Ratings based on 852 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
When we came back to our room, after our event, we noticed there were a lot of bugs on the lamps. We didn't like seeing that as we didn't know how they got into the room. We checked out first thing the next morning, so that was our only experience. Other than that the room was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Usually like red roof inns but this place was pretty run down, esp for $100 a night. Couldn't even change temperature for the AC, only able to adjust the fan speed since temp knob broken off and front cover hanging half way off. The mattress also felt very run down and old with no padding.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not safe.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff.
Cons: More parking lot lighting.
I arrived in the evening and the check in went well, the front desk staff was nice. After checking in, I left to get something to eat. When I came back there were a few shady looking people in the parking lot. Parking lot isn't well lit. Before I got out of the car, I happened to notice I was being stared at, one guy signaled to another one who promptly hid behind a vehicle in the parking lot. Decoded to test my theory that I was being cased and I started to pull out of the parking lot. In my rear mirror, saw the guys run to a car and started trying to follow me. Long story short, I felt if I stayed the night I would wake up with my car broken into. Left and went to another hotel down the road. I never made it to the room so I can't comment on their appearance. If you stay here, make sure to arrive well before nightfall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Just what the reviews said...

Posted Oct 15, 2014
First room smelt like smoke, changed room, ended up having roaches... Only benifet was where my room was situated, barely heard the interstate...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and good price

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Enjoyed stay. Comfortable room. Cleaned well daily. Friendly staff. Good rates.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

If you're in a pinch, it's OK

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The updates were nice.
Cons: Cleaner comforters and sheets.
Hotel is off of Rundberg, which is a street in Austin that has kind of a reputation for being riddled with drug users. I only rented here because it was ACL weekend and availability all around Austin was very limited. I was nervous about staying on Rundberg, but it wasn't too bad. Yes, there were lots of suspect people walking around the area, but I stayed out of their way and they stayed out of mine. The room was decently updated. Half carpet and half faux wood floors. Updated sink hardware that looked nice. Mounted flat screen TV. While the updates were appreciated, the comforters had a few stains on the surface, which kind of ruined my overall impression of the place. I will say, though, that I didn't have any problems while I was there (nothing broken, no loud fights at night, no rude employees). If you have a pet, be advised that the actual hotel property doesn't have many green spots for your pet to go to the restroom. I had to use the main road sidewalk to walk my dog. This was fine during the day, but I felt uncomfortable at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2014
We had to switch rooms initially becasue the toilet wouldn't flush. Upon switching rooms, we got a room that was not cleaned properly. The beds were made and the trash was changed but, there was an old cup left in the room on the air condition box, the walls has old "gunk" on them in the bathroom-it was dark brown, the shower had hair in it...we were weary about the sheets. We didn't want to complain again since we switched rooms. There only 2 pillows per bed and both were very flat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

RedRoof Inn Experience

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: It was in the city we had to stay at..
Cons: Needs to be like the other Red Roof Inns we experienced
Location: The location sucked due to the only way to get there due to the one way roads at that location.
All the Red Roof Inns we stayed in were very good except the one at north Austin. The room was shabby, had bugs we had to chase down and kill, room had no chairs, bath had holes in the walls and trim was pulled away from the walls, it needed a paint job and had missing towels... Its a good thing the next Red Roof we stayed in was very nice..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Take all the reviews on this hotel seriousily

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff and my housekeeping gal were nice and pleasant. They could get a job somewhere else and be better off.
Cons: This place needs to be demolished. EXPEDIA; if you care about your travelers please remove this hotel from your list.
Unfortunately a lot of people expect 5 star but only want to pay 2 star prices so when they show up at their hotel they are disappointed and write disapproving reviews. So I tend to take reviews with a grain of salt... Learned my lesson! I chose this hotel for the price, knowing that it was really just a place to sleep at night as my time in Austin was going to keep me running most of the day/night. I know Red Roof's aren't 4-5 star establishments but they are affordable and comfortable. When I checked in there was a couple sitting in the lobby who were clearly strung out on something and trying to find the money to stay another night. The parking lot was a disaster, and gang graffiti on some stairwells. There was a guy on the 2nd floor hollering down at me, and a couple of ladies yelling at each other. I wanted to leave but didn't know if/how I could cancel and get a refund. As a woman traveling alone I seriously questioned if I was safe. Looking back now I should have let immediately. The room was okay at best. Overall, clean. Beds were small, so-so comfortable the bedspreads were filthy and blanket had a cigarette hole. I did check for bedbugs, thankfully there wasn't any. There wasn't an alarm clock, iron or wash clothes. I was able to get an iron and wash cloth when I asked. I ended up staying and thankfully nothing bad happened to me or my car. But I will never return and will make sure nobody makes the same mistake I did. Spend the money to stay elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Nasty hotel rooms. Disgusting

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Hotel staff was rude and rooms was nasty. No I wouldn't recommend this hotel until management changes it's staff.