Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ashley Jfrom Arlington, VA

It's like a motel from the movies

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wow, the Dakota Inn was a surprise. It's very isolated; across the freeway from the rest of the (small) town, and surrounded by farmland. It felt like we'd stepped into a road trip movie from the 80s: sweet old man at the front desk, bedsheets older than I am. None of this was necessarily a bad thing! I've stayed at plenty of "dive" motels before but none of them had this movie-type quality. I wasn't expecting it. On a more serious note, the room was comfortable, although it smelled a bit stuffy when we arrived (it seemed like no one had stayed in there for a while). Also, it was clear by the parking lot that we were the only guests that night. But it was clean and cozy, and checking in and out was a snap.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

NO Free Breakfast

Posted Aug 22, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mardelfrom Kadoka

Finding Motel

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
GPS can't find the motel. A note saying "right off exit 150 on I-90" and a large sign advertising their motel would have greatly helped us find them. TV is hard to see from beds or chairs. Nice stay and good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Terryfrom Denver

South Dakota Smiles

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Dakota Inn exceeded my expectations for a "mature" motel in the middle of nowhere. While the exterior definitely needs attention (and paint), the room was large, comfortable, and clean...if a bit weirdly designed. (The bathroom was in between the two beds, and the decidedly non-HD TV was mounted on a swivel so it could be viewed from one bed or the other, but not both.) South Dakota in August is home to an abundance of flies, etc. (which is not the hotel's fault), so the provided flyswatter came in handy for the pests that followed us into the room. The window A/C cooled things off quickly, and I slept in absolute comfort. The proprietors were delightfully charming geriatrics, and the check-in process consisted of me saying my name and him tossing me a room key. To me, this experience is what rural America is all about. It ain't the Marriott, but I loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom U.K.

Striking distance from Badlands N.P.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Good value.
Location: Restaurant on site is usable.
Touring South Dakota at Sturgis time wasn't well-planned, but hotels like this one made the trip manageable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Carla Truaxfrom Los angeles

Skip it

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Skip this place. Very rude operators, creepy old furniture in rooms. Bathroom was fine except no shampoo provided.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Worst than Iraq.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing!!!!!!!
Cons: This place should not be on your list of recommendation. It's filthy, unsafe, dilapidated , unsanitary, need I go on.
Location: Camping.
I had better accommodation in tent city in Iraq then this place. Wouldn't recommend this place to my enemy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Rick & Chickiefrom Iowa the good four letter word

A great place to stay for Sturgis Motorcycle rally

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here before and really like the Home like, Retro feel.. A mom & pop motel with that down home atmosphere. Motel has Clean and Comfy rooms that make you want to kick off your shoes and stay awhile.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Could be friendlier.

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I kind of knew what I was getting. I actually spent time in the hotel as a child when friends owned it. I remember when the pool was pristine. It's run down and dated and the pool is covered with plastic now. At $80 I was expecting more but considering it's tourist season... The room was spotless although very dated. It served our purpose for a night's rest on our way home from a wedding. When I came to check in I was greeted by a gruff elderly male who's first words were "why are you so late?" (it was 11 pm) and his second words were, "leave the key in the box when you leave" and he went back to his office. So, I won't be staying there again. But if you have too, it's OK.