for catching onward travel. But not for the long visit.
Location: See above
A very noisy part of Auckland that cannot be blocked out. Very little sleep had.
2 out of 5
by Michelle from Chicago

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Staff was wonderful and polite.
Cons: Come with AC units so that windows dont have to remain propped open and subject people to that awful bar music.
Location: The waterfront is just a 3 minute walk away and there are lots of restaurants and things there that are rather interesting to do.
The mattresses are really thin and I felt the wooden plank boards beneath them every time I shifted. Also, there is a bar next door, that has no roof, and it's VERY loud music seeped into our room until 1AM when the bar closed. It was next to impossible to sleep.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by max from aucklad

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
the place was dirty, i spotted a mouse in the kitchen which led me not to sleep all night, toilet seats were very dirty, i had to go to a public toilet , bed sheets had stains on them . a place not to go
2 out of 5
by Emma from Melbourne, AUS

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Really good location
Cons: maybe putting WINDOWS in EVERY room. Maybe an update to their fire alarm system since it can be activated by STEAM or DEODERANTS
Location: lots of restaurants/bars close by, close walk to bus/train stations and ferries
We had a less than comfortable experience. The room we were placed in was a shoebox with no windows or ventilation. If it weren't for the fact that someone left a fan in there, I think my friend and I would have suffocated. The room was stinking hot, it stunk, and we were not offered any other room. The fact that this room is available in the first place is disgusting. I'm not sure about the legal ramifications about AIR SUPPLY TO A ROOM but I am EXTREMELY disappointed with the fact that the room is available. Could not tell what time of day it was since there was no NATURAL LIGHT available. Became delirious and got sick because of breathing in the same air. Surprised I didn't get co2 poisoning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by F from France

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: - Friendly staff!!
Cons: - If the outside buzzer is not working then there should be a sign alerting people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kiani from chch new zelaand

Simple and close to everything in central city

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Nomads is a good place to stay especially if your in Auckland for a concert or something similar. We stayed in a room with two separate beds and an ensuite which was pretty comfy considering we stayed one night. Decent prices decent accomadtion and right off queen street means your close by for a good night out. Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Everything is Ok,but the room is too small and we got a no window room, so we have to open the door to get fresh air..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean, comfortable place...

Posted May 11, 2013
The hostel was clean and comfortable. You can rent towels at reception ($10, $5 charge), attached Fort Street Union bar is cool, offering discounts for hostel stayers. Great location. Nothing to complain about for a $16 / night hostel...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: None.
Cons: Loud music all hours of the night. Tiny room.
The room was a tiny, tiny room. There was just enough space for single bunk beds, and a tiny bathroom with about a meter between them. Beds were very uncomfortable, music was playing from the hallway outside our room until at least midnight at a very loud volume. Television was almost too small to view and the reception was terrible. A couch wouldn't fit in the room. Would not recommend to anyone actually wanting sleep.