Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Peter from Perth

Beautiful View

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic views, fantastic service. Room was huge, verandah needs some work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Perth WA, Australia

Relaxing romantic stay with a view

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: The magnificent view as well as the excellent service!
Cons: The toilet paper - barely 2 play but it was common all over Bali
Location: 15min away from Ubud markets
We really enjoyed our stay at Kupa Kupa Barong. The villa was completely private with a magnificent view. We had complimentary water and fruit in our room as well as complimentary afternoon tea every day. The staff went out of their way to make our stay special. The food in the hotel's restaurant was excellent especially the breakfast! We would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to spend some quality time with each other.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rick from Sunningdale, Windsor and Maidenhead SL5, UK

A real find!

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Pros: The wrap around windows in our room and the view they opened out to.
Cons: Room was quite a distance from main facility, however, a golf cart (buggy) was always a phone call away and we never had to wait more than 5 minutes
Location: Great locale once you get there - about an hour and 20 minutes from the airport, however, worth it as you get a real flavour for the island.
Beautiful views, wonderful staff,excellent food. This was a special find and my wife and I enjoyed ourselves immensely. The staff could not have been better, down to every single individual - attentive, friendly, and interested in providing service that was dedicated to helping you to enjoy your holiday. Great location for access to explore the island, or alternatively, a wonderful place to relax and never leave. Spa services and facility were outstanding. Treat yourself to this special retreat, you won't be sorry!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A Todd

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Incredible!!

Posted Dec 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
A world class hotel and location. Could not have been happier with our time spent at Kupu Kupu. Ayung River Villa #34 - the ultimate in romance, relaxation, beauty, privacy, and luxury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing views

Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Amazing hotel. We would highly recommend it to others. Especially for a honeymoon or romantic holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Beijing

A perfect Bali experience

Posted Feb 16, 2008
Kupu Kupu Barong is a wonderful place, ideally located overlooking the lush Ayung River valley, with beautiful villas and lovely, personal service. Very romantic, very restful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

AMAZING!!!!!

Posted Jul 4, 2007
I stayed at the Kupu Kupu with a female friend. Having booked through expedia in my name, on arrival there was a little confusion & the hotel thought we were a couple (which we realised when shown the incredibly romantic villa!). We explained we were not a couple & would like a twin room. The hotel staff were very professional and quick to resolve the issue. We were moved to a deluxe pool villa which was twice the size of my London flat. The decor and villa facilities were superb & the service absolutely second to none. The spa treatments were fantastic (between us we sampled the body scrubs, massage, shirodara, reflexology, green tea facials and the cream bath) all of which are carried out in semi-openair treatment rooms. To top this off, the idillic setting in the middle of the balinese rainforest is really unbeatable particularly if your holiday aim is one of relaxation. I would definately go back (next year in fact!)