Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rough Area

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The Hotel and Room Were Ok,But the OutSide Was Rough there Were Prostitutes Outside The Hotel Property So You Didn't Feel Safe At Night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mission, TX

Decent hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 9, 2014
I had an overall good experience with hotel. I was in town to take my son to the RTX convention. I didn't attend so I had a little more time than usual at a hotel. The staff was friendly, professional, and quick to help. It would be nice to have a little more variety at continental breakfast. Real nice pillows and comfortable bed! :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Nice, clean updated. Breakfast was standard. Waffle machine made waffles in the shape of Texas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room. Close to everything we needed.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The room was very nice and clean and cool. Just what we wanted. The breakfast was nice just wish they extended the hours some. Our motorcycle was stolen out of the parking lot which spoiled the whole stay. Overall the room was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by george from haltom city

Nice hotel. Quite and helpful

Posted May 27, 2014
Rooms were clean smelled nice. Easy access to everything
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff and air wasn't working- save your money

Posted May 25, 2014
As soon as we got there, the air wasn't working, so we called down to the desk, and they said they would send someone as soon as they could. We left to go out for the night and the air still didn't work when we returned. They wouldn't move us or give us a discount or anything. We stayed at the Howard Johnson hotel the night before (near Woodward) and it was much better and much cheaper! We paid $90 for this hotel and the air didn't work and staff was rude. Stay at Howard Johnson for $54 and have working air and closer to everything- they didn't have a room available the next night so that's why we went to super 8. Won't ever stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Matt from California

Bad area, struggle with basics

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Price, and breakfast was included.
Cons: Mattresses, service, sheets...You might as well just tear the place down and start anew. I shouldn't have to call Expedia to get better service.
Location: Drive away from the area and head downtown, or to South Congress. Just get out of this hotel's area.
We booked this location after seeing a 3.5 star rating for a place that was considerably more affordable than many other hotels in Austin for our stay. After arriving, we quickly discovered why. I can't necessarily say that it's in the ghetto, but there was an abundance of police activity in the area. The lot is fenced in, and after 9pm, you have to use the night entrance. By the way, the night entrance basically feels and acts like a jail entrance. Multiple doors, you have to use your keycard multiple times, etc. While it's nice to know that they're focusing on security, I don't want to deal with this while on vacation. Finally, our mattress was harder than a rock. Their pillows were square and about the same size as throw pillows. When my wife (who has a bad back) asked for more pillows, they claimed that they didn't have anymore. We called Expedia to complain, and 5 minutes later we got a call from the front desk claiming that they snuck some pillows out of the laundry room for us, and aren't we lucky that they happened to find some! They didn't even have proper sheets on the mattress. You would expect that they'd put an elastic sheet for you to sleep on. Nope. Instead, they just drape a top-sheet over the mattress. If you move at all in your sleep, be ready to wake up on bare mattress like I did. We left early and went to another hotel that charged 50% more, but it was completely worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel at best price

Posted May 20, 2014
Cons: I would say ventilation could be improved. The room felt really stuffy when i entered, It took me 5 mins to get accustomed to it.
Rooms were really clean and i loved the facilities available in the room. Beds were comfy with lot of pillows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ok

Bathroom

Posted Apr 28, 2014
The shower curtain rod was broken. The dryer didn't work so I called for a new one twice and it took forever. Breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by B$$ from Long Beach, CA

If 'adequate' had a definition

Posted Apr 28, 2014
This hotel is adequate. Everything about it. I'd recommend it if you need a place to sleep, don't want to pay too much, and don't really care about anything else.