Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Amazing place to stay

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The Padre is a luxury oasis in Bakersfield. The rooms are creatively designed and fun. The hotel is amazingly affordable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood

Didn't have a frig in the room? Incompetent staff

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Competent valet parking staff.
Location: Good location
Valet guy came back after 15 min waiting for him & said he cannot drive stick shift?!!!. My car is not stick it's an automatic?!!!! He handed me the key & gave me direction to go get my car myself?!!! I'm not sure why I paid for valet parking?!!! The room didn't have a Refrigirator?!!! We asked for one & they brought one to our room that smelled like fish!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
No doubts best hotel in Bakersfield. Great vibe,nice people & good food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Highly recommend

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The service, food, cleanliness
Cons: The night club
We enjoyed the overall experience. The food was great, room was comfy, service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Bakersfield Steps Up

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The design and details. The room was elegant, throughout.
Cons: We were happy. There are more casual, less expensive hotels in Bakersfield, but this is the one for the important meeting or special occasion.
Location: The Kern County Museum outdoor exhibits are very interesting and worthwhile.
This is one of the nicest surprises of Bakersfield. It is up there with any of the fine hotels we've patronized in New York, Chicago, or San Francisco. The details are there, in the contemporary design, the service, and the staff. We were impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Spud Daddy from Canada

Great stay at The Padre!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Valet parking can be a little slow if you are in a hurry - just plan for it.
Love this hotel. I would have been 5 stars across the board except for the parking which is valet only and can be a bit inconvenient if you are in a rush. Rooms are modern and well appointed. Plenty of of choice for in hotel food and the neighborhood is loaded with great other options. We won't stay anywhere else when visiting Bakersfield in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from San Diego, Ca

Great Stay!

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The king sized bed was very comfortable!
Cons: The only negative was the lighting in the room, very dim coupled with no shelf in the shower to out soap etc. had to leave it on the floor.
Location: In the middle of Down town a very classy hotel. Lots of food and drink nearby
I had the larger room that was a corner unit with three large window, great view of down town. I would recommend a corner unit. The bar on the 2nd floor was very nice, a break from the noise and crowed downstairs bar, the beer and wine could have been colder, the bartender said they were having problems with that. I didn't have a chance to experience the cuisine, I was out before 6am back around 9pm but I heard from other clients it was worth trying. Parking is Valet only at $10. per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deluchi

Just where you want to be

Posted Jun 18, 2014
My stay at the Padre was awesome staff are great except one man at the reception desk at night or early in the morning who doesn't know what he is doing. Great restaurants to eat good music. Bed room are so comfortable and always clean. I will definitely stay here again when I am in bakersfield
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from PMC, CA

Great place...very trendy.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Decor and amenities.
Cons: Parking.
Location: Fox Theater and Rabobank arena.
Wow, lots of restaurant options, very trendy. Loved our room. Very clean, comfortable and accommodating. My only issue was parking, especially if you are not a fan of valet parking. Not enough to keep us away. Looking forward to our next stay. Expedia saved us money!!
4 out of 5
by Female traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel - the area, not so much

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The staff, the room, the shower
Location: Location is sketchy. Lots of things to do nearby if one is looking for more "fringe" pursuits.
If only I could transplant this hotel to a nicer part of town - although this is Bakersfield we're talking about. The staff were AWESOME...from the front desk, to the valet to the servers in the restaurant...everyone was simply wonderful. The accommodations were great. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was one of the better showers I've encountered in a hotel. However, as a woman traveling alone for business, the area was a little sketchy. Ok, ALOT sketchy. I cannot recommend the hotel for this reason. A real shame because I would totally stay here again if this place wasn't in this location.