Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough UK

Very central, distinguished older hotel.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The touch of class it gave off, without being stuffy.
Location: Great base for touring Bavaria, including Berchtesgarden. Plenty to do in the town centre of an evening.
We needed the sat nav to locate the hotel, as the main entrance is located in a pedestrian precinct (though you can drive slowly to this entrance and there is close-by access to the hotel's private car park). A slightly formal, older type of hotel but with a certain style about it. Reception at check in was quick and easy. The rooms were comfortable, well equipped with modern bathrooms. The main restaurant was large and easily catered for everyone at buffet breakfast time (we ate out both evenings we stayed there, as there were plenty of alternatives in the pedestrianised area that surrounded the hotel). The cost of drinks (apart from beer) in the hotel bar were quite high. Close by there were plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars within less than 5 minutes walk.
3 out of 5
by peter from miami, fl

Beautiful area and garden. Hotel needs a makeover.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
I still did enjoy the town and the area. Hotel is out dated but the staff makes the stay pleasend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2014 by Bjoern, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you very much for having chosen the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein in occasion of your stay in Bad Reichenhall. We are pleased that you took the time to write about your experience. We are pleased that our central city location provided a convenient base for your visit. However I certainly appreciate the constructive points made. Rest assured, I shall share your observations with the relevant departments, as it is only through our guests’ feedback that the appropriate improvements can be made. We do hope that there will be a few more opportunities in the not to distant future when we will have the pleasure of your return to the Hotel. Best regards, Roland Mittermair Cluster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred from Pennsylvania

Accessibility to hotel and handicapped visitors

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Unusually a Very large rooms at a good price. Staff very friendlly
Cons: Give better directions to hotel.
Location: Better directions on how to get to the hotel. We had to call staff for step by step phone directions
Rooms are not wheelchair accessible. No roll-in showers available. Other than that, great hotel BUT not easy to find. Great Pub down the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014 by Bjoern, Hotel Management
Dear Fred, thank you very much for having chosen the Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein in occasion of your stay in Bad Reichenhall. We are pleased that you took the time to write about your experience. However I certainly appreciate the constructive points made. Rest assured, I shall share your observations with the relevant departments, as it is only through our guests’ feedback that the appropriate improvements can be made. I am delighted that you chose our property for your visit and I shall certainly share your positive feedback with the relevant departments. We do hope that there will be a few more opportunities in the not to distant future when we will have the pleasure of your return to the Hotel. Best regards, Roland Mittermair Cluster General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David Rees from USA

Great Get-away

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Romantic feeling in a grand-old-hotel. Quiet, clean, and comfortable. Maids did not always knock before trying to enter, so keep the door chain on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Bjoern, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to review your stay in our hotel. Best regards, Björn Achstaller Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Bjoern, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to review your stay in our hotel. Best regards, Björn Achstaller Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ken from UK

great quite stay

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great stay, quite area, lovely breakfast, but no bananas either day, only downside was the silly 14.95 euros per day WiFi access charge. We used the free access at couple of the pub/restaurants we used.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Great Hospitality

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were using the hotel as a base for business, arriving at around 11pm. By the time we had parked the car and got back to reception there were two beers waiting for us!! Great staff, very comfortable, good breakfasts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lindy from Nairobi

Visit to Bad Reichenhall

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I like the hotel-has lots of character. The room is large and roomy. May I make a few suggestions though? (1) The pillows were very uncomfortable because they were so soft, they don't support the neck. I requested for firmer pillows but neither the front desk nor Housekeeping understood my request. They brought me rather large pillows that were just as soft. A front desk person, on a different call on a different day, also did not understand what a gym or workout room was. I had wanted to find out if there was a gym in the hotel as I couldn't find it. (2) There were no adaptors available for my hair appliance (hair curler) and my Blackberry. They both required a British triangular three-prong plug. (3) The welcome booklet said that if laundry was dropped off before 0900 at the front desk that it would be done and returned to my room that same afternoon. But when I dropped the clothes off at the front desk, I was told that it would take two days. When I indicated that it was not the case according to the booklet, I believe the staff made an effort to return the clothes that same afternoon, which they did. However, the clothes smelled very, very strong of perfume, and I could not wear them. One set was a pajamas, and the strong perfume not only disturbed my sleep but kept my husband awake, so I had to change out of it. If these areas are improved upon, I would definitely come back to Axelmannstein! Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Faded grandeur

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Returned after 9 years to find a once elegant hotel now rather faded and it's beautiful grounds neglected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ND from Rockville, MD

Excellent as always

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's our second year, and we had a great time again. The gentleman who runs the front desk was unfortunately on vacation this time, and the woman who took his place lacked initiative and intelligence. However, he is lovely and runs a well organized outfit. Location is great, breakfast is great, surrounding activities are stupendous. Salzburg is an easy trip away, and if you have kids, definitely take the rodelbahn!