Ratings based on 1,148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Historic hotel in Austin, TX

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Sense of history and lovely stained glass decorations.
Cons: Bedroom and bathroom.
Location: Hotel's only a block away from Congress Avenue for shopping and West 6th street for Country and Western music, Texana, etc.
The Driskill Hotel is historic. LBJ used to hold his victory parties there--you can almost smell the cigar smoke! The high price is for the excellent location downtown and the beautifully restored public areas. The room was small and the bed was way too soft. The bathroom seemed to have the original tile and the walk in shower was poorly designed. For the price, I was surprised that the bathroom lacked the amenities one expects in a high end hotel. Breakfast was fine. Room service was OK but very pricy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Historic Stay in Austin

Posted Jun 29, 2014
We were offered an upgrade to the LBJ Suite. Old style furnishings, great experience. Nice bar with live music every night. Do not expect the polish of an Intercontinental or major league hotel chain, but you will be surrounded by the charm of a landmark historic place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The hotel is wonderful with character.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
While I loved the hotel, it had no vending machines and the gentlemen referred me to a liquor/grocery store across the street that was no longer there. I was in the Senate Room (501) but the bathroom smelled of mildew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Extremely charming old hotel close to capitol

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The style, charm and service
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located six blocks from the State Capitol. It is a must stay for anyone that has business at the Capitol
This hotel is a jewel hidden in downtown Austin. It is only six blocks from the State Capitol and has a history (built in 1886) and charm that you cant find in hotels today. It has beautiful architecture accented by wood and marble. The hotel staff are very attentive and meet your every need. The food is excellent. This is a great experience that you should take advantage of if you need to stay in Austin. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from San Francisco

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Great old-school detail well maintained - nice high ceilings. And location! You are staying SOMEPLACE.
Location: smack in the center of everything in Austin - walk or uber. Dont bother with a car.
Friendly, responsive, and something special architecturally
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014
My stay here was wonderful. The staff were helpful and bright to talk with. The lobby is incredible.... I could spend many happy hours just soaking in the ambiance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Dallas, Texas

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: This hotel is beautiful and historic, and right in the heart of downtown Austin, within walking distance to a huge park along the lake, with trail.
Cons: The $36 dollar per day valet charge was more than I had anticipated.
Had a fun getaway with a friend for a couple days, and chose this hotel for it's location and historic beauty. The dining room is a wonderful place to have a meal and enjoy local musicians in a more laid back atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted Jun 19, 2014
The desk clerk each evening of my stay, June 16 - June 18, gave me excellent restaurant suggestions. She deserves a raise! Very friendly. Room was great and very comfortable. Easy walking distance to my appointments and in a great part of the city.