Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In heart of town

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: location and size of room
Cons: update flooring in room....remove carpet and put in wood laminate flooring to match bathroom.
Location: explore medieval towns on rhine, close to local castles, boat trip on river
Staying in this 450 year old hotel was a pleasure. We rented a superior suite and it was incredibly large and roomy. Wonderful views from the windows. It is right across the street from the Altes Haus built in the 14th century. A breakfast buffet was included and it was delicious. My favorite part were the wonderful crunchy fresh rolls with sweet cream butter and jam! Seems like ages ago but just yesterday I breakfasted there! Today at home, I dreamed of the wonderful bread selection as I ate my cereal and milk. LOL The owners were helpful without being intrusive. I would definately stay here again. The only negative was the 68 stairs we had to climb to out room. We had quite a bit of luggage and the owner escorted us up and very nicley carried a suitcase up for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephanie from Kansas City, MO

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our time in the Rhine Valley and at the Am Markt Hotel. This is both a hotel and restaurant. We did eat there on the first night and the food was good and the service was good. We arrived late on our check in day due to flight delays and were able to check in at the restaurant and quickly shown our room. Our luggage was also lost and the hotel signed for it and took it to our room for us so we could enjoy some sight-seeing. Room was very large, comfortable and clean. Thanks, Am Markt!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Cincinnati, OH

Center of town

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: The location is ideal. Park and then just walk
Cons: Parking is tight. Hopefully you will be able to get one of the garages
Location: Picturesque town with original wall. Right out of a fairy tale.
Bacarach is very charming and this hotel is right in the center of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David from USA

Great location spacious rooms.

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location spacious rooms updated rooms. Walking distance to all attractions in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angel from Greensboro

Fabulous room

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room 7 - "comfort suite" per Hotels.com was a 2 BR apt - great. Friendly staff, yummy restaurant right in the heart of Bacharach. Would SOOOO stay there again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Julia from Ann Arbor, MI

Great location, excellent service

Posted Jun 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located at the very center of Bacharach, close to the KD boats dock, restaurants, bakeries, and ATM machine. Several walking trails start there. It is about 0.5 mile from the train station (we walked with the luggage for 10-15 minutes). The two-bedroom suite was very comfortable for our family of four (including two teenagers). The staff is very friendly and speaks some English; we also enjoyed a really good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LA Sojourner from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Convenient location

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Family run hotel/restaurant in the town center of Bacharach, about a third of a mile from the train station. Room and bathroom were clean and appear to have been recently upgraded. There is no elevator so you do have to carry your luggage up the stairs. There was a nice selection for breakfast. Dinner at the restaurant was excellently prepared. The host was friendly and courteous. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Beth and Bob from Austin, TX

picturesque location beware the stairs!

Posted Oct 12, 2012
Pros: Location, quiet room, sufficient water pressure in shower compared to other cities.
Cons: The staff was not as welcoming or gracious as their local competitors appeared to be. Room for some improvement there.
Location: Can't do better, but there are several options within a "block" of this one. This one is farther away from the must be noisy high use train tracks!
How do you describe, realistically, a hotel that is well over 400 years old? Across the street (cobble stone alley is more descriptive) from a building dating 100 years before Colombus? Bacharack is a picturesque quaint village that is well worth the trip. However if we return we will research other choices in addition to this hotel. When the stairs are described, listen up! There are many steep, narrow, somewhat uneven stairs to the first floor of rooms which seems to be on the 2nd floor, but remember in Germany the first floor is the one above the ground floor! Its a hike and if you have a heavy bag you are on your own. Staff here were fine but we felt far more welcomed at other local restaurant establishments. Food everywhere here is excellent, you can not do better in Germany! Prices are competitive especially once the peak season is over (we were there in mid-October).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Karen

Lovely Hotel.

Posted Sep 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel. Beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the location of the hotel and the beautiful town of Bacharach. We would definitely stay at this hotel if we returned.