Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vacaville, CA

Everything wonderful, except the WiFi service

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I loved everything about this hotel, save one unfortunate drawback; their WiFi service is abominable. I was only able to connect to the net one day out of the four during my stay. Otherwise, the facilities are picturesque and charming. I appreciated their "green" efforts immensely, the food was wonderful in the restaurant and the staff was extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, clean, well appointed, beautiful, near Hartford, great restaurants, shops, hiking to Heublein Tower etc. Also a great staff!
Location: The location was perfect for us. We grew up a few miles from the hotel, so it was the perfect place for my brother and his wife to stay.
My brother and his new wife came up from Florida. They married just over a year ago, but my brother had to start chemo and radiation so they did not have a honeymoon. My brother is doing well now and told us they were coming up to visit. Mom and I decided to give them the honeymoon they never had and we found the best price through Expedia. The room they stayed in was beautiful!!! They loved the plush bed and the large bathroom. We had plenty of time to spend with them but they also got to have plenty of time alone to enjoy the area where we grew up. He told us that his stay at Avon Old Farms Hotel was wonderful, and they couldn't have asked for a nicer more comfortable place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The pool was nice. the restaurant was wonderful. The beds are very comfortable.
Cons: This hotel is charming but shows some aging. The room was damp and musty so we had to run the A/C on high the entire time even though we were cold.
Location: The location was easy to find and had stores and restaurants near by but you had to drive.
This hotel was very traditional in d├ęcor. The pool was nice and the restaurant is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Comfortable hotel near Hartford

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, not part of the impersonal big chain hotels.
Cons: The air conditioning units need either servicing or replacement.
Location: Farmington Valley - cycling, hiking, skiing etc - visit website.
We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. It's location is convenient for Hartford and the surrounding area. The location in the Farmington River valley is beautiful. We had a luxury two double bed room for 4 of us - the room was well appointed and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of room. Our only issue with the room was the very noisy and ineffectual air conditioner unless it was on the highest setting. The complimentary breakfast is only suitable if you want a coffee and a pastry or muffin - not a proper breakfast really. But, the hotel restaurant serves a good selection for breakfast and it's very reasonably priced. The grounds of the hotel are very well kept. Our family enjoyed using the swimming pool, which is old but very good. There is a gym which is small but has all the essentials you'd expect. We'd recommend this to anyone looking for a hotel in the Hartford that isn't part of one of the big hotel chains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Farm, old style. Very quiet.
Cons: Complimentary breakfast. Can not be sample like that. Smell in room is not good and comfortable to stay. It is the reason I may not stay next time.
WIFI is terrible, cannot believe in mordent age we can live without fast wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Furnishings
Cons: Update bathrooms. New rugs.
Definitely New England. Room furnished nicely but bathroom and floor showing age.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

not worth the money

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Food was amazing and the hotel site itself was close to where I needed to be.
Cons: Overall cleanliness Staff weren't overly helpful. I did ask for the shower drain to be unclogged and a guest services listing...nothing.
Location: Lots of stuff...the list is endless! Hiking, shopping, relaxing, night life...great food! Mystic is about an hour...
A quaint hotel in it's day! We stayed in the "annex" not the main hotel...smelled musty, no ventilation -heat or A/C. Shower didn't drain, no guest services listing and front desk staff a bit snooty. Pool was open, no staff present at 4 pm. Window sills had dead flies on them and road grime. The breakfast buffet (for a fee) was delish and the coffee was amazing and plentiful! The beds were comfy and clean...overall a little rundown and grubby
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TENNESSEE, CT NATIVE BORN

good price but not worth any more than that.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: VERY GOOD CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST, HOT TEA & COFFEE. PICTURESQUE, COMFORTABLE LOBBY. ALSO LIKED THE AVAILABILITY OF THE AIRPORT SHUTTLE.
Cons: CLEAN THE AIR VENTS. LOTS OF DISGUSTING DUST VISIBLE. BETTER SHOWER CURTAINS SO AS TO NOT MAKE FLOOD IN BR. CLEAN CARPETS.
Location: N/A
Hotel grand but is shabby and smells musty, some rooms worse than others. I booked thru expedia and the rate ended up being only 16 dollars cheaper than the regular rate. thankfully, the desk clerk was able to update me. The shower was strong but the tub old. rug dirty, bed saggy. good pillows. NO ELEVATOR FROM LOBBY TO 2ND FLOOR!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Gracious, beautiful, understated.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Visually lovely, appealing grounds, windows actually open.
Cons: Continental breakfast --it would be nice to have some plain bread or rolls, not only cake.
Location: Beautiful area. Convenient to West Hartford with its many restaurants. Had no time to explore further.
Stayed 5 nights, not on vacation; was in the area for professional development. No serious complaints at all. Air conditioning system quite noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Golf tournament nearby

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Management was very accommodating! Hotel clean and cozy!