Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

Central location

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Good location, nice amenities.
Location: Homey Basque restaurants, movie theaters, "Ice Palace," convention center...
We picked this hotel mostly for its location, close to some of Bakersfield's famous Basque restaurants. It's next door to the convention center and to the Amtrak station so it's a great location for business travelers. (My travel companion enjoyed seeing the many trains go by, barely audible.) The staff were very helpful, printing out a map to one restaurant and marking the locations of some personal favorites. My companion made good use of the pool and spa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Maria, CA

Good location for concert

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer relations
Location: Rabo arena
Staff was generally helpful and courteous, except for the jerk at the bar. We were advised the restaurant was all reserved but they would serve off the menu at the bar. We asked and they rudely said no, not an apology or rec for a closeby restaurant, just a refusal with attitude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback! We greatly appreciate that you took some time to leave us feedback about your experience! I truly appreciate all the insight and suggestions you recommended to us! Our team is always striving to better accommodate our guests needs and it is clear we failed on your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the service you encountered it is never our intention for any guest to go thru that type of experience. The information you provided has created opportunities for us to improve our hotel, I humbly ask that you give us another chance if your travels bring you back to Bakersfield. Sincerely Carlos Navarro General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Customer service is not great at all

Posted Mar 30, 2015
customer service sucks...train is right infront of the hotel that its hard to sleep...im from san jose with family of 4
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to court house

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: clean, nice restaurant
Location: court
quick stay. nice restaurant. We were there for a court appearance and this was nice and close. It was also a nice hotel compared to most nearby the courthouse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Inland Empire, CA

Problem with Rollaway Bed

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Hotel is clean, modern and located close to downtown Bakersfield and the Kern County Fairgrounds. Hotel restaurant was very good, but pricey.
Location: Location is right next to the Bakersfield Convention Center and short drive from Kern County Fairgrounds which has a swap meet on weekends..
I booked two rooms with double Queen beds and a roll away bed in one of the rooms. When we arrived at the hotel, the desk clerk advised us that they were not able to place a rollaway bed in the same room with two queen beds due to fire regulations. What was offered, was a room with king size bed and a sofa bed. That meant two of the three people had to sleep in the king bed which did not make them happy. Expedia.com needs to be updated to reflect this limitation so that bookings requesting a roll away with two queen beds are not accepted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marin County

All around great!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Stayed for a weekend in March of 2015. Really nice hotel, located very close to all the cool downtown shops and restaurants. Staff were polite and friendly at all times. I ate dinner in the Nines restaurant on night and it was excellent. The server was exceptional. Room was more than comfortable, in fact it was luxurious. Two big thumbs up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lodi ca

Loved it!

Posted Mar 15, 2015
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hemet, CA

Good Hotel With A Couple Of Problems

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: About six block away is an improving, trendy central downtown. This area is light years better than it was a decade ago.
I've stayed at this hotel before. Parking can be a problem if there is an event at the arena next door. When I arrived at 3:00 pm (check-in time) my room wasn't ready. I had to wait a bit, which was annoying after having made a long drive. I wanted to get right to my room. Also, I asked for a wake-up call and that never came. If I would have had a plane to catch that could have been a problem. These were not issues on my previous visit. On the plus side, the staff is really friendly and accommodating, the hotel is clean and well maintained, and the room was very comfortable. I would stay here again despite the two problems mentioned.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Palmdale, CA

Do Not Recommend - parking impossible

Posted Mar 2, 2015
We have stayed at this hotel for years and the last two times we, as hotel guests, have been unable to park because of events they are hosting. They give no priority to hotel guests. Our first night on this trip we spent 20-25 minutes driving around to find a legal parking spot which is just unacceptable (they had parking lot attendants parking folks in all of the red zones which they assured me was legal since it was private property - the Bkaersfield police had a different opinion). Our second night we ended up checking out and driving nearly two hours home in bad weather at 8pm rather than fighting for a legal parking spot - to pack up our room we had to take turns so that one of us could stay with our unparkable vehicle. As I stood there checking out and complaining to an employee at least 6 other folks complained and they could only say "sorry you are having a bad day" and the only thing they could offer was the event would be over in a couple of hours and that they would have employees move their vehicles to give hotel guests their spots. Then the employee rudely said to me that I paid through Expedia implying they could not give a refund for the night we were not going to stay - never asked or implied I was due compensation for leaving at 8pm although that certainly is the least they could have done. Completely disgusted and will never stay there again nor recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Carlos Navarro, General Mgr., Hotel Management
Dear Jill G. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced while parking with us. Here at the Marriott we strive to treat all of our guests with the utmost respect and attention that they deserve. Unfortunately, we did not live up to your expectations let alone our own. I will use your feedback as a training tool for our team members. I know it was an error in our part when it comes to managing our parking lot, and I hope this does not change your impression of every Marriott. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your feedback. Sincerely Carlos Navarro General Manager Bakersfield Marriott Report response as inappropriate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom visalia

Nice

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Nice, friendly hotel. Very busy, I hate to do surveys that force me to write something to complete!!!