Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckkand

Comfort and Convenience

Posted Apr 23, 2015
We've stayed at The Surrey in the main rooms before and it was ok. This time we stayed at a studio room across the road. We were pleasantly surprised. It was very well peesented, roomy, very clean and quiet until the next morning when the guests nextdoor and upstairs decided that it'd be fun to slam doors and let the kids have a shouting competition while other guests were resting. We highly recomnend the studio rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton NZ

Very handy little gem

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Position, accessiblity, spacious
Lovely staff, very clean. Would stay again, thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawke's Bay

Great location, easy to find

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, price, free parking
Location: Markets, city centre, food shops, bar/restaurant onsite
Came to Auckland from Hawke's Bay for a concert. Regular visitors to Auckland. First time at the Surrey. Everything so handy (city centre, shops, weekend markets, motorway). Really comfortable. Loved the bath, size of room, nice and quiet, family friendly, plenty of privacy and FREE parking
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

The Surrey Hotel Gray Lynn

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The staff were helpful and friendly, location from the CBD was good, only about 15 minutes away off traffic.
Cons: Better noise insulation. The bed and pillows. Free WiFi
Location: It is close enough to the shops and restaurants of Ponsenby and the CBD.
The hotel is located on two sides of a main road , the reception, pub and a few rooms on one side and another block of rooms on the other side of that road. Staying at this hotel felt more like staying in a motor in motel then anything else. The room was reasonably clean but all the amnesties and facilities were old and the bed was too soft and very uncomfortable. The most disturbing thing for me as a light sleeper was the level of noise from the street and courtyard together with the noise coming from the room on the floor above that was too much and I couldn't sleep the entire night. It also doesn't have free WiFi so is not recommended for business travellers.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mt Maunganui

4 star ...."yeah right"

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Very disappointing for a 4 star hotel. Overall appearance is dated. Beds need replacing....a terrible sleep had by all. The positives are: bus stop right outside the door to get you in to the city within 10 minutes and free parking. Wont be back sorry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NZ

Hotel In Grey Lynn

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The staff were very helpful. The restaurant pizza was very good and staff great.
Cons: Not good value compared to some other hotels, but booked on busy weekend.The room and bathroom needed refurbishing, tired looking. no Sky TV in room
Location: Close to central Auckland, Zoo and MOTAT. Good location.
Friendly and helpful staff, but room needed refurbishing. Oldest and noisiest fridge ever seen in New Zealand!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel let down by over priced wifi

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Good hotel, I stayed in a comfortable room with a nice bathroom and basic kitchen facilities. The room was well set out with enough space for luggage etc. It is next to a main road so there was traffic noise during the night. I'm giving it one star because the hotel is badly let down by it's wifi policy of charging $16 a day for wifi that is slow and locked to a single device. The wifi is hated by the guests and staff alike, come on Surrey management, drop this ridiculous policy and make it cheap or (like many places in New Zealand) free!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Espenfrom Skien

Hjemmekoselug hotell.

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
Koselig opphold med koselig personale og flott service. Ene halvdelen av hotellet ligger på andre siden av gjennomfartsvei, for familier med barn er det litt dumt. Atmosfæren var topp.
4 out of 5
by Rowan Toiafrom New Zealand - Bay of Plenty

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2015
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom London

Cheap & Clean & Convenient

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Free Wifi would be great
Location: Banks, Takeaways and supermarket all 5 minute walk away. Lovely Park by the zoo for a run too
We needed somewhere to catch up on sleep and shower after a long flight before heading off early the next day. It provided everything we needed including parking. Location not ideal for people visiting the city but perfectly ok for someone driving needing a stop off.