Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Upscale hotel lacking in details.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
I enjoyed most of my short stay at the W Austin, however some details could have been better. My room was clean for the most part, but it was not spotless. The bathroom could have been cleaner as I would have expected from a W hotel and price point. Parking is also "valet only" which is something to consider if you will be making constant trips. There are better hotel options within the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Elegant, cozy, and trendy!!! We will be staying here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Not clean, Staff was rude, Concierge was not helpful, Beds uncomfortable, Mirror was broken, overall just not a great experience. Recommend the Hyatt on the riverfront.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Good if you're looking to party. Otherwise avoid

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Lobby is dark and looks unfinished. Noisy. Valet expensive at $35/n
Location: Many choices of restaurants / bars / pubs
Good location in downtown Austin. Very noisy with parties over the weekend, uniformed police at front entrance on Friday and Saturday. Decor is dark and very stark. Staff friendly but very casual to guests. Pool is very small and packed - unpleasant. Rooms modern and comfortable although out mattress was past its prime. No separate bath in "Wonderfull" room but excellent shower. Avoid this hotel if you have children (they will definitely be out of place and see and hear things you don't want them to), or if looking for peace and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jerry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Nice hotel in the city location.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Checked in but was put in a handicapped room due to overbooking however the hotel staff corrected this by giving us a room that we originally booked the next day. The pool staff service was so-so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MONTRY

hôtel chic et confortable et piscine magnifique

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: plus particulièrement la piscine
Cons: le personnel à l'accueil devrait pouvoir donner davantage d'informations touristiques
Location: l'envol des chauve-souris à la tombée de la nuit, la musique live dans tous les bars de la 6th, les concerts et festivals texans
l'hôtel est situé au centre de la ville près de tous les lieux de visites emblématiques et dispose d'une superbe piscine extrêmement bienvenue avec les températures trèsélevées de l'été et aussi d'un centre de fitness doté de belles machines pour les amateurs, une belle expérience à tenter quand on aime la musique car Austin est une des capitales mondiales de la musique
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

City center, trendy upscale hotel for the chic

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Modern & hip, clean, close to everything, great customer service, Starbucks attached to hotel.
Cons: Nothing
This hotel is in the city center and is very close to 6th Street bars/restaurants. If you are in reasonably good health, you can walk to pretty much anything from this hotel. The bridge where the bats come out at night, is only about 3 blocks away. Capitol is probably 8-10 blocks as is the Bullock museum which is nearby. University of Texas Austin is a little further at maybe 2 miles (you may want to cab that if it's a hot day since the campus itself is a long walk). Long Center is a little way over the same bat bridge if you want to walk to a concert. W Hotel itself was fantastic as they most often are. If you are fairly young or like that young/hip vibe, the W Hotel is the place for you. We stayed for 5 days & would often take a dip or lay out by the pool for a few hours after sightseeing all day. A liquor sponsor was there the weekend we were & provided free mixed cocktails which was an added bonus. All the different bar/lounge areas within the hotel have great service & atmosphere & play hip music. Hotel room was fairly large & modern. Word to the wise: if you are sharing your room with someone other than a spouse/lover, ask for a shower curtain. The whole bathroom is pretty much wide open and has clear glass shower door, so there is no privacy. We went the green route and volunteered to not have service while we were there (make beds, clean bathroom, etc) to get extra Starwood points. Added bonus: Starbucks attached to hotel, for those that need their morning fix.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Close to restaurants & shops.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Very nice stay. Trace, the hotel's restaurant & nearby restaurants serve good food. Was able to work out since hotel has a very good fitness facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by nanjenfrom Houston

Great Place for a Party

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay a lot, the staff was very friendly.