Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Harshpreet from New Delhi

Great Staff

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is always ready to help you. We had issues with food we ordered and they were happy to replace the dish. The location is great to enjoy the calm beach or catch a Taxi to go to Senegambia. If you are going for work, the place is recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Staff friendly, beach great
Cons: Plumbing, general maintenance
Location: Calypso bar next door very good
Great beach, great staff, poor breakfast, poor plumbing
1 out of 5
by KMan2011 from UK

Will you definitely get to stay there when you arrive? We didn't

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Cons: Management
Location: We weren't allowed to stay there
We weren't allowed to stay there. When we arrived, we were informed of overbooked and shipped to another hotel 20min drive away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by George

Excellent

Posted Jan 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a large hotel complex with neatly manicured lawn and palm trees in the gardens. The beach is a minute away and the craft markets and other attractions are walking distance away. I had lunch there once, the grilled fish was fantastic, and the breakfast is great too with plenty of choice. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious with a good safe in the rooms. Only downside is the bed was a little soft. Staff are great too. Right outside you have the official guides, and it's difficult to go anywhere alone. The cheaper yellow taxis aren't allowed here in the tourist zone so you might have to walk further to catch one. There really isn't much wrong with this place and was perfect for two days for me, before venturing up river.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Incredibly Poor Hotel Management

Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at the Ocean Bay 2 years ago and liked the hotel but standards appear to have slipped dramatically. The root cause appears to be incompetent reception staff and room booking procedures that mean that guests do not get the room they have booked. In my case when I arrived i had to wait for 2 hrs before I was given my room key with no explanation why. When I got to the room it was a smoking room that stank of cigarettes, despit me putting non smoking on my booking and registration form at the hotel. After complaining did get another room but that did not become available for another 2 hrs. Others in my party had similar experiences with one person not getting a room and having to share with a friend! Throughout my stay, there was a continual line of unhappy guests at reception who had not got the rooms they had booked . Will not be staying there again when I return to Gambia - book at your risk!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by David from Scotland, UK

The place to go for a hotel at Cape Point

Posted Nov 18, 2012
An excellent hotel, with good rooms and extremely friendly and curtious staff. Not 5 star by European standards by any means but a very good quality african hotel. Cape Point is a very good location, with a few restaurents, bars, and a small market and money changer nearby. £1 beer between 5:30pm and 6:30pm each day during happy hour and evening entertainment each evening (if that is your thing). Also a choice of two restuarents and an form of all inclusive option is also on offer (not my thing at all - but seemed popular!)
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ranji. V

Posted Jul 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
The 5 star rating is definitely misleading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted May 16, 2012
Great location on the beach. Very nice staff... very helpful in all aspects... good breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Smiling Coast

Posted Feb 27, 2012
I was not completely satisfied because first when I booked I had asked for 1 bed but I had two twin beds. The bathroom tiles were lose and the shower was not really clean on the walls. When I checked out, I was not given AN INVOICE