Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Good price

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Non smoking room smelt like smoke...just didn't feel clean...didn't look too bad though...good thing I was drunk before I went to bed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Gross

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Wash the sheets and blanket. Get a comforter instead of a cheap blanket. Install better A/C units.
Location: Not a lot to do in San Marcos. You might as well go to Austin.
The place was gross. It was not clean. There were stains on the blankets. It was also really hot, the A/C unit didn't work well. I went to Walmart and bought some fans. It was relatively cheap, but not worth it. I will not stay in any Eccono Lodge again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice service, but dirty rooms

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and accommodating when we asked about changing rooms.
Cons: Cleanliness, pillow comfort
Location: New Braunfels Rivers!
We had to change rooms because our first room had a dirty washcloth hanging in the shower. In our second room the toilet was very rocky. When you sat down it moved and made a loud clunk noise like it wasnt attached properly. We didnt think we could move again, so we just dealt with it, but it was unsettling. (Room 205)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Al from Houston

Would not stay here again

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is at a great location (close to outlets at San Marcos). The room was not clean at all and had a strong smell of smoke despite being a non-smoking room. I would not stay here again. Definitely pay more if you plan to visit San Marcos. The cheap price is not worth it. The thing that made this stay bearable is it's proximity to a Pluckers Wing Bar. The wing bar is in the same lot as the hotel. (Maybe 40 yds from my room)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

way over priced for what you get

Posted May 27, 2014
hotel is not worth 1/2 the money they charge pretty run down
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Econo Lodge - San Marcos, Texas -- Not Recommended

Posted May 19, 2014
Cons: Having adequate hot water for the hotel facilities --- all of the time!!!
The room was very humid when we arrived (AC was not working well); the number one complaint was that there was no hot water the next day as we showered to prepare for the graduation exercise. The lack of hot water was reported to the desk upon departure and the person working the desk did not seem to care at all and disclosed that "yes - some of the other guests had reported the issue as well, and he guessed that the boiler was not working". I told him that not having hot water at a hotel is just unacceptable!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Never again from Houston

HORRIBLE

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was disgusting. The room was dirty and musty. The bathroom was not sanitary and I would not eat anything there. The free breakfast food is in the main reception area and even that looked scary.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Linda A. McNally from Spring, TX

Dirty & Smelly Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was in Rm. 211 upstairs - as soon as I entered the door to the room - I immediately smelled how dirty and musty-smelling the room was. The bottom of the tub - the tub treads were dirty - and the back of the bathroom door was dirty and all around the baseboards and woodwork. The weatherstripping around the front door was coming loose - and you could definitely see daylight at the bottom of the door - any bugs could have come into my room with it like that. Also - please note that the walls in the stairwell near Room 211 are very dirty - why paint them beige unless you are going to sweep, clean by hand, or hose down the walls for dirt regularly? Also - the black rubber stair treads on the staircase were very, very dirty and dusty - this dirt & dust stays on our shoes and then we trek this dirt into the hotel rooms. The carpet had many stains on it, and I had to use my spray deodorant I brought from home just to be able to sleep and stay in the room. How often are the quilted bedspreads washed? Are they washed once a week or more? The quilted bedspread on my bed smelled terrible and had stains on it - YUCK! This location was good for me - but the surrounding neighborhood was questionable.
2 out of 5
by Serafin from Mexico

Need new rooms

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel location it´s great, near the I-35 road and close to the San Marcos Mall
Cons: Room decoration, forniture, carpets
Location: Near the Austin area, just 30 miles away and near from the San Marcos Mall, les than 5 miles
I reserved a Non Smoking room, but when I arrived, even the room said Non Smoking there was a smell like nicotine or a similar substance, the was no option to open any window so we asked if we could change room and the hotel staff said that it could be not possible, so they just gave us an deodorant... The rooms need to be actualized, looks old.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty sheets..

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Last minute choice, drove 30 minutes south and got a room with dirty sheets and bathroom. I think the housekeepers are over worked so I got a "clean" set of sheets and left a $5 tip anyway