Ratings based on 1,067 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North carolina

Inexpensive, older hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Old and shabby, but given the price that was expected.
Location: Copley Square
The Boston Common Hotel appears to be an old converted dormitory building. It hasn't been updated, but given the really excellent price that can be overlooked. The room was small and somewhat shabby, but it was clean and quiet. Continental breakfast is included, and that was appreciated. The location is excellent (1 block from Copley Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom US

The Common is not Common

Posted Mar 29, 2015
The Boston Common has a lot going for it. The location is excellent - next to Copley Plaza, major tourist attractions, buses and subways, good restaurants. The building is old - 1925, I asked - but in excellent repair. Very little in the building is new but it is all tidy. A very quiet hotel, too. Prices vary but are excellent for a major city. Amtrak Back Bay Station is five minutes away. You can go to the airport for $5 at a bus stop across from the Copley Plaza Hotel. Bus, which runs regularly, is operated by the city. I have only good things to say about this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price was right.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Hard to find entrance. Lobby was nice. Our floor was not. Old and not taken care of. Room was super small. Old looking. Clean but run down. Bath was straight out of the 70's. Bed was good. Shower pressure was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Overall a great deal. This is quite picky, but the beds were rather uncomfortable and for 3 nights it got a little old. The free breakfast was a little lackluster, but once again for the price it's a steal. Location was fantastic. Would strongly recommend grabbing a 7 day T pass (for $19) the walk to the Back Bay station is not even 5 minutes. Overall 4/5 stars would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HISTORIC BUT DATED.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
I came to Boston for a conference. I chose the Boston Common Hotel because the venue the organizer had chosen was a $300+ hotel. The Boston Common Hotel had a good location at Copley Square and about a 5 minute walk from the Common. The hotel itself was historic but very dated. The lobby was nice but the rooms were last remodeled in the 1960's, beige 4" tiles in the bathroom and furniture from the early '80s. It was reasonably clean but I spilled something on the pillowcase and it wasn't changed afterwards. The front staff were helpful and pleasant. They pointed me to a gym that was close by that offered a free 1 week trial membership. Overall the stay was otherwise smooth and checkout was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Cons: No
Location: Mcgreevys, Prudential Center, Fenway Stadium, Top of the Hub Restaurant- we walked everywhere
Close to everything and staff was extremely nice/accommodating. I broke my only boots that I brought with me and the staff went out of their way to bring me glue to fix them. They also had a place for us to leave our luggage after checkout since our flight wasn't for a few more hours. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars on facilities was because it was a bit older but in a way added to the experience. Place was very clean. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

費用相当なホテルです

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: 朝食がついていることは助かりました!
二人で滞在しましたが、部屋にははソファー的なものはなく、座り心地の悪い椅子が一つだけでしたので、もう一人はベッドに座っている状態でした。 近くにはたくさんホテルがあります。 このホテルは値段相当の内容で、快適さや、リラックスしたいなら、 もうワンクラス上のホテルをお勧めします。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Valu for money

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Comfortable and clean. friendly staff good breakfast Good location Free wifi available in lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of a kind hotel experience

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Convenience & price considering its quality of service
Cons: Guest room wifi connection
Location: Back bay. Freedom Trail
Nice room, decent breakfast. No wifi in the hotel though. Close to transportation hub and attractions. Right in the center of Boston.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Expedia needs more information on this location

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Beautiful building
Cons: Information prior to booking and the bathrooms should be updated
Location: The Boston Common is directly across from one of the entrances to the Copley Center -near Au Bon Pain. So this is in a great area
This hotel is a beautiful old building in the Back Bay of Boston. The rooms are older with not a lot of counter space in the bathrooms...which was fine. My biggest issue with this hotel is that there is not an entrance to the hotel that does not require you to carry your bags up stairs. This would not be a problem if they had a doorman-which they do not. When I was trying to get my bags up the stairs, the receptionist ignored that I was even there. Like I said, the building is a great older building. If you are driving - there is parking next to the hotel and you can drive in right in front of the door that leads to the Boston Common...but when you leave you either have to haul your bags up 30+ stairs to get to the elevator for the garage or you have to walk completely around the block to get to an entrance that does not require steps. The hotel was fine, but if you are alone or you are not arriving and leaving by cab-I would book somewhere else. The site that we reserve from should definitely have more information for the traveler