Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel with nice beach across the street

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I checked in quite late at night (nearly midnight - which we pre-arranged) and when we arrived the person at the front desk gave us a plate of delicious food to take to our room, just figuring we might be hungry. It's touches like that which separate basic hotel service from real excellence in hospitality. Everything else to do with the hotel was great. Only stayed there 2 brief nights, so didn't get in the pool, or explore many of the amenities. But overall I'd highly recommend just based on the level of service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

very nice and warm hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: food and staff
Cons: the rooms
Location: very good beaches around the hotel
very good atmosphere and best half board ever.good food and very nice staff usually helpful, especially the women at the kids club who made babysitting for my kids and was lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MCP from London

Stay in deluxe room

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The deluxe room was very comfortable. Decoration was good. The location was good for us - with a scooter to go around.
Cons: More fruit at breakfast. Proper/real orange juice. Dinner was acceptable but not good compared to the island standards.
Location: Pereybere and Grand Baie have some nice restaurants. Ocean Spirit in Pereybere is a nice diving centre. Hotel snorkeling trip is great.
We stayed in the hotel for 6 nights - the first of which in a superior room (they had no deluxe rooms available because of flight cancellations and offered us a massage (very good one by the way!) as compensation) and the next 5 in a deluxe room. First advice - stay in a deluxe room - they are much, much nicer! The hotel beach is not that bad but nothing great, so it is better to rent a car or a scooter and discover the island. The hotel is near Pereybere - you can walk for around 25 minutes - where there is a nice beach, some good diving shops and some restaurants. It is away from the crowds, in a quiet area. We ate at the hotel restaurant once - acceptable but not that good. There are a lot of better restaurants in Pereybere (5 minutes by scooter) and Grand Baie (10 minutes). Breakfast was good. If you want to stay in a resort all day, this is not the place for you (go to Trou aux Biches or Belle Mare beaches - much nicer), but a deluxe room makes a nice (and reasonably priced for the island) resting place for some trips around the north.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from UK

Nice hotel but surprised beach over road

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Hotel swimming pool
Cons: Reception staff. Shower cleanliness
Location: The location was fine and the beach was very good but we had to cross the main road to get to it
good overall hotel facilities but food poor in the evning
2 out of 5
by chris from surrey

Lovely hotel shame about the rest

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: The look ,how very clean it was and the staff.
Cons: Cleaner kitchen,less children ,new cushions for sunbed and wi fi to be able to check in flights on return and printer.
Location: location not bad to catch a bus or walk along the beach day time but at night no foot paths and a good walk.
Hotel really lovely clean and pretty.Pool dirty as the children run onto grass borders then into pool with dirty feet.Sunbed cushions could do with being renewed In 2 weeks holiday sent back dirty knife twice spoon plate and a glass. Children ran around really load and no rules applied .Too many children for such a small pool/hotel . wi fi what wi fi ? Food most the same buffet then New Year when we paid extra really nice.A little to far out to eat out every night and costly with cabs as buses only run till 7pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by selebi from winnipeg

Comfortable hotel next to beach

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: Setting, staff, comfort
Cons: Organise breakfast staff so one person is responsible for a task.
Location: Beach is on other side of road. Grand bay is ten minutes away. While nothing next door nothing is far either. Carried useful
Hotel location is very good with private beach and free kyaks, snorkeling glass bottom boat etc. Rooms well maintained and spotless. Would go again Only slight downside is lack of organisation at breakfast. Need to ask for a glass. Bowl, teaspoon most days but this is small. Overall is very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pleasant hotel that punches above its 3* rating

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Nice general atmosphere.
Cons: It's not swish, but has everything you need.
Location: A small, but pretty beach. Grand Baie is fine if you want a slightly busier place. We did need to hire a car as we wanted to do things further afield
Fine, friendly with nice staff and a good atmosphere. Dinner and bar prices a little expensive but that's to be expected as they're 'tourist' rather than local rates. Definitely worth getting the deluxe rooms as the others are rather worn, although still perfectly clean and adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dawn from Australia

Fantastic staff & service

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel gardens are kept extremely well, all the staff are very curteous & very helpful always smiling, we very much enjoyed our stay & met some amazing people, enjoyed the entertainment every night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, relaxing place in great location

Posted Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Small, friendly hotel. Rooms spacious and well maintained.
Location: Bain Boeuf, quiet location on the beach but with easy access by local bus or taxi to busier areas of Pereybere, and Grand Baie.
A lovely small complex in a quiet area in the north of the island which feels better than it's 3* rating. We stayed in the small block 600, which was away from the bar so not disturbed by evening music. There is the road, already commented on by other reviewers but we were never disturbed by this. We initially booked b & b, but added dinners as no restaurants in the area. Both breakfast and dinners were on buffet basis, with wide variety of dishes. Our room was lovely and bright, and room kept spotlessly keen. The pool area was well maintained although we tended to use the beach more as never tired of the view. Also went out in the glass bottom boat and kayaks (both free).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by She-Ra from London, UK

Still wonderful second time around

Posted May 5, 2012
Pros: Friendliness of staff, food and location not necessarily in that order
Location: Outside the main centres of activity along that part of the coast which provides space to relax and enjoy.
This was the second time we stayed in this hotel. The work they did to rennovate was well done. It is still a lovely hotel which feels more intimate due to the fact that the rooms are arranged like small terraced, two-level houses in lovely gardens. This hotel is away from the busier Pereybere and even busier Grand Bay. They have added some activities every day which you can join if you want, most of which are free. The staff are friendly and helpful whether you are trying to find out about the small hedgehog in the grounds or the bus to take to Grand Bay or Grand Gaube. They even make sure that you get across the road okay to go to the beach. The food on the buffet in the evening catered for both carnivores and vegetarians with both starters and mains, never mind the desert selection. Hope to go back again at some point.