Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
for Personal Eventby Andrew Campbellfrom Lytham St Annes
Worth a visit.Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel and Arran in general, complement each other well. A great place to base a stay on Arran. No complaints at all.
for Couplesby Jeannie Leefrom Wilsonville, Al
Good valuePosted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Glensisle Was the most expensive of the 4 we stayed on while visiting Arran. It was adequate, comfortable bed, helpful staff, right on the coastal road and the bus stops practically at their front door.
Recommendedby Davidfrom Cumbria
Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
An excellent stay. Hotel staff were superb very helpful and friendly. Great food and lots of nice touches in hotel like maps and binoculars to borrow. We will be back
for Everyoneby A verified travelerfrom grevenbroich
ruhiges hotel am meerPosted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: helle,saubere zimmer.gute Küche und freundliches personal
Location: direkt am Wasser.ideal um arran zu erkunden
angenehme ruhige atmosphäre,sehr gute Küche,helle freundliche zimmer und sehr freundliches personalFreundlichen saubr
for Couplesby A verified traveler
Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
for Couplesby A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh
Nice cosy hotelPosted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Well looked after, clean, we'll decorated and local artists art work on display. Room and on suite shower were clean, perfectly good.
Cons: Cosy room was very warm, Perhaps offer lighter bedding during summer. Remind guests to book for evening meals.
Location: Location is great, not as busy as Broddick but all the right amenities, pub, small selection of shops and co-op for essentials.
Booked via Expedia, expected a Standard room but got down graded to a cosy double - disappointing start, no explanation so somewhere someone got it wrong. Cosy double was good, nice and clean and well presented, but in the eves of the roof which restricted headroom, we ended up walking around the room bent over incase we cracked our heads on the roof, sore back after a while so didn't spend any longer in it than needed. Great location right on the bay, great views of the Holy Island and a great pub along the road (drift Inn). Food was very good, good selection and staff very attentive, really excellent. Strange but they don't expect to serve guests evening meals, so despite staying there you do need to book a table for evening meals, first time I had come across that, but they didn't make any effort to remind you or offer at breakfast, so you took a chance in the afternoon of missing out. Overall a great little hotel, well run, good food little else needed for a fabulous time away, would recommend it, just ensure you get the room confirmed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Glenisle, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You did mention a couple of issues which I would like to address. First, you had the impression that you were downgraded from a Standard Double room to a Cosy Double room. Having gone back to check your booking I can see that the booking we received from Expedia was for a Cosy Double. However, I can see how some confusion could happen because Expedia calls our Cosy Doubles, “Double Rooms” (although they do call our Standard Rooms, “Standard Double”). I am contacting them again to see if they could rename this room something more helpful – even “Small Double” would be preferable because it would make it clearer what the difference between the different room types are. But, be assured that the room you stayed in was exactly that room that was booked and that the size and facilities matched the description on Expedia. You also mentioned that you were surprised that we recommended that you book for an evening meal even though you were staying with us. Our bistro is very popular, as you will have noticed, so there can often be a wait for tables in the evening. We offer to book a time for our guests so that they don’t have to wait. I would also like to add that if you have any questions at all, if you are unclear about anything or even is you just want to know more about the island -- please ask. We could easily have answered your question about your room and then you wouldn’t have been worrying about it. We like to do everything we can to give our guests an enjoyable and relaxed visit to Arran. So, have a chat with us and you’ll find that we can help you get the most of out your stay.
Recommendedby S.from Canada
Peaceful SettingPosted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely little hotel with attentive staff. Clean and well maintained in a beautiful setting. Also ate dinner there which was excellent. Would certainly go back.
for Couplesby Susanfrom Rolleston
Fantastic viewPosted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent in every way.
Recommendedby A verified traveler
Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Great hotel on the Isle of ArranPosted Apr 6, 2014
Location: Isle of Arran - Scotland in miniature.
Staff very helpful, kept us up to date with the ferry problems. Free upgrade to a bigger room.