Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Halifax NS

Terribly in need of major maintenance repairs.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The bed (after I thoroughly checked under the sheets and seams) was clean and comfortable. Coffee was good
Cons: All of above Maintenance repairs
Location: Alexander Graham Bell Museum was fantastic
The room was 106 in the main lodge and was dilapidated Warning, Bring your own Soap! The liquid soap dispenser at sink would require worlds strongest man to squeeze the soap out of. There is NO soap dispenser or soap at the tub, only a shampoo and conditioner dispenser. The towel rack / shelf over the tub which was chrome at one time has the bottom rusted right off it, no chrome only rust. The toilet seat cover had the plastic cover missing from the hinge and the bolt was terribly rusty and rust stains on the toilet. The Not so clean looking old pink carpet had shrunk away from the walls by at least 3/4 of an inch and you could see the dusty plywood all around the room. Inside the very nice and very large TV cabinet was a tiny little TV 24-30 inch max. I watched a movie on my Ipad which was much clearer as well. If I was travelling for pleasure or had my wife with me, we would Not have stayed there. I was on a working trip and just need a place to sleep the night so I put up with the rest. The Restaurant was closed as well and their continental breakfast left a lot to be desired. choice of Cornflakes, Raisin Bran cereal or white bread only for toast. Stairs in main building all had the carpet ends unstapled and the plywood showing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great resort

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
good location,comfortable bed,room had a fireplace, very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lisafrom Alberta

Super resort - lots to offer.

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
A bit confusing driving in at night. We didn't realize that the whole complex (lots of buildings) were all part of the resort. Better signage for the Reception building is needed (Invernary resort office or something self explanatory). Very friendly staff. Pub was small and crowded but we just went upstairs. Live music was awesome in the pub though. Rooms were clean and the resort is huge. Location of the resort is good.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom R

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
I have stayed at 3 different hotels in Baddeck and none are excellent in my opinion. At the Inverary, the first room they gave us had a real stale smell, so we requested a room change and the second one was fine. Housekeeping never emptied the overflowing trash can in the sititing area the whole week we were there...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nova Scotia

Great place, great price

Posted Oct 18, 2014
We were there over a busy long weekend. We were pleasantly surprised at how large this place was. The pub was busy, food was good. Breakfast was great, best bacon we ever had. Had the firepit at night to ourselves. Only complaint, was bed was a bit firm for our liking, but no bed compares to the one at home. Would definetly go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC

Most Interesting!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Scotish tradition, and a place with some history of its own in a historic town.
Cons: There are boating facilities that don't apear to be used much. There may be more activity earlier in the season.
Location: A good point to start a trip around the Cabot trail from. The Bell Museum is a must see. Boating and tenis are available on sight. The Pub had live
This is a comfortable friendly place to stay with a Scotish tradition. This is a large sight with room to walk around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessicafrom Shediac

I love Cape Breton

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super relax!! Baddeck is an Awesome area. We were off season but in the summer time this hotel has all kind of fun activities to do!! Definately going to stay there again!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dartmouth, NS, Canada

Price was right but hotel needs some TLC

Posted Oct 15, 2014
We were late booking for the Canadian thanks giving weekend and this hotel had vacancies with a moderate price point. Rooms are dated and require some maintenance but room was quiet, bed comfie and we had a great view of the Bras D'or Lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by chris fillinghamfrom toronto

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room and corridors dated and showing wear
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
My main complaint was a strong javex / chlorine smell in my room for most of the duration of my stay. I did make mention of this to staff but they did not offer to do anything about it other than make note. If I was a scent sensitive person this definitely would have triggered a reaction such as a migraine. The setting and grounds were beautiful. And a short walk into town was perfect.