Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Great resort. The kids loved the amenities!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The recreational offerings
Cons: Some rooms are aged
Location: In the heart of Baddeck. Alexander Graham Bell museum is outstanding! Golf, sailing, eagles... Incredible
Scenery second to none!. Wedding on the lakeshore. Beautiful. Wedding reception and dinner was terrific. All done at and by the resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for traveling around the trail

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: Carpets and decor in main lobby. Update the music in the bar to more Celtic style of music. Drunken singers on the Friday night when we were there.
Location: Close to trail. Great restaurant near by for seafood!
The hotel was very central for the trail. Great breakfast and a wonderful meal by the lake! Enjoyed the local gathering cehlih held in a local church hall. Hotel needs to update the carpets & decor but a really nice place to stay. Walking distance to shops and restaurants!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from truro nova scotia

very nice room and friendly staff

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: very nice people and the room was very clean
Location: there are shops and restaurants the alexander graham bell museum and theres a sail boat tour you can go on
we really enjoyed the room the staff went above and beyond to make our stay there very nice as we were there on our honeymoon
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Nice grounds, hotel needs updating

Posted Aug 30, 2014
I think this hotel needs to fix the A/C problems in the rooms, linens including pillows should be updated. Bathroom needs fixing surface mold on walls and tiles. Carpet in very poor condition .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Clean comfortable with a great view

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: outdoor wrap around deck
Cons: our only issue was with the directions!
Location: there is a pub right on the grounds. town very close by, beautiful waterfront to sit and relax also very close by
We were in a lodge, separate from the main building, directions given at check in were not very clear. We drove down, sign was hidden from view by hedges. Had to ask for help. Had to climb two flights of outdoor stairs to get there, numbers not clear, finally, we get to the room, which was very comfortable. Once settled we had a very relaxing evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs some crucial renovation.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
The location of the resort is great, the staff is very friendly staff but the hotel needs some crucial renovation. My room had a very old house smell and the interior needs updates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NS

Somewhat Outdated But Comfortable

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of the staff. The grounds are quite beautiful and a joy to walk around, lots of beautiful flowers.
Cons: Put two chairs in the rooms and the TV could be mounted on the wall. Upgrade the furniture.
Location: There are lots of shops to visit and the Alexander Graham Bell Museum.
We booked through Expedia for the Ceilidh Country Lodge, a sister site to the Inverary Inn just across the street. When we arrived at the Ceilidh Lodge we were informed we were now booked into the Inverary Inn so across the street we go. We had the standard room with two double beds. The room was very clean and the beds quite comfortable. The furniture was a bit outdated as in the dresser and the wall lamps showed quite a bit of wear and there was only one chair. Two would have been ideal. Our reservation came with a free continental breakfast and we enjoyed a full buffet of cereal, freshly cut fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, waffles one morning and French toast the next, muffins, biscuits and coffee/tea, juice This was served in the main dining room by a wonderful and very friendly staff. I was disappointed the main dining room was not open for supper as we were celebrating our anniversary and we had been there quite a few years ago and enjoyed a fantastic meal. The alternate was the restaurant on the premises down by the waterfront and we opted to go into the village for a meal there. We didn't use the pool as I had forgotten to take our swimwear. When at the resort some years ago I remember going on a cruise of the harbour on the Inverary boat that was there and I believe this was included with your reservation. Now you have to rent a pontoon boat and take over the helm yourself following brief instructions from a guide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Welleseley MA

Nice hotel in a nice area

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location is handy for the village and the pub is good with live music most evenings. We would have liked to try the kayaks but the weather wasn't good
Cons: IN-room AC unit is noisy - but that seems to be the same in many hotels these days.
Location: Baddeck is a lovely spot and ideal for day trips into the park and other areas. We spent most of a day at Black Brook Bay which was a lovely spot.
Hotel room was clean but a little dated - although in that respect it was similar to many Scottish hotels I have stayed in! The pub restaurant is good value for the area - although there is not a huge choice of meals there they are good quality. We particularly liked the shepherd's pie. We went to the music evening held at the conference centre - it was more a "show" rather than the more "folky" experience we were expecting (although the advertising for it does suggest it is a show so perhaps we should have read it more closely!!). Musicianship was first class though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

This was the best place to stay on Cape Breton.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Everything you needed was on site. Excellent food and entertainment. Paddle boarding, kayaking, boating, tennis. Show Cape Breton Smile was excellent.
Cons: Don't know.
Location: Cabot Trail was an easy drive from this location. Baddeck is beautiful.
The location is right on the water and the views were breathtaking. Very relaxed. The porridge bread and biscuits, and creme brûlée were excellent. The staff were professional and friendly. Very happy to see that our room was not as pictured but had been upgraded and was spa like. Enjoyed both restaurants and the pub. Food was good. Happy to find out that there was a show in the Macaulay Conference Centre - which proved to be excellent. We did not expect to see a show with the Barra MacNeils. Highlight of the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton, Ontario

Nice Hotel right in Baddeck

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Nice location. Rooms clean.
Cons: Menu in restaurant by the lake. Not alot of options for people who didnt like seafood or fish. Only complaint was noise from rooms above.
Location: Close to downtown Baddeck and restaurants and shops.
Was a little larger than I thought. Nice Hotel. We were in an out building on main level and got alot of noise from room above but luckily it did not go on all night. Rooms were clean and the location by the lake was nice. Pool was nice. Restaurant by the lake was OK. Only ate there once and thought it was a little overpriced, plus not a large selection of "non" fish items.