Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Start of the Cabit Trail

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Good view. Reasonable food.
Location: On the Cabot Trail and the Bras D'Or Lake Scenic Drive.
This is a pretty big place with different types of accommodations. We experienced old rooms but they were clean and comfortable. We thought our room would be noisey because it had a loud ice machine, a dehumidifier, and entry/exit doors next to it and looked out onto the wing parking lot. Actually, it turned out to be quite quiet. They do take coach parties so make sure you book for dinner if you want to eat in. They have a pool and laundry facilities but the latter costs $3 Canadian to wash 1 load and $1 Canadian to dry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Penny from Waunake, Wisconsin

A gem with Lake View

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely Lodge with balcony views of the lake! Seems to be an older lodge but was kept up. Did not provide a free breakfast and food was pricey. Customer service was exceptional on check in but not in the restaurant. An informational presentation on the area was offered in the evening which was very helpful and entertaining. Only stayed one night, but would have loved to stay more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location and view
Location: Walking distance to baddeck - great restaurants and Alexander Graham Bell museum well worth a visit
Comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, within walking distance of Baddeck
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Maryq from Calgary

Beautiful ocean view

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay this past Sept 2014. We only stayed one night and the only thing we would have liked better was to be closer to the main harbour area where the restaraunts and shops were. I made the mistake of booking our reservation one day earlier than I thought and missed our stay and even though I was charged as a no show, they refunded me the amount because we rebooked for the following night. I was very happy about that for sure!! The lobby bar closes at 9pm which seems early. Maybe it's the time of year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Nice accomodations with lots of amenities

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Great location, beautiful grounds. Older hotel but well maintained. Only down side, was given 1 of 2 smoking rooms when I specigically requested non-smoking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by D&J from Trumbull, CT

Perfect location to experience the Cabot Trail.

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
It was nice to to have a very good restaurant so close after a very long drive and to to be able to have breakfast before leaving in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by JL from Massachusetts

A place for lovers of old inns

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed here for a night on a road tour vacation as it was one of the better rated places in St. Andrews. We aren't normally "inn" folks so for us it wasn't a bell ringer. Lugging suitcases up 3 flights of stairs wasn't fun. Fortunately the staff switched us to a room with a shower in it as some rooms only have a tub. Clean, neat, but old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nancy from Hamilton, MA

Perfect location for enjoying the Cape Breton area

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
The Silver Dart Lodge was the perfect choice. Beautiful location, close to town, friendly service, and comfortable lodging. We loved their show about Cape Breton too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Michael Baloun from Toronto, Ontario

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
An impressive property, well positoned for exploring both sides of the Cabot Trail. The beautiful restaurant offers excellent food. Yes, there have been a few hiccups during our stay but the management always compensated us with an apology and free meal vouchers. I do not hesitate to recommend the hotel, but do not expect to stay in the impressive building shown on their website - misleading advertising?