Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pates from Honolulu, HI

A four-star hotel that has all the amenities.

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Older Villa hotel has aged well.
Cons: Since it is an older villa some of the amenities are starting to show their age (e.g. the hot tub did not work, but a huge bath tub made up for it).
Location: Close to the village of Ubud...all types of shops from high end to trinkets. The Natl. Monkey Forest is an easy walk from the village.
Great experience. their private tour packages were reasonable *about $35 pp for all day) and the drivers are very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sean from Raleigh, NC

Exceptionaly staff & jungle views

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super attentive staff - made you feel extra special. The dining view is to die for & the spa was amazing. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zeina from sydney

Sensational

Posted Jan 2, 2014
This hotel was amazing the little special touches spoke so much. I would highly recommend this hotel to honeymooners or to anybody who wants a secluded hideaway with every comfort you can ask for. The hotel overlooks the river and from most rooms especially the villas you get some amazing views. The only thing I would probably warn others is that the walking to your room and to the facilities can be a bit strenuous on your legs but for us it was not a problem as we enjoyed keeping fit but you do have an alternative of using the hotel buggy. I commend the management on the wonderful staff and service we experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Adelaide, South Australia

Paradise

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff and service. Everything you need. Close to town, but far enough to feel like it is remote.
Cons: Later shuttle bus runs for after dinner.
Location: Ubud is a hard working farming and art region. Nearby treks, rafting and bicycle tours cater for many types of people. Temples and religion everywhere
The view of the Agung River from the hotel is amazing. The staff are the friendliest people you will meet, and they will do anything to help and make your stay comfortable. The free shuttle (hourly 9am-5pm) is perfect to get into the main hub of Ubud. The hotel will help book any tours or treks, and will go out of their way to make sure getting places is no hassle. Out room had its own private pool, but the main pool is excellent as well, to stretch out and swim. The restaurant is expensive compared to places in Ubud, however it would be on par with surrounding resorts (it is not expensive for Australian standards).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Private pool

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Cons: the bed is a bit soft.
Good view from the pool, but a bit small. However it is private use, but area on top can see you. It will be perfect if it is covered or blocked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from California

Luxurious!

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is normally out of our price range, but we got a deal online. The grounds are spectacular and overlook a river jungle. The hotel is located a bit outside of Ubud, but we borrowed the complimentary bikes and rode into town (not the easiest ride home though). We were assigned a butler for the day who helps with whatever we needed. The rooms were very nice and ours overlooked a pool. The food was delicious and we enjoyed eating at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The hotel can help arrange various activities for you, including a few hikes, rafting, and a Balinese cooking class. If we could afford it, we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheena from Melbourne, Australia

Ubud haven

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Initially upon arriving we had a couple of issues, but the resort promptly rectified the situation and from there our stay was lovely.... We booked a "barong" via Expedia not realising that this was not in fact one of the resorts many villas, but actually just a studio style room located in a block right by the pool. When we arrived there was also building work going on right beside the room we had been allocated. As we were travelling with our 4 month old this really wasn't suitable at all. To the resorts credit, once we pointed out our concerns about the noise to our host, she quickly set about finding a solution and we ended up being moved to one of their villas in a much more suitable location. Service was great with all the staff being really helpful and so genuinely excited to accommodate a baby; the food was nice, with breakfast on the terrace a wonderful way to start the day; the (free) shuttle into Ubud comfortable and efficient. The pool area could maybe do with a bit more of a flourish/service, but there's so much to do in Ubud that this was only a minor detraction. Would stay at Kupu Kupu again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel, excellent service

Posted Oct 27, 2013
The hotel staff could not do enough for you to make you feel very special. They thought of every need before you did! Stunning hotel and grounds. A truely relaxing & magical experience. Very well located to explore Ubud, just a short shuttle ride away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Caspar from Newcastle

Fantastic view

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is built above the Ayun River with extremely beautiful view from our balcony. The service was excellent. Everything is perfect for a romantic getaway. The only disappointment is during we stay they were switching their internet provider, so the internet was down for several days. And we really needed internet to complete our online scuba diving course before we go diving. And the SPA by L'OCCITANE was fully booked. You need to book days in advance. But I do recommend the SPA