Ratings based on 1,171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Cons: some updating
Location: Great cental location to downtown Austin
Beautiful old world classic hotel. Great location. Could need some updating, but otherwise a most enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach County Florida

Beautiful hotel, fantastic location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Its a classic. Beautiful architecturally. Excellent service.
Cons: We were not happy with our dinner in the main restaurant or the way they handled it.
Location: It coundn't be better located, right on 6th street in downtown Austin.
Absolutely no complaints about the hotel from a lodging standpoint. However, my wife and I had our worst experience in their restaurant during our five day stay in Austin. The waiter talked us into ordering the 7 course meal for that evening, and I can only describe it as a disaster. We were unhappy with it in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Argentina

BEST HISTORIC PLACE IN AUSTIN!!

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The history
Cons: bigger rooms
Location: All. It's on 6th st, so...
People just MUST go and stay here if you're in Austin!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gracious and charming

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Its charm and its location.
Location: In the evening, watch the amazing bats fly from under the SoCo bridge. Listen to music in one of the many bars and restaurants.
I chose this hotel because of its character and central location and we weren't disappointed. It is a grand old building that just oozes history and personality. Morning coffee is available from reception, and you can take it out onto one of the deep verandahs and enjoy watching Austin at work. The location could not be better for walking to bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Experience Historic Austin from the Driskill!

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The decor, the location, the staff, the fitness room
Cons: The Menu at the Grille seemed too fancy, and overpriced. Printing in the business center was charged per sheet.
Location: Great for historic Austin, the Texas Capital, and State History Museum, UT at Austin, live music.
We recently took my husband's folks to Texas. We were visiting our daughter who attends a university in Texas. So we decided to fly in and out of Austin in stead of DFW. Before heading home we spent two days in Austin. We wanted the downtown, historical experience, so we chose the Driskill. It did not disappoint! It was everything we had hoped and more! We were centrally located and about 1 mile from the capital and Texas history museum. We also were well located to hit the trail around Lady Bird Lake. During check in we learning the Hyatt purchased the property about a year ago. The art work, sculptures and craftsmanship of the Driskill were unparalleled. The halls had a classic oil painting ever 6 feel. We spent 3-4 hours waling the halls, ball rooms and meeting rooms. The room was very quiet, slept well, nice bathrobes, and linens. Subway tile in the shower and water closet room, second sink with marble counter, tile entry to room. The valet service was super convenient, bell hops were well trained and polite. The 1886 Restaurant, newly renovated and on site, became our home base for coffee, breakfast, or light dinner. The workout room was fantastic! We were a bit intimidated by the Driskill Grill. I saw something like raw lamb on the menu, and knew it was not for us. Our final dinner in Austin was at the Roaring Folk, on Congress. It was excellent too.All in all, we hope to do this again and the accommodations Driskill were outstanding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H & G.

Just plain Cool!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
This just a great place to stay, if you love art & history. The Bar is awesome. Also the cafe downstairs is just too cute
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Steeped in History and perfect location.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The history and classic rooms.
Cons: A fresher smell on entry. The foyer is breath taking but maybe smelt a little damp.
Location: Short walk to the Capital, river and fine dining.
It was unfortunate that our stay was on a Sunday night when the Grill was closed and the small restaurant was on last day of renovations. We did have breakfast at the newly opened, renovated space and it took away the dissaapointment of the night before. The staff were excellent and we felt very welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Churchville, VA

Beautiful, historic and well-located

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff from the front desk, to the valets, to the cleaning crew.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect location at one end of the 6th street bar scene. You can walk to a lot of attractions from this hotel.
We had a wonderful four-night stay at the Driskill. Prices were comparable to other large hotels in Austin but the location and ambiance of the Driskill really put it a cut above in my opinion. The staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly. The only negative was the amount of construction noise in the lobby. It was really unpleasant and meant that I couldn't sit in the lobby in the mornings with my tea. It was even loud all the way into the bar area. I am sure they'll finish the work soon and then it will be a pleasure to sit in their beautiful lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: style, history, comfortable beds
Cons: We should have been offered help in getting our baggage to our tower room.
It was fine but the room was smaller than we expected and the lounge area was very noisy and crowded and we were there on weekday evenings only
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Nice hotel. Staff was nice. Restaurant was good. Loved the bar.