Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Different than expedia's description

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Room is clean
Cons: Windows so the noise can be blocked better
Location: Bad location due to train tracks right next to the hotel
King bed wanted. Paid for the king bed room but the hotel said it is not available. Also they said they cannot guarantee if I book it through Expedia. Also it is close to the train tracks and hear through the windows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your post and candid feedback. I want to thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest. I'm sorry you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. I can assure you that when converting the hotel to Marriott we took a lot of extra measures to make the building as sound proof as possible due to our proximity to the train. We do hope you will give us another try next time you are in town; we will do our best to have you in a King room away from the Train. It is through your valuable feedback that we can continue to improve. Regards, Carlos Navarro General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Home away from home in Bakersfield

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The fact that the fire alarms were pulled several times one night. Evidently by a group visiting the hotel.
Cons: Always room for improvement...but I have no specific improvements to pass on.
Location: The location was very convenient. Within walking distance to the downtown entertainment areas and restaurants. And easy access to the freeways.
The hotel personnel were outstanding, very service minded, courteous, and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the facility well maintained. Counter employees greeted me with a large smile, ask about my rewards points and assisted me at every turn. The bar and restaurant menu choices were great, and Kasey made anyone feel at home in the bar area. She knew most of her clients by name...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Nice room in great central location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Very clean, friendly & helpful staff
Location: Located in downtown Bakersfield, next to Convention Center
Staff was friendly and helpful upon check-in & check-out. Clean lobby and well kept room. I highly recommend this hotel for the business traveler
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Greeted by 4 star bellman.@ Chk in "pool closed!"

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Loved the beds! Comfort plus with the soft linens and pillows. Room service was on time and menu offered a lot of variety.
Cons: Closets in room are small and doors slam shut on you. Be careful! No 'fridge!
After a 5 hour drive we checked in to find that the pool was closed. Thursday and Friday. The reason we chose this property was for the pool! While I expressed my discontent the young woman did nothing to offer to ease the pain of the experience except to ask if we still wanted to check into our two rooms or go somewhere else. One room had already been pre-paid. At the time I think a cool beverage or a fruit plate might have been more in order. Or a dinner or something to compensate for amenities listed online not being available at the property as stated. I also had confirmed this by phone. Change gears to the young man that came to the room to help with the AC. He was pleasant and fixed the vents.The room service staff and food ...wonderful! Carlos who helped with our luggage when we left was a delight... the restaurant The Nines was perfect. Staff there also friendly and helpful. Very welcoming. The bar and the food was also a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Everyhting!
Cons: Clean the swimming pool and another bartender on staff on weekend nights. The one bartender seemed overwhelmed.
Location: Went to watch George Lopez at Rabobank Arena
My fiance and I stayed at The Marriott for two nights. The room was very nice, the bed extremely comfortable. The restaurant breakfast buffet was amazing, particularly the omelet and fresh fruit. The fitness room was very clean and roomy, equipped very nicely. The bar has great drinks and a comfy lounge Overall, we had a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Holly from Huntington Beach

Close to work site and restaurants

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly and helpful hotel staff. All in all a perfect stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mandy from SLO

Ok

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had to wait 20 mins past check in time to get room. AC unit was not working so could not sleep cause it was too hot in the room! Parking was terrible at night time. Not sure the "queen" beds were actually "queen" size either. Is only good if you are going to an event at the convention center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Airica, Hotel Management
Dear Mandy, Thank you for taking the time to create a review for the Bakersifeld Marriott. Please accept our apologies for any inconviences that you may have experienced during your stay. with us. Here ate the Marriott, we strive to treat all ofour guests with the utmost attention and respect that they deserve. Unfortunaltely we did not live up to your expectations, let alone our own. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us. Sincerely, Airica Belis Guest Satisfaction Survey Coach Bakersifeld Marriott at the Convention Center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by papillo

Nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful

Posted May 27, 2014
My son is a toddler so he loved that there was a traintrack behind the hotel, he would climb on the chair all the time hoping to see one. Trains dont use the horn in this area though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good time

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent time. Dinner in the resturant the nines was wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2014
Very friendly and efficient hotel staff. Fun bar and bartender.