Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mass

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Rooms could use some updating but clean and comfortable. Tap room staff left a little but lacking on value/service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rockville, Maryland

Beautiful inn like hotel in Avon

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The rooms and the staff and the fireplace in the lobby.
Cons: As above, the restaurant
Location: Good hiking near by. Not too far from Hartford.
We stayed for two nights in adjoining rooms. The beds were lovely -ours a canopied king and our two adult children had beautiful queens. The staff was lovely and helpful. Overall it was a wonderful place to stay and I will return. The only negative was the restaurant. We returned from a funeral on New Year;s Eve and had a decent but not great dinner. On New Year;s Day we got back at 8:30. The kitchen was closing at 9. We ordered only to have one of items missing at the last moment. A substitution was made but came out poorly cooked. Our hambugers had frozen tomatos on them and the rolls were cold and not toasted. We requested an additional side and were told the kitchen was now closed. I realize it was a holiday but the food was horrible. The bar tender was very pleasant and helpful and did her best. But who ever was cooking should probably be fired for the poor attitude and poor performance. I know it was a holiday but that is the true test of a restaurant -to perform well in difficult circumstances.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Nice hotel. Close to Hartford, yet on the west.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Location: Country atmosphere. Close to one of my favorite restaurants: Apricots, Farmington.
Good value, with country feel. Recommended for business and weekend outings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great, with a little to be desired

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was grand, except the heating system per room is from the 70's plus the windows let in lots of cold air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic room. Loved the layout and bed!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The design of the inside looking like you stepped back in time!
Cons: Carpeting needed replaced in room
Location: I'm not sure, I was there on business and did not have enough time to look around.
Wasn't sure what to expect. Looked like a bed and breakfast on the internet. Turned out to be a beautiful place with a great look and comfy rooms that look like a bed and breakfast. Will definitely stay again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kathrinefrom CT

Super !

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful grounds, cozy clean room, super friendly staff. Perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donald Efrom San Antonio, tx

Visit grandbaby

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was a good after we moved to the back side of hotel away from street noise. Wife is very lite sleeper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by keiko

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom Waltham, MA

Just fine.

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice old comfortable hotel. I would have preferred blackout curtains or something. The sheer white don't cut it when your room is on the first floor by the parking lot.