Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristin from Perth WA, Australia

Older style hotel, small pool, clean rooms

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: Loved the turtles that they breed here, and the dogs they have adopted. Massage ladies on beach. Good comfortable bed.
Cons: Pool small and wait long time for drinks, no Wifi area or in rooms, just near restaurant.
Location: Location good, right on beach.
Older Bali style hotel. Rooms were clean & large, good comfortable bed, no safe in room. Gardens nice, staff mostly nice, small pool with swim up bar that closes at 6pm and the drinks aren't made there so you have to wait a fair while unless you want something premixed or beer. Good area on beach with no hassle and great massage ladies on beach. Wouldn't recommend families, mainly older couples or adult groups. Come here if you want to relax and have a quiet place to do it. Overall nothing wrong with this hotel, I have stayed nicer for same price. Seems most people that come here are return customers that like the older style, more simpler hotels and the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colin from Brighton

Good Hotel located on beach

Posted Dec 14, 2012
Pros: The beach location and central to the resort.
Cons: We stayed when half full, and enough loungers for everyone. If full, there would be a shortage of pool / beach loungers, the main reason for staying.
Location: Excellent. Directly on the beach and main entrance near good place to eat and or drink or shop.
We have stayed three times before and booked again. Then I was concerned about some of the reviews. Stayed in early December 2012 and found it probably less than half full. The hotel is directly on the beach and we sat around the pool or on the beach loungers on the shaded beach. The room 233 was upstairs and had all the usual facilities, incl English speaking TV programmes, they provided a kettle and cups, but you need your own tea and coffee (suprising its not provided for a hotel of this price). The room was clean, comfortable bed etc. I thought it was very acceptable. My only concern is that the hotel has become quite expensive compared to others. I would look at other seaside located hotels and compare prices. If you get a good price go for it, if others are about the same then consider them. This is a perfectly good hotel, just need to make sure it is value for money compared to others. It is also getting harder to book via Hotel web sites, often can only book direct, which is more expensive. Web sites show it as full or not available, when it is less than half full. Again a perfectly good hotel if the price is right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Besakih Hotel review

Posted Dec 1, 2012
Pros: Ideal location. 2 swimming pools.
Cons: Reception staff and staff at breakfast not very helpful. Breakfast is limited. Not enough deck chairs.
Location: On the beach. Close to good restaurants and sports bars.
Superior bungalows are lovely and less noisy than standard rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Cairns QLD, Australia

Best Position in Saur

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: The beachfront is beautiful
Cons: The condition of the bathroom and not being able to have a decent shower
Location: The location is perfect. One step out the gate and you have all the restaurants and spas.
We were initially a bit shocked when we were shown our room as we had just been staying in a beautfiul little hotel in Amed for the same price. The worst thing was being hit by the smell of toilet disinfectant block which permeated the whole room. The bathroom was in dire need of an upgrade. There was mould on the walls and the curtain smelled mouldy. No matter how hard we tried we couldn't get a comfortable water temperature out of the shower. It was either scalding hot or freezing cold. Having said this the hotel definitely has a friendly air. The position of this hotel is second to none in Sanur. The beach is picture perfect with plenty of sun loungers and trees. We looked at all the hotels on Sanur beach and this was the best beach. The hotel is perfectly placed for restaurants and spas. The gardens a very pretty and so is the pool. There was not much choice for breakfast but it was sufficient. There was a very grumpy male staff member in the restaurant and the receptions staff were a bit disinterested. The average age of the clientele was around 55. We were given a superior room as a courtesy room to shower in before going to the airport. I would definitely pay a little extra for a superior room as it was so much nicer than the standard room. Not really being able to swim in the sea was a disappointment. The tide was so far out most of the time. Walking in a few inches of water on sharp coral is about all you can do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kerry and Fred

good location with pool overlooking the beach

Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was our fifth stay in 5 years. Quite, friendly, popular with older Australians. This older hotel needs a bit of upgrading considering they are increasing their rates and the main pool is small. Breakfast okay.Rent a bike or walk along the beach path without being hassled to buy as in Kuta/Legian area. Lots of good cheap restaurants, minimarts and shops in main street all in easy walking distance of this hotel. We will return next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Perth Australia

Quiet and serene villa style hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2012
Pros: Quiet and relaxing hotel in great location
Cons: The breakfast could use improvement
Location: Perfect location in the heart of Sanur with the pool right on the beach. It's perfect for young and old
Great hotel, lovely welcoming and helpful staff. Only fault would be that the breakfast wasn't the best but the restaurant was right on the beach which was nice. The location is ideal as it is right between the beach and the main street where all the pubs, shops and restaurants were. I have stayed at Besakih before and definitely will again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacqui from Adelaide SA 5000, Australia

Traditional Balinese hospitality

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Pros: Position, comfort, friendly staff
Location: Right on the beach, easy walking distance to markets and lots of great restaurants.
Very friendly, comfortable and welcoming traditional Balinese style hotel complex. Luxurious garden setting with pleasant spacious bungalow rooms and traditional beach-side bar/restaurant and pools. The staff were all so friendly, happy and helpful and the Besakih is perfectly situated in Sanur to try all the great restaurants nearby or wander north or south along the beach or the main shopping/eating strip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lindsay & Ngaire

Close to all facilities

Posted Jul 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a bungalow for 10 days. Staff very friendly and room was clean. Breakfast was included however only cornflakes available as a cereal on request as well as brown bread toast. Otherwise close to many excellent restaurants out in the street. Access to beach and walkway was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Perth WA

Very enjoyable!

Posted Apr 10, 2012
Pros: Pool, gardens and mixed omelettes with chilli!
Cons: We had three in the room and only two matteress's on top of the other were provided for our daughter. She did however say she was comfortable.
Location: Excellent!
This hotel was small and initmate compared with the ones I have stayed in before. This gave it a lovely family feel. Breakfast was enjoyable and the restuarant view superb. I just loved the pool and the deck chairs right on the beach. Emmi and the other ladies gave a wonderful massage under the palm trees on the beach of only $5 AUD! We got up early each morning to watch the sunrise. Sanur is a lovely part of Bali and I would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Sydney

Good value hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2012
Pros: very good central location on beach front
Cons: Poor weather but can't blame hotel for that
Location: excellent close to beach restaurants and shops
Avery pleasant place in a great location and very good facilities for what we wanted - a nice relaxing beach front stay.