Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Historic hotel near UT Austin/Austin State Capitol

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The hotel was charming, cozy, and had a lot of character. The hotel main building was unique. The staff was very friendly and hospitable.
Cons: Our room was warm. Temperature fluctuated up even when the temp setting was set at 71.
Location: Located near UT Austin. Very easy to get down by car or walking to the State Capitol building.
Overall, our stay at Hotel Ella was excellent. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We really like that they have a bar that hosts happy hour everyday for half off all drinks and bar appetizers. My husband particularly enjoyed the local beers served at the bar as he is a beer enthusiast. We took advantage of their free car service (first come, first serve) pickup/drop-off to nearby locales and tourist spots. The drivers were friendly and were knowledgeable on local recommendations for places to see, visit, and eat. They also have free bikes to use but didn't get a chance to try it. Our room was on the first floor (windows faced a fence) but next time we come back, we will pick a room where the window faces to the poolside area. The hotel did an excellent job of cleaning our rooms, making it comfortable, and having a turndown service every evening. However, there was some inconsistency on how the housekeeping left our articles of clothing and toiletries in the room. (I guess this may be due to different housekeeping staff doing the cleaning everyday.) The hotel was also quick on getting us something we requested when we called the front desk (example: forks and napkins if we ate inside our room.) We would love to come back to Austin again and if we do, Hotel Ella would be our choice for a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel staff

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Very friendly hotel staff
Cons: In my opinion, hotel rooms can use a better wall colors. It was a bit gloomy color chosen.
Location: Close to downtown, but not walking distance.
Very nice hotel, impressive hotel staff. It was unusual set up, lots of art pieces to admire. Relaxing atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington,Tx

Great hotel location for UT game

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Location was great but so were rooms, staff and services. Having a drink on the veranda was special.
Everything was great and even had Thanksgiving dinner on property. We even won the football game.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston, tx

nice hotel, didn't disappoint.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Room was nice, staff great. Loved the free shuttle to the downtown area. Breakfast was good. Nice bar. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
The lobby is very welcoming and I like the old style columns on the outside. The rooms themselves are very clean, well kept and maintained well. They were more modern then I thought they would be. There is a lot of construction going on near the hotel so walking is a bit difficult.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Hotel Ella was a very charming boutique hotel. The location was not great, but everything you need is very close. I would recommend to anyone to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Near UT campus

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Very pretty, near campus.
This beautiful old building has been remodeled into a hotel. I didn't get to spend much time here, as I had meetings, but loved the look of the porch and common areas. Our room was small for the price. Two negative comments. Coffee was available at 7, but I needed it way before then because of my departure time. There were no accessible electrical outlets near the bed for my phone.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom dallas texas

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Smallest room I ever paid $300 plus dollars for. Sink was in the bedroom, bathroom small, very cramped and uncomfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Beautiful hotel. Walking distance to many great restaurants and sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston TX

Beautiful hotel, Superb hospitality

Posted Sep 22, 2014
I could stay here just to enjoy the architecture alone, but add the convenient location, beautiful and clean room, extra-hospitable staff and amenities and the place is unbeatable. The small staff was attentive and kind, and we seemed to know many of them by name within our 3 days stay—they just took care of us. Don't you want to feel taken care of? The bartender, valet guys, waitress, and manager we spent time with all impressed. My husband complained that the shower didn't keep a hot temperature, but I didn't really notice. A complimentary crib was in our room before we arrived, which I really appreciated. Daily desserts, magazines and a really comfortable robe were little luxuries I liked. Our request for an iron & board and razor were met quickly. The valet left cold water in our cup holder after retrieving our car—we very much appreciated that! Our room no. 216 had the BEST 2nd story view of the pool, it physically overlooked it and we got a great breeze from the small balcony. The location was excellent, you could get anywhere in no time at all, and while the neighborhood is very walkable, keep in mind you're really in the heart of UT campus so most walkable food/drink options are of the fast food variety, but better options are under 10 minutes away.