Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kaitaia nz

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Location and service
Cons: Aircon in rooms so not as stuffy no circulation of air through the rooms
Location: Central to shopping and restaurants all within walking distance
Welcomed at the front door by staff. service was great. Only thing was the rooms are too hot at night and we did turn aircon down but otherwise was lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to all amenities, particular

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Staff are excellent. Facilities are excellent. Food in restaurant is well presented but not as high in quality as we expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Central city break

Posted Oct 12, 2014
We wanted a night in a well appointed central city Hotel to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Stamford did not disappoint. We had a lovely evening and would recommend to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria

Nice hotel an easy work to the harbour

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Lovely lobby, helpful staff.
Cons: Door on the cupboard was broken.
Location: Very central, easy access to bus depot, ferries, restaurants.
Very relaxing holiday, plenty to see and do! Botanic gardens were beautiful and the display in the hothouses was spectacular..
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

more like a 2 star!

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: the atmosphere in the lobby was nice.
Cons: almost all of the staff would benefit by removing the carrots from there arses
I couldn't have even made a bowl of two minute noodles if I wanted to, there were no kitchen facilities at all so not even a knife and fork not even a microwave! and if I wanted a cup of tea I would have had to fill the jug up in the bathroom. The coffee tables and side tables were filthy, there was a huge gap in the bathroom ceiling, the water pressure was crap and the temperature was temperamental, no balcony and make-up on the robes but that was the least of our issues utterly disappointed! I have never written a bad review before.. also the staff weren't to friendly either except the financial guy that I just rang because I had been charged for a chocolate bar I didn't even have!! truly terrible experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Everything was great was a bit surprised when I booked two rooms together they didn't give it right next to each other or a double room suite. Also no sinks to make drinks. Was to compact in the room other than that was great clean good service and facilities. The spa was the best sick view nice heated pool as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sinna

Comfortable stay

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Very clean. Closer to everything. Nothing to complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

great location

Posted Oct 4, 2014
beds to hard for my liking otherwise a nice stay. buffet breakfast was nice. staff very helpful and welcoming. the thai restaurant down stairs was good especially when you have just flew in and starving.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Stamford plaza disappointing

Posted Oct 3, 2014
The hotel is lovely and the staff were great, but the room was soooooooooo boring!! the whole room was yellow, except for the bed which was white. White sheets, pillows and cover. No decor in the room at all. A shame really, absolutely no wow factor. Next time I'll go back to Sky City Grande.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whangarei NZ

Awesome hotel, great presence!

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Lovely hotel, Awesome large bathroom, lots of room, nice outlook, fabulous service throughout. Stunning indoor pool, spa & sauna complex. 2 points for improvement though, upgrade the quality of the toilet paper & put a spare blanket in the room! Room service were extremely quick to supply though. YES, we will stay there again - definately!