Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CraigWBaker from West Midlands

What a GREAT hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had booked this hotel and was planning on asking my girlfriend to marry me while we were on the island. I emailed them with my plans, and asked for a nice room, but keep it quiet. Upon arrival we got room 202! Huge suite with the balcony on the front of the hotel. Amazing. That was the Friday night. Friday night meal in the bistro. Sweet potato and chilli soup. Very tasty, followed by pollack and chips, again tasty. The girlfriend had a veg tartlet, and gave it glowing reviews. All good. Saturday. Up early and a nice salmon and scrambled eggs breakfast. We them went for a walk up to the castle, which is spectacular in its surroundings. Sad to leave Sunday but a really lovely time. Room 202 is quite amazing. The balcony is huge and overlooks the bay. I usually complain about the food and drink being way to expensive, but not here. Certainly not cheap, but very reasonable for the class of hotel. Big fluffy bath robes. Nice big towels. Lovely well appointed bathroom. Any negatives? Errrr, not not really. Could do with some separate soap maybe in the bathroom. Some tissues? Errr, more of the biscuits on the tea tray! Disposable slippers for the balcony? Massive thanks to the staff, we had a fabulous few days and would surely recommend it. Enjoy the castle and it's grounds and we dare you to try the walk. Enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful hotel. Stunning views

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Frequent visitor to Arran. Fabulous overnight stay. Wish it could have been longer to enjoy this lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Great location & very comfortable.
Only stated one night but wish it had been more. The Hotel was stunning, my room was huge and the bed very comfortable. The Bistro food was delicious, best meal I've had in a while & not over priced. I hope to be back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by stanley from wirral

Pleasant stay

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
A well run hotel, with pleasant staff and excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by F & C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed two nights at The Douglas Hotel and found it to be an excellent place to stay with beautiful rooms and lovely food in the bar and for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

A well renovated small hotel - great!

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This a fantastic boutique hotel in an ideal location. The hotel is in a great condition and the staff were great. The only negative was an issue with the shower (cold and very slow to heat) and the lack of a toilet roll holder!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JJ from Ayrshire

Cool It Douglas!

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not difficult to mark down on location as Arran is beautiful and probably our favourite holiday resort. Glad to see the Douglas looking smart + doing so well. Food was good quality + homely. Only real complaint was room comfort. Far too hot with no ventilation option. Would avoid room 208 where possible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Pros: lovely hotel , having my wedding there next year ;-)
Location: 1 min off the ferry in walking distance .. if your not driving around the island , just leave the car in the long stay and walk when you get there
lovely hotel , having my wedding there next year ;-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The best place to stay in Brodick

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Pros: The decor and spacious rooms
Cons: Cleaner did leave our room unlocked.
Location: Ideal - 2 minutes to the ferry, overlooking the sea.
Excellent hotel, bar, and restaurant with great staff. Would only stay here on Arran.