Ratings based on 564 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The dining room.
Cons: Forget the outside entry for first floor rooms to make a bigger room. We thought it was overpriced.
Location: Location was central and close to highway.
The room was comfortable and well furnished. The outside entrance could not be used...something about batteries for door lock. Had to go to front desk three times to have entry card reprogrammed in order to get into room. The dining room was perfect...the service was excellent, as was the food. Breakfast the next morning was top notch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Mediocre

Posted Sep 25, 2014
What choices do you have in mid-Maine? The hotel seemed okay upon arrival, but the room smelled of that horrible air freshener that is trying to cover something up. We could barely sleep with the smell and left as soon as possible in the AM. High point: the bathroom was new and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: Noise abatement
Clean hotel, excellent breakfast included, lovely pool and spa. But, our room had a thrumming noise that went on all night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: It looks really nice from the outside and the staff was friendly.
Cons: The room was spacious but needs new carpeting, would greatly improve cleanliness aura of the hotel.
Location: Only said there for one night, but seemed close to downtown Augusta. It was a good stopping point as I was en-route for West Forks, ME.
Really nice front desk personal. Was given a free room upgrade to a king size suite. The room was fine but there was a weird smell so I slept with the sliding glass door open for some fresh Maine air, solved that issue. The carpeting needs to be redone and the pillows were far from ideal. Overall, its a decent place to crash for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed in the location and the rooms.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
The room smelled liked a strong cleaning product. It made our stay up enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just passing through...

Posted Aug 27, 2014
A pity we did not get a chance to try out the facilities. The included breakfast was quite good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Clean, good-quality details.
Cons: Well, the commode in the bathroom. And the breakfast area might be redesigned to be more efficient.
Very nice place. We did not use the spa facilities. The room was fine, except for the commode, which was the smallest I have ever seen. The breakfast buffet was excellent, but there's a problem with traffic flow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

A Very Nice Stay

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: It was conveniently located, had all the amenities one might want, and the staff was friendly.
Cons: Some updating of the rooms and facilities and better staffing at the front desk.
Location: Not much.
I enjoyed my 2-night stay at the Senator Inn. The staff was friendly, though the front desk seemed a bit short staffed and the poor desk clerk was juggling 2 phone calls and a line of people trying to check in. The room was nice, but like the rest of the facility, a bit dated. Even though the place is in need of some some updating, it was a good experience and I would certainly not hesitate to stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Never again!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I could literally hear the man snoring in the room above. Leaky tap outdated room&bathroom. Front desk staff average at best. Yappy dog down the hall! Never again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

No senator would ever stay here!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We were traveling and found that the Senator Inn and Spa had a three-star rating. Frankly, the room we stayed in should not have been given more than one-star. The hotel in general appears to have been built about 1960. Some rooms may have been updated. Ours certainly was not. The room was small, cheaply constructed, and shabby looking. Things such as the rug should have been replaced long ago. The only thing in its favor was that it was clean. The bathroom alone should have made it unacceptable. It was tiny and so cramped that it was hard to move in it. The bath tub might have fit an infant or small dog, but not an adult. The shower faucets were old and kept coming off. Ambiance of the breakfast area was also disappointing. Perhaps it looked modern in 1960, but it seems to have been neglected since that time. The hotel did have a fancy attractive swimming pool, if that is what you are looking for. But if swimming is not your primary goal, by all means choose another place.