Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Florida

Good value

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable.
Cons: Clean hallways to rid it of smoker smell.
Location: Nothing close by to do.
Room was comfortable and clean. Hot breakfast each morning was provided with something for everyone. Location is easily accessed right off I-35.Our room was facing the highway and noise was not an issue. The local area is a bit depressed but still seemed safe enough to take walks in the evening. Small cons would include cigarette stench in hallways very noticeable and coffee provided in room is nasty. all in all, the nightly price paid was a bit high but still acceptable.
1 out of 5
by Sad traveler from Texas

Try Harder

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The carpet and bed coverings looked nice and new and that was about it. When you first enter establishment there was overwhelming smell of smoke. Mold and dirty bathrooms, sheets that didn't fit bed, broken curtains, and dust bunnies hanging from ceiling. We called staff and they never helped. We vacated ASAP. Could be nice with some effort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by William from Dallas

Not bad

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Went to Austin unknowingly on a weekend when a convention was happening and this was one of the last hotels still available, and I was scared by the reviews. Happy to say my worries were proven wrong. It's well worth the price, especially with how close it is to 35 and downtown. They remodeled/renovated the entire building last month so everything is pretty much new/upgraded. Staff was nice, room was clean. Only thing I will say is that you can hear everyone when they're returning to their rooms, but that was just a small inconvenience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SMH

Posted Mar 19, 2014
The overall customer service was bad. By both the staff and the manager. I was yelled at multiple time over the phone and in person. The help was barely around and management offer no compensation for my horrible stay. :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An okay hotel if you don't mind taking the bus.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
I booked this hotel for SXSW. I would have liked to get something closer to the downtown area but it's close enough by taxi and near the local bus stop. The hotel was in a process of renovating some hallway areas so what was finished was nice, but what wasn't was in need of attention; the main floor hallway was nicely tiled, but the 2nd floor was still carpet and a bit worse for wear. The rooms were okay. The bathroom finish was older but not terrible. The rest of the room was nicely painted and the carpet was in decent shape. Overall cleanliness was acceptable. The staff were friendly and helpful and arranged my cab ride back to the airport. A good place to lay your head if you plan on spending a ton of time at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deanna from San Antonio, tx

Great night stay!!!!!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
We had gone for SXSW it was amazingly great! The hotel was awsome we stayed over our check out but they were nice and courteous about everything. Beds were awsome, restroom clean, didn't smell gross. All in all this is my second time coming and it was great!
2 out of 5
by Aubrei from Houston, TX

Friendly Staff, but disappointing hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The Friendly staff at Checkin
Cons: The rooms need major updating so it doesn't appear to be so run down. The towels could be much better quality and the noisiness.
Location: Very close to downtown Austin
Check in was fabulous and quick, the staff was very friendly. However upon entering the doorway to get to our room we were met with the horrible smell of smoke. It was quite powerful and gave a bad first impression. The room was actually pretty clean but the room is in need of updated and improvement. It just feels very run down and not well maintained at all. The drywall is flaking and there is staining on the walls and counter. I didn't feel like it wasn't clean just old and in need of improvement. The worst part was all the noise we had to deal with. All night long we heard everyone who came into the hotel, went up and down the stairs, talking in the parking lot etc. The walls must be very thin and not at all insulated another problem with all the noise is caused by the fact that the floor down the hall is tile so the noise is just amplified. The other issue that I was unhappy with is that you can't take food out of the dining area. I was hoping to get food and take it to my family on our way out but there are lots of signs posted that all food must be consumed in the dining area, as a Texas law or something. I don't think this can be an actual law because I have taken food to eat in my food at numerous Texas hotels. I think they are just being cheap and don't want people taking too much food. As a result of this we didn't even take advantage of the breakfast so it was really a waste.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never going again

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Smelled like smoke!! The elevator didn't work! Walls was made of paper could hear people's conversation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TLI from Graham, Texas

Comfortable rooms

Posted Mar 10, 2014
This hotel is being remodeled. Although the front desk staff is not that friendly, the rooms were comfortable. It was a little pricey but rooms in general were high. I would stay there again in a pinch. The location is good for Austin. The only negative thing is the parking lot slots are ridiculously small and hard to maneuver.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from houston

Worth it!!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: updated, clean and location
Cons: bed
Check in and out was friendly and fast. The room numbers are a bit scattered and confusing. The room was great! Clean, updated and comfortable with micro/fridge, flat screen with cable, chair w/ ottoman, iron and board, ac, 2 dressers and nightstands, desk w/ chair and free wifi. Didn't try breakfast. Bed was soft and large, but sunk a little in the middle. Didn't hear a sound thru the night. Housekeeping came knocking at 10 am. Alarm was preset for 8am which was annoying. Bathroom is small but was nice with a great shower.