Ratings based on 1,972 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed for conference

Posted May 21, 2015
The hotel is not right where all the night life action is, however it is just a short pleasant walk or pedi-cab ride away. The conference facilities meet our needs. I found the staff to be accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another night....another hotel.

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: It had been updated at one point; not sure about the carpeting. Lobby bar surprisingly good for the awkward location in front of the front desk.
Cons: Bar should stay open later & there is no 24hr room service which is stupid. I did not eat food but 2 ladies at the bar had good looking appetizers.
Location: Downtown near Erwin center, State Capitol Building, 6th street, etc.
Picked this one for proximity to the Erwin Center and reasonable price for onsite parking. I'm still perturbed that I have to pay to park. This is Texas for God sake....and the capitol city. Also, the parking rate in the hotel did not match what was posted on the Expedia page. It was 2 dollars higher.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by SAUGM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am sorry we did not meet all of your expectations. Our parking rates are similar to hotels located in the downtown area and we are sorry that your found our prices too high for your liking. We will follow up with Expedia to make sure the information will be updated. We will also follow up with our Food and Beverage team in regards to possibility extending our hours at the bar and in room dinning. But we are very happy to hear that the food looked great! We are very excited to announce that we will be going through major renovations soon so we hope you will be willing to give us another chance in the future to improve your impression of us. Warm Regards, SAUGuestRelations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Austin

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Overnight Easy in & out Car rental right across street Room small & no drawers Felt a bit old
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Very convenient for meetings at the Capitol.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Price was high, but I realize it's Washington, DC.
I attended a week-long conference at the hotel and it was very convenient. I would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Cleaner
Location: Downtown area
Complained about stained bedspreads, changed sheets not bedspread.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by SAUGM, Hotel Management
slo Thank you for choosing our property while booking with Expedia. I apologize for the miss communication regarding the changing of the sheets. Our team misinterpreted the issues you faced. I apologize for any inconvenience caused. We want a clean and friendly experience for all of our guests. I have reported this incident directly to our Director of Housekeeping to follow up on. On a more positive note I am pleased you enjoyed our downtown location! Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Close to Interstate but nice property. Room was comfortable and clean and quiet. Would definitely recommend this to others. Liked the lobby atmosphere.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom U

Expensive

Posted Apr 13, 2015
I have no idea why I paid so much money for that hotel. The room loses to a holiday inn express, that staff was ok, shower was terrible, the bed was firm, the parking garage is a complete nightmare if you have a vehicle with more than 2 doors. It was a $350 headache in my opinion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by SAUGM, Hotel Management
Chris Thank you for choosing our property during your recent travels to Austin, TX. I apologize that the room and accommodations did not meet your expectations. I understand that the rates in Austin can be higher than the national average. We are priced competitively against other properties in the market and we feel as though we provide good value considering our amenities and location. I regret you did not feel this was the case. We have some great renovations planned in the upcoming year so I hope you can give us another chance! Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Got in late for the MotoGP. They gave us the valet covered parking in the garage for our bikes with no charge. Which was amazing !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Frank Irwin Center

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Pool area was nice, clean and fully stocked with clean towels. In walking distance to he Frank Irwin center, about 4 blocks max. Right off the freeway, close to downtown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Conveniently located to the Capitol

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: The parking and the bed.
Cons: I found a hair pin and hair on the floor in the restroom. This area may need to be cleaned a bit more thoroughly.
Location: The hotel is very close to the Capitol as well as several restaurants.
I had meetings scheduled all day but was able to keep my car parked at the hotel and walk to and from the Capitol. It was so much easier than fighting in the parking garage for a good spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by SAUGM, Hotel Management
Kendall Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us! It is great to hear you enjoyed our central location. I am sorry to hear we missed those small items in your guest room. I am sharing your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping so that we can improve our guest experience. We look forward to serving you in the future! Best Regards,