Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Wonderful old hotel overlooking the water

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: History, location, staff, great breakfasts
Location: Lots of golf courses to play but also easy to take the train north or south along the coast and see lots of little villages
Golfed Royal Troon which was fantastic, Dundonald which was a stiff challenge and Lochgreen a nice municipal course. Walked to the town of Troon and took the train to Ayr both towns were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate New York

Beautiful stay next to Royal Troon

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: very peaceful and the staff very attentive
Location: Beautiful next to the ocean and Royal Troon golf course
We had a lovely stay and were given the Tiger Woods suite at the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Elegant hotel on waterfront

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The staff and central position of hotel on the waterfront
Cons: Nothing
From the moment we arrived hotel staff were terrific and did much to make our stay so enjoyable. High quality service great breakfasts in a very elegant setting
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tayside

Another visit

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Like the hotel and it's location. Confusion with booking, did not have us on the system! Sorted out reasonably quickly. Room 1 OK but traffic noise of delivery vehicles cars etc not good. Breakfast good but not too impressed with the new restaurant. Despite that expect to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nancy & John from USA

Quiet restful stay

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice pool, not centrally located but in a nice area. Staff was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Derek from Slough

Fine, but over priced for what you get.

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A fine old hotel, but nothing special and not worth the high price tag (£125) paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by anon from Glasgow

Great staff

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Marine Hotel is not without it's issues. Our room was small, clean, but in places badly maintained. Flaking paint, non-locking bathroom door and an ill fitting shower cubicle which left the floor soaked after every use. A food order in the bar (for a salad, soup, and a children's pasta) took 45 mins plus to arrive, by which time my 18 month old son was loosing it! I would not expect these issues in a highly rated and starred hotel. HOWEVER the jewel in this hotel's crown and the reason that despite everthing I would continue to recommend it and return myself is the staff. Without exception friendly and curteous, and they really couldn't do more for us. Travelling with a toddler can be difficult for all, but they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help with any snags that appeared. 5 star staff/ 2-3 stars for the room!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel close to town beach and golf course

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Cons: a mini bar
fantastic view from our hotel bed room over golf course and the sea