Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South West, UK

Fine for one night

Posted Aug 30, 2014
This hotel is totally fine for one night before a flight from Bristol airport. However you do need to have patience when trying to find it! Even with sat nav it is far from easy. The rooms are very small and drinks and meals are very expensive. The bar area is tiny. But as I said, for one night before a flight it will do. The staff were ok, nothing great or too bad. The evening meal was nice but small, did not have breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Nice stay felt a bit out if place as a wedding was going on and we were mixed with guests
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Cons: Signage to hotel, reception staff trained to recognise that the guest pays their wages.
Location: Miles from nowhere. You must have a car.
I thought I would never find this hotel. It is more than 2 miles from the turnoff. I think reception staff trained with basil fawlty.
3 out of 5
by Janet

Remote

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: good views
Cons: signposting, more helpful and friendly reception staff
Location: remote
Very remote place and rather rambling - not signed posted well. We were not offered food i.e. evening meal or breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

satisfactory for price

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: price, nice setting, some original features
Cons: heating switched off even when temperature has dropped, window does not fit or close. bar food use of frozen products not nice,
1 night stay on business, so satisfactory for price paid.
4 out of 5
by Gill from Cheltenham

Pre-conference preparation

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: swimmimg pool room was fine, but quite small good price on expedia (a Tuesday)
Cons: Information re spa facilities Heating in leisure club
Location: convenient for M5 but no motorway noise
Chose this hotel as has a swimming pool and is near the motorway, as a stop off en route to a conference in Exeter. Good swimming pool, but not huge (bit cold between pool and changing rooms) - nice and quiet midweek and last entry quite late at 9:15pm if I remember right. Great view from hotel terrace. Staff were polite and obliging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R & J from Bucks

Beautiful view lovely hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Great hotel had everything we needed, room was of a very large size and we had a stunning stone fireplace. Very quirky older hotel with lots of staircases and squeaky floor boards, happy stay with great staff. The views from this country retreat were breathtaking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by susan from sheffield

nice hotel bit hard to find

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: comfortable
Cons: seating for bar
Location: only stayed as a half way mark for st ives
overall very good only niggle was we ordered a bar meal and the seating is like sitting in a corridor as everyone walks down this way to get to their rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by della from cornwall

Good for business stay

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Breakfast. Fresh local produce and very well made
Cons: Smell of cooking oil overwhelmed the place when I checked in so didn't eat in restaurant that evening
Better than expected. Room was clean and breakfast was very good