Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
I have stayed at 3 different hotels in Baddeck and none are excellent in my opinion. At the Inverary, the first room they gave us had a real stale smell, so we requested a room change and the second one was fine. Housekeeping never emptied the overflowing trash can in the sititing area the whole week we were there...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova Scotia

Great place, great price

Posted Oct 18, 2014
We were there over a busy long weekend. We were pleasantly surprised at how large this place was. The pub was busy, food was good. Breakfast was great, best bacon we ever had. Had the firepit at night to ourselves. Only complaint, was bed was a bit firm for our liking, but no bed compares to the one at home. Would definetly go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Most Interesting!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Scotish tradition, and a place with some history of its own in a historic town.
Cons: There are boating facilities that don't apear to be used much. There may be more activity earlier in the season.
Location: A good point to start a trip around the Cabot trail from. The Bell Museum is a must see. Boating and tenis are available on sight. The Pub had live
This is a comfortable friendly place to stay with a Scotish tradition. This is a large sight with room to walk around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartmouth, NS, Canada

Price was right but hotel needs some TLC

Posted Oct 15, 2014
We were late booking for the Canadian thanks giving weekend and this hotel had vacancies with a moderate price point. Rooms are dated and require some maintenance but room was quiet, bed comfie and we had a great view of the Bras D'or Lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Beautiful Location

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The Inverary is a large beautiful property right on the water. They have done up the whole place in a Victorian type decor. The building and room we were in was older with outdated furnishings and decor. But the bed was amazing! And that's really what counts in a hotel room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a great time here.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to the lake , downtown areas and tourist attractions such as the Alexander Graham Bell Museum.
Location: Close to downtown and local restaurants. Easy access to highway to travel to other destinations in Cape Breton
Thought food was very good ,both complementary breakfast and dining room meals off the menu.. Prices were very reasonable .Had issues with first room and were moved immediately to another room even though the hotel was close to capacity.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Alberta

Good location, excellent restaurant and great pub

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Very quiet and quaint.
Cons: New carpets would be a great start
Location: Location is great for starting a toot Trailur of the Cab
Chose this location because it was the start and end of the Cabot Trail.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Was Expecting More.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Greta views from our suite. Breakfast is pretty good.
Cons: It's dated. run down and not that clean.
Based on existing reviews I was expecting much more. When we checked in we were told we would be staying across the street at their "sister" accommodation. They were excited to tell us that we were staying in premium suite with a jacuzzi tub for 2. That was accurate but the place was pretty underwhelming and not very clean. This property is old and run down. Great views but not very appealing overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

We booked Inverary but stayed In sister motel.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
It would have been nice to know of different location in advance. Friendly staff & great breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Don't recommend this Place

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Need badly needed renovation to the washroom and the interiors
Location: Graham Bell Museum, Cabot Trail
We stayed 2 nights at this so called resort and both nights we couldn't sleep because of noise coming from adjacent rooms till the wee hours. Carpet is filthy, washroom is terrible and needs badly needed renovation. It may look like a resort from the outside but once you enter the room, it's no better than a cheap motel. I wouldn't visit this place ever again.