Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Centrally Based CBD Hotel easy to find

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The staff couldn't have been more helpful, in particular the Valet Parking Staff. The buffet breakfast option for only $20 - excellent value!
Cons: Only complaint was the lift, but it didn't cause too many issues. We would have used the stairs instead but it is only possible to go down and not up
Location: Sky Tower, lots of restaurants, Casino, shopping, sight seeing - it is all on the doorstep!
Staff were lovely from the moment I drove into the Valet Parking lane. Check-in was swift. One lift was under maintenance so it took a bit a patience getting to our floor, both going up and down. We were a bit concerned that being on one of the lower floors that we might get some noise from the casino, etc, but the room was quiet with no noticeable noise. The room was very comfortable with possibly the biggest bed I've seen. It was the perfect temperature with excellent black out curtains. The bathroom was a little tired around the edges but very clean, lots of towels and the toiletries were great. Nice to have personal items available in the mini-bar - we forget our toothpaste and were very pleased to see some in the drawer, along with a selection of shaving items. The free WIFI was also excellent - a reasonable speed too with no drop-outs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exploring Auckland

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: It's location and standard.
We had a great time walking around. Everything close and great. Had a fun family get away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northland

Perfect, so close to shops. Excellent place

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Everything, staff, room, food, don't even have to pay for parking, that in itself is a major bonus for Auckland.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping, walks, cafes, movies, concerts, the list goes on.
Stay at Skycity often, would not even consider other hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nukualofa

Winter escape

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Mini holiday so mych to see and do all in one food entertainment late night early morning its all there!.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gareth from Wellington

Central City Hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Very Quiet and modern clean rooms.
Cons: Although ok staff could smile a little more :-). Why not give cleaners a list of departures save them knocking on your door at 0830.
Location: In the city centre walk down to the waterfront enjoy the bar/restaurants and walkways.
Second time Ive stayed at this hotel while visiting Auckland. Very quiet for a hotel in the city centre. Large clean modern rooms. Try the NYC inspired dinner next door. Leave your bags with the concierge after check out while you enjoy the Auckland waterfront. Recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from New Zealand

Close to City perfect for a night out.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Extra huge beds and modern updates
Cons: Cleanliness, attention to detail
Location: Great for night out in Auckland city.
We weren't sure on parking on arrival as website didn't have instructions of were to go, got is sorted in the end. Don't take too much things however as you have to carry it all yourself. Rooms were absolutely spectacular except for the left over curry in the draw from the previous client and the vulgar messages written on the windows obviously when they were covered in condensation and left to dry. Beds were amazing HUGE and bathrooms nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Sydney

great hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing comes to mind
Location: great location, right next to the Sky Tower and a short stroll down to the harbour to the ferry terminals and Queen Street (for a bit of shopping).
staff friendly and extremely helpful with all requests. Room was comfy and good size with plenty of room to move about. Would stay there again when next in Auckland and recommend to friends and family. There are renovations happening at the moment in the SkyCity vicinity which is also the entrance to the hotel but this was never an issue as access to the hotel was fine. Although did have to drive around the block on arrival, but this could have had more to do with the GPS and the work site. Parking is available in the Skycity complex if you don't want to use the valet, but did find better value using the valet and less hassle trying to locate a parking spot myself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from Auckland

great location

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Remove mould from tiles in the bathroom. Would be even better if you didnt have to pay for parking during your stay.
Location: Too much to mention
Great stay, had a great view from our room, really enjoyed our meal at Orbit and would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Auckland CBD

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: It's central location with Auckland CBD. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by to choose from.
Cons: The hotel accommodation is starting to look tired and dated. Carpets need replacing as stains in the room and in the hallways.
Hotel stay was nice. Hotel close to all amenities and located in Auckland CBD. Staff were pleasant and very helpful when required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
We had a little time to have a get away, and decided to take a trip across the Tasman Sea and enjoy a few days in Auckland. We found the Star City to be very central to all the city locations. We splurged out one night and enjoyed a beautiful meal and view at the Orbit Restaurant. The other cafes, buffets and bars were great. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was exciting this particular weekend as the All Blacks were playing at Eden Park. There are also plenty of other restaurants and liquor places around the hotel to enjoy. We had a great meal straight outside the main door at FEDERAL DELICATESSEN or commonly known as TheFed. Great NYC food. We hired a car for the time we were here, and we had Star City rates for parking. If you don't take the car out one day, there was no cost, you only pay for the next day. If you get a members card, you can be comped for parking as we were. We took a drive south to Rotorua and saw many beautiful towns along the way. We we arrived back into the hotel, we felt at home.