Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Away from the crowds!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: quiet
Location: There are lots of local warungs, even a vegan restaurant If you are really hanging out for western food there is a starbucks and MacDonalds (10 mins)
This hotel is located about a 30 min walk to the beach next to an abandoned rice paddy, so there is a lot of green and its quiet, away from the main roads. There is however a shuttle bus to the beach that runs every hour and will do pick ups which you arrange at reception before you leave. Around the area (out of sight of the hotel) are some metal and plastic recycling depots which you may not like. We hired a scooter from the hotel very cheaply and used this hotel as our base for travelling around Bali. There are no hawkers in the area so that was a relief. Whether you decide on this spot depends on how keen you are to be close to the beach but remember close to the beach means more expensive and crowds and hawkers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan Frederick from Melton mowbray

our stay at the legion

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very helpful And friendly value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from willemstad ( NB)

Basic maar perfect guesthouse !

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Een aanrader voor mensen op door reis of enkele dagen verblijf !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Amazing people, serene location

Posted Feb 5, 2015
As young first time travellers to Bali, we were blown away by the amazing hospitality of the hotel staff! We stayed at Legain Guest House for the entire trip (6 nights 7 days including later check-out at 8pm for $25AUD extra). I booked the standard room, however we were slightly disappointed with the low ceiling (claustrophobic!), and opted to upgrade to the deluxe room (extra $15aud per night) DEFINITELY GO FOR THE DELUXE! Pool side view and the room itself is so much better. Getting to the guest house should cost no more than $10aud from Denpasar airport. Tell the taxi to turn the meter on! Blue Bird taxi company is the best as they always use the meter. The staff greet you and are very helpful and sweet. At one point my partner had fallen ill, and the manager Ketut gave us advice on the cost and what to do- plus he personally drove us to the medical clinic in Kuta !! Amazing. We could not be more greatful. They offer you great day activities with a driver costing ~$60aud depending on where you want to go. This can be discussed the day prior so the driver can prepare for the day. Scooters are also available for hire for $5aud per day. We loved our stay and really miss it! A word of advice: the guest house is 1 min by car off road from the main road. Sometimes taxi drivers don't know where to go. Take a card from the hotel with you so you have the address- remember Nakula Street and you'll be fine!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Nice place, but rather far walk to Legian

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The guesthouse was nice and clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the price was rather good for the amount of days we stayed.
Cons: My only complaint would be the road leading to the guesthouse. If that was sorted, it would make it so much easier for us to walk out on our own.
Location: The guesthouse is about 10-15 minutes away (by car) from Legian. The beach is a little further than that. Prepare for lots of walking and shopping :)
The guesthouse was a nice enough place for our stay. The staff were kind and helpful too. However, we weren't able to be as mobile as we could as the road leading to the guesthouse was constantly flooded and in bad condition. No fault of the guesthouse, of course. But it did factor into our plans to go out. We had no choice but to rely on the guesthouse shuttle all the time. The staff were kind enough to arrange one for us (at the nearest drop-off point) but only at certain times as the traffic was pretty horrid year-end.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Nice relaxed hotel.

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Firstly, this hotel is not correctly located on the Hotels.com website map - but the GPS co-ordinates seem correct. It is on the other side of Sunset Road, which can be very busy as expect traffic delays. The hotel is located down an unpaved side road, which can get muddy in the wet season. As it is not located near main shopping areas or the beach, they offer a free shuttle which is good. The hotel is compact, with a restaurant and has a good pool. The design of the hotel does rely on guests being considerate of others (which did happen on my stay). The rooms were well appointed although international TV channels seemed limited. The staff were very helpful and pleasent. The main problem was with construction next door that went on until well after 11pm. I was moved to another room, which was quieter but the noise was still apparent. Despite the construction, overall, the hotel suited me fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Saved our trip to Bali!

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
Nice room and great staff. They offer free rides to the beach and some times even back to the hotel. You can book tours from the staff. We went for a day trip to Monkey forest, rice terrace, palaces etc. for 600.000rp, which included car and the driver. The Guest House has a little restaurant with ok prices and food. The breakfast was great: bacon, egg, toast, fruits and tea or coffee. Good Wifi in the room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Yi chin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Leigh from Perth, Australia

Budget price with luxury features

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
Wayan and his staff made me feel so welcome and they were very easy to deal with, from communications prior to arriving, to airport pick up, and service while staying there. I stayed in a Deluxe pool side room and the mattress and pillows were the most comfortable I have experienced anywhere!! Its a wee bit out of the way but the shuttle bus goes in daily at 10am and a taxi to cnr Double Six and Jalan Legian is only around $2 AUD. The pool is lovely and the rooms clean. Very affordable and I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels