Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room smelled like mold and was old

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The room smelled like mold and was old. i paid the price thinking the units had been upgraded
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by Frances, Hotel Management
I extend a sincere apology to you. Please do not ever hesitate to let front desk know while you are in house when something needs attention. We are here to serve you , and we did not do so on this occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nora from victoria, texas

Nice stay

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The pillows
Cons: There was a beetle in the bathroom! Yikes
Location: Restaurants, shopping!!!
It was comfortable. Breakfast was cold the eggs , biscuits were hard, and pancake station was closed :(. But all in all it was a nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Frances, Hotel Management
First, please accept my apology for the shortcomings in the breakfast area. That should not happen. The areas have been addressed with the staff .. We are glad that other areas made it a nice stay for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Roger

Overall a good business hotel

Posted May 22, 2014
Overall there were no major problems. Cleaning could have been better. Window sill had dead insects on it. Other than that good service and pricing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Frances, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. The cleaning issues have been discussed with appropriate staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice location!

Posted May 19, 2014
Really enjoyed staying here. It was a nice location in round rock and close enough to North Austin. Staff was very nice and helpful. Clean and spacious rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2014 by Frances, Hotel Management
We thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit!!!!
2 out of 5
by Ben from Monterrey

Too many "little" incidents

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Location and Room Size
Cons: Wi-fi. Service attitude in front desk.
Location: Mighty Fine Burger, Rudy's, Old Settlers Park, Round Rock Premium Outlets, Austin's Park n' Pizza.
I visit Round Rock 2 times a year, this time we decided to save a little and try a different hotel. The manager is a wonderful lady, hats off to her. Her empathy and sympathy is what made me remain there the whole week instead of just taking off to another hotel. Excellent location near every interesting place in Round Rock! Nice pool and gym. Unfortunately we had just too many little incidents: the first words I heard from the front desk lady: "you are at the wrong hotel" (no hello or how was your trip), a "disappearing" new shirt, room was not cleaned one day, no syrup for pancakes another day, to get Wi-Fi I had to sign in every 3 to 5 minutes, the beds were noisy and move a lot... I am always ready to cope with these issues (every now and then, not all at the same time) but the front desk's attitude just made it a difficult experience. I just expected a little kindness and empathy, but got the "it's not my fault and I can't fix it so what do you want to do about it" attitude and response. The manager, the ladies working over the weekend and the lady in charge of breakfast were wonderful and always nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2014 by Frances, Hotel Management
We apologize for any inconvienences that you encountered while staying at our hotel . The issues that you have mentioned were addressed . We do hope that you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to austin

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: clean and comfortable
Cons: i 35 is noisy, but I could run the fan in the room and it muffled the noise. nonsmoking room had obviously been smoked in, kind of stinky
every place in austin was completely booked. finally found a room at HIE. nice hotel, clean, no complaints. i would stay there again. good price too
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2014 by Frances, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We want every guest who stays here to be appropriately served. We look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was quiet but older.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Outlet malls, IKEA
The hotel was in a great location and the price was great. The hotel was older and not as clean as I would have hoped for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2014 by Frances, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Please accept our apology for things not being as clean as you had hoped for. Should you return, please let us know immediately if something is not up to standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasant stay

Posted Mar 3, 2014
breakfast was good staff was very pleasant and personable
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. It is always nice to know that guests have been served appropriately. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable, fantastic staff!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Very pleasant stay. The staff was wonderful placing all 7 rooms in our group together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2014
Thank you! Your group was truly delightful, and we look forward to seeing you all again.
2 out of 5
by mel

Take your money somewhere else!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Simply...smelled like urine/nursing home in halls of first floor off the lobby....rooms smelled like mildew....roach in the tub...where there is one there are many. The lady at front allowed me tonswitch rooms which was a slight improvement from first room but still smelled like mildew. I didn't unpack for fear that my stuff would stink. Go somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2014
Please accept a sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced. We clearly did not meet our daily goal of making a guest's stay exceptional.