Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by holly from southampton

Amazing staff

Posted May 11, 2014
Fantastic hotel and the most amazing staff! We booked a pool view room. Only down side was there was work going on next door and was really noisy! We asked to be moved and they did say they would upgrade us to a room away from the noise. We did look at it but we didn't think the room was as nice, so we decided to stay in the one we had. It looks like the work will be going on for quite a while, so take this into consideration if booking a pool view room.The pool we practically had to ourself and was lovely. It could do with cleaning each morning as flowers floating it in because they had fallen from the trees over night - But not a big issue. The only other down side to booking a pool room is you don't get the view you get if you book a villa, but obviously this is a lot more expensive. Over all the room was great, food was lovely and staff were amazing. If you can afford it then book a villa to get the view as it really is amazing! It is too far to walk to anything but the hotel does provide a shuttle bus that goes every hour from the hotel between 9-5 for free so that was good. Its a shame it doesn't do it later but you can just get a taxi back for about £4 after 5pm. We ate in ubud most nights as its cheaper and lots of choice!
4 out of 5
by Fabiana

Lovely peaceful isolated hotel.

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Private Duplex Pool Villa accommodation was large inside and suited our needs - with a teenage son he had his own sleeping area which was ideal.
Cons: Three adults with a relatively small shaded balcony and only two sun beds. The villa pool was cold and shaded - hardly used.
Stayed for 4 nights. Relaxed during the day and went into Ubud for dinner at night. We preferred in Kajane on Monkey Forest Road, Ubud as it's better located for walking out during the day or night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

No words can describe how awesome this hotel is

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed at our villa for three days. If we did not have any activities planned, we would not want to leave our room. Pick villa #34 if you're on your honeymoon! Perfect room, Perfect setting! Management is absolutely wonderful and friendly. We felt like royalty. The only downside to the villa is it's too far from hotel lobby. Everyday we had to hike 10 minutes to get out of the hotel. But it's good exercise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kevin from Puerto Rico

Amazing

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Kupu Kupu Barong is amazing! We visited on out honeymoon and were delightfully suprised with the amazing service. On our trip to Bali we stayed at two different hotels and the service at Kupu Kupu Barong was by far the best. Our room was amazing and we only had a pool view room. Unfortunately there was some construction nearby, but we were outside most of the days. This resort is first class all the way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Singapore

A wonderful week with a disappointing ending

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The staff, the view, the ambience.
Cons: The restaurant was far more expensive than even the good restaurants in Ubud town (such as Casa Luna).
Location: Plenty to do around Ubud, one of my favourite areas in Bali. Many great restaurants and galleries.
Of the resorts around Ubud that we checked out, Kupu Kupu Barong (KKB) had the by far the best view/outlook, and was not so claustrophobic and even caught a breeze most days. The staff were wonderful, friendly and more than helpful. The villa in which we stayed was a bit tired and due for a refit but was nevertheless very comfortable and had an amazing view from every window and from the balcony with the private plunge pool. We stayed a full seven days and were then hit with a USD200 extra charge for late checkout (later reduced to USD180 when we queried). Given that we were long-stay guests and had arrived close to midnight on our first day and so used no resources on Day 1, which I thought would have balanced out, we left with a rather sour ending. Otherwise highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elaine from SE Asia

Very comfortable hotel, very helpful staff

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Level of comfort, helpfulness of staff, position over looking the river, very good breakfast, relaxing if slightly expensive spa!
Cons: Shuttle bus stops at 5pm, would be good if this could be extended to make going out in the evening easy. And a bigger, cheaper range of food!
Location: Lots to see and do in Ubud, shopping, museums,cooking courses, yoga, spas. Bike rides in the countryside.
Looking for a very comfortable hotel for a few days, but one that offered good value for money and trying to pick from the enormous range offered on the Internet, is difficult. I chose Kupu Kupu Barong due to its position, photos, facilities and reviews and certainly wasn't disappointed. It's a little out of town, but they have a complimentary shuttle bus to take you in. I paid for an upgrade, which off season, proved to only add a little extra to the total cost and was well worth it, particularly to see the look on our daughter's face when she saw pictures of our private pool and realised she had passed up the opportunity to come with us! The staff were very helpful and friendly but not intrusive. The wifi didn't work well in our room, but this was easily resolved. Only complaint would be the pricing of the food and some of the extras. This is definitely a more upmarket hotel, though made affordable by some great off season offers on line, and the prices reflected it. Eating in town was about half the price and excursions booked through the hotel were much more expensive than those booked at travel agents in Ubud. Overall though, a thoroughly relaxing getaway...just choose to go into Ubud for most of your eating or trips! Breakfast is fantastic though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by elis from singapore

simply stunning

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
it is by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in...unique hotel environment, amazing view of the natural surroundings, pleasant service by the staffs, comfortable villa with our own private pool...successfully made us just stay inside the hotel perimeter the whole time from check in to check out (although this is partly due to the location of the hotel which is quite distant from the town area)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MJD

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2014
We had a great stay at Kupu Kupu Barong. We had a minor problem with our booking but the hotel resolved it quickly and we stayed in a beautiful room over looking the river. The hotel staff is excellent, the food was amazing and the scenery was breathtaking! We made good use of the shuttle into the centre of Ubud and when we stayed late we took a taxi back (cost is about $5 USD). Highly reccomend this hotel for its top knotch service and beautiful location. Take note that there is a lot of stairs as it's on a hill side, so may not be ideal for the less than able bodied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chirag from India

Very Romantic

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Superb Awesome & Truly Romantic Best staff made my stay very comfortable Villas are awesome...especially the plunge pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zoe Heath

An excellent stay staff couldn't do any more!

Posted Mar 1, 2014
We stayed at Kupu Barong for 6 days. The staff were very attentive and always made sure you were comfortable. They are the friendliest people I've ever met. We booked our day trips through the hotel which were always well organised. One of the best holidays we've ever had! Will definitely be visiting again!