Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton

the only room in town

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: The location was quite central and had Newmarket just down the road.
Cons: Perhaps if the owner /manager did a review of the rooms ( a lot of staff will get lazy if their work is never checked).
Unfortunately, the weekend I needed to be in Auckland, there were many other events on at the same time. Getting a room at a reasonable rate was never going to be easy. The staff (the man behind reception) was very pleasant. The room was basic and functional - had a flat screen tv, 'cuppa' facilities, iron and ironing board in the room without having to ask for them but the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been.....for my $***.** a night I expected a very good level of hygiene. At best it was worth a third of what I paid but I guess it was all about supply and demand. Still....they need to keep the faith with their guests and even if the establishment is a bit more humble.......MAKE SURE IT IS SPOTLESS!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good destination tidy and cleanish But tired

Posted Mar 3, 2015
No security latches on windows so cooked alive. Fan didn't work and still had Asian plug fitted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and tidy

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Great motel with helpful staff. Only yhing had no aircon and traffic noise was a little annoying at times but other than that had a great stay
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom FRENCH POLYNESIA

TERRIBLE NIGHT AND HORRIBLE NOISES

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: IMPOSSIBLE
Location: NOTHING
AWFULL STAY IN THIS HOTEL TOO NOISY FROM TRAIN AND MOTOR WAY JUST A FEW STEPS AWAY. THE RESPONSIBLE OF RECEPTION WAS VERY DISAGREEABLE AND SHOULD NOT WORK FOR TOURISTS. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL , NEVER , NEVER , NEVER ...
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

OK, but watch their charging procedures

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I was annoyed to find that the hotel charged my credit card DESPITE my saying that I would pay by EFTPOS on departure, which meant that I was charged international fees for BOTH the debit and the subsequent credit. This should not have happened!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northland NZ

Close to everything, value for money

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: The Managaement were really nice and friendly
Cons: Bathroom could of been a fraction bigger as it was a tight squeeze closing the door, but other wise it was really nice.
Location: City, and markets were very close.
Room was perfect for what we wanted, and handy to everywhere. Great price. Very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by OakTreeMotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time for the review, we really appreciate it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

Auckland one nighter

Posted Dec 27, 2014
For the price this was great value, although close to the freeway it was quiet. It was close to a supermarket and take aways. It was fairly easy to get to from the airport. On site parking is free.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Ideal position to the city, motorways and shops.

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: The position.
Cons: Total refurbishing of rooms.
Location: Good restaurants and handiness to points of interest.
If you like a tired room that is hot, a fence away from the train track and motorway and smokers out on the balcony, then enjoy. This is a tired motel, that with some revamping could be an ideal place to stay. The Management were helpful, but need some improvement. In all, a very disappointing stay in Auckland.
4 out of 5
by Brendon Kahifrom Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Location: Just right
Facilities: Typical; Value: Could be better; Service: Friendly, Courteous; Cleanliness: Pleasant;
5 out of 5
by Margrit Rohsfrom New Zealand

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Location, and looking at green Dilworth
Cons: Room could have curtains to darken the room more at night.
Location: Perfect, Close to newmarket
Facilities: Nice ; Value: Affordable; Service: Professional; Cleanliness: Pleasant; Would have prefered a sink in the kitchen not in the bathroom