Ratings based on 1,142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Steeped in History and perfect location.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The history and classic rooms.
Cons: A fresher smell on entry. The foyer is breath taking but maybe smelt a little damp.
Location: Short walk to the Capital, river and fine dining.
It was unfortunate that our stay was on a Sunday night when the Grill was closed and the small restaurant was on last day of renovations. We did have breakfast at the newly opened, renovated space and it took away the dissaapointment of the night before. The staff were excellent and we felt very welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Churchville, VA

Beautiful, historic and well-located

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff from the front desk, to the valets, to the cleaning crew.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect location at one end of the 6th street bar scene. You can walk to a lot of attractions from this hotel.
We had a wonderful four-night stay at the Driskill. Prices were comparable to other large hotels in Austin but the location and ambiance of the Driskill really put it a cut above in my opinion. The staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly. The only negative was the amount of construction noise in the lobby. It was really unpleasant and meant that I couldn't sit in the lobby in the mornings with my tea. It was even loud all the way into the bar area. I am sure they'll finish the work soon and then it will be a pleasure to sit in their beautiful lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: style, history, comfortable beds
Cons: We should have been offered help in getting our baggage to our tower room.
It was fine but the room was smaller than we expected and the lounge area was very noisy and crowded and we were there on weekday evenings only
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Nice hotel. Staff was nice. Restaurant was good. Loved the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from los angeles

great hotel and room!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: loved the lobby and room!
Cons: better late night room service...they couldn't bring coffee or ice tea to the room after 10pm - bathroom was good but could be great
Location: great location
Room was spacious! Beautiful! No view but location is great. SIZE WAS A PLUS. furniture etc great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Charming Historic Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Service, food, and historic decor.
Location: 6th street is a little crazy - lots of bars (live music) and the accompaning loud drunks. Very colorful people around that area...
I chose the Driskill because of the location in DT Austin and due to the pictures on line... I was looking for something charming and "Texan". The Driskill delivered! Excellent food and all around service... I was thrilled with my choice. The rooms are spacious and the decore is old "Texan" without being kitschy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the common areas ...

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Common areas dating to the 1880's. Very friendly personnel.
Location: In the middle of Austin, right on 6th Street - the location can't get much better.
I love the common areas of this historic hotel! The room was quite nice and comfortable for the most part, but the bathroom area was very small in our Tower room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

excellent location

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Location.
Location: 6th street, Capitol Metro, the Capitol building, museums.
You can walk everywhere from this hotel. It is like taking a step back in Texas history when you are in there. Top notch service and accomodations. Treat yourself!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

My experience

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The decor, style, comfort and staff.
Cons: The room was a bit tight for space with all the furniture.
Location: Excellent location. Within walking distance to many venues.
The hotel was lovely, and the customer service was great. However, compared to the other hotel we stayed in which was equally wonderful, it was a bit pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Beautiful historic hotel. I was very pleased overall with the hotel. Wonderful location