Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Great hotel, food was excellent, hotel staff professional, rooms very clean with all the amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rye, New York

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Room cleanliness, friendly staff, and Great food.
Cons: None
Experience was Great. We enjoyed staying there. It was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic southern

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Classic southern charm. Beautiful room
Cons: check in was backed up. TV on in breakfast room seemed inconsistent with quit charm of the rest of the hotel.
beautiful room...spacious with large sitting area, great bathroom with separate shower and soaking tub. Gracious service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Southern Comfort

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: The guests are a mix of storied characters and discerning gentry. The unexpected atmosphere of well-worn charm surrounds you.
Cons: The restaurant.
Location: The railway museum. The horse farms. Polo matches on weekends. Lovely, crumbling antebellum estates.
Step into the The Willcox and you'll discover an intersection of the most unlikely and fascinating people who find their way here--a watering hole for both the southern and savvy. Its venerable charm speaks to another era of the quiet wealth that peopled its plush and woody lobby, bar, and large, feather-bedded guest rooms. Even FDR was said to dally here. Ghosts abound! The cheery staff will remember you upon your return--and--more likely than not, the barkeep will recall your drink from your last visit. The restaurant (while quite sophisticated for this village and environs), is overreaching. Expect a polished menu and a somewhat limited follow through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand old hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Lovely old building, excellent staff, fun bar and excellent restaurant. Best place to stay in Aiken!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amyfrom Richmond, MA

Old world elegance in a relaxed atmosphere

Posted Mar 22, 2012
Pros: The laid back feeling
Cons: The plumbing
Location: Perfect for walking into town and riding our horse in Hitchcock Woods.
From the moment we walked into the lobby to check in, we felt cared for. The hotel has an old world elegance, yet warm laid back quality. Though we loved Aiken and came to ride our horse and enjoy the town and surroundings, we found ourselves wanting to spend a lot of time at the hotel. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful. The food was good and the lobby a wonderful place to hang out and play chess, people watch, listen to music. The wisteria blooming just outside of our window through the white shutters was exquisite. And the poolside was peaceful and relaxing with a gin and tonic. My whole family was very sad to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Dillon, SC

Lovely!! Will be going back!

Posted Dec 4, 2011
My stay at the Willcox Inn was wonderful. It's an older building but very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Fillongley UK

fantastic town

Posted Oct 26, 2011
If you like horses you will love Aiken. The hotel is in a great location- a short walk from the main shopping areas as well as from the large urban woodland which offers endless paths through pine- scented woods. Our only complaint would be a sub-standard breakfast and over- expensive restaurant but this was more than compensated by an unrequested upgrade to a suite because their doubles were fully booked. The beds were very comfortable and the huge bath was one of the most ergonomically comfortable I have ever used .The staff were very helpful but not over-attentive. We went to a Sunday afternoon polo match and parked next to a lovely couple who had retired to SC from Long Island and a lifetime working with horses. They explained the nuances of polo to beginners and couldn't have been more welcoming- not an experience you might expect at an English polo match.