Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robin from Kuching

value for money

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: I liked its location, clean & comfortable room, restaurant and the swimming pool.
Cons: perhaps a little more lighting on paths within the hotel area. at night it was quite dark.
Location: very centrally located. music cafes and food outlets are plenty nearby. many shops selling a vast varieties of merchandise that suit tourists' taste.
large room, clean and comfortable. centrally located in Ubud town area. nice swimming pool just next to restaurant. friendly staff with service. walking distance to shopping and restaurants of choice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anthony from Melbourne

Only good for certain rooms

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The first room we were shown to was absolutely terrible. Room 314 was located at the bottom of the hill. As soon as you walked in you could smell the mould. The mould was highly visible in each room. Needless to say I requested a new room. The following day we were placed in room 215 just at the top of the hill. It was MUCH better. I have read other reviews that talk of mould in rooms also so insist on a room at the TOP of the hill. Any room number below 215 would be fine. The service was less than impressive. We booked for two beds and were told that our 'double bed' was, under their definition, two beds. As a result they tried to charge us AUD $150 for a folding bed for my 10 year old daughter. We negotioated that to $0. The hotel is in a great position being right on the Main Street of Ubud, close to the Monkey forest and close to all the shopping you can possibly do and more. Our second room was far better although the bathrooms are now very dated. Whilst we were there builders were replacing roof trusses on the unit next door and later began to replace the thatching on the opposite unit so I guess that's a pretty good sign. Knowing the room numbers and the sting about the bed will assist anyone now. Would I stay again? Yes unless a better option was available. Suited to travellers on a budget. Not suited to bigger family groups with multiple children only because of room size. Overall verdict Not great but you could do worse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sonia from Perth, australia

Great location, facilities + super friendly staff

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Super friendly staff Excellent breakfast buffet
Cons: Wifi reception was patchy
Location: Fantastic location, it was easy to explore Ubud from the pertiwi
The pertiwi is located centrally and is walking distance to the markets with lots of shops and cafes on your doorstep. It was nice and quiet with lovely grounds. All the staff were super-friendly and keen to help if needed. The 2 pools were a great size and it was nice to relax by the pool. The breakfast buffet was of high quality. The on site restaurant and spa were also good. My room was clean + of generous size. My only concern was the wifi reception was patchy. I would highly recommend the pertiwi to others.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Wong from Malaysia

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, surrounding with shop,restoran and pub..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fishbowl08 from Perth Western Australia

Great central location

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pertiwi Resort & Spa is set in beautiful gardens in central Ubud half way up Monkey Forrest Road. You can walk everywhere from here. The property is quite hilly in parts so not great if you have mobility issues - if so request a room at the front of the resort. Rooms were clean - we stayed in a private villa with a pool and in the superior rooms at the back of the resort. Remember this is a 3.5 star resort so don't expect 5 star. The beds were quite hard even by Asian standards and the linen was clean but a little musty smelling which is to be expected in many Bali hotels. Staff were lovely and always obliging. Breakfast was good in that you weren't overwhelmed by the enormous buffet breakfasts on offer in some hotels. However an amazing breakfast for 2 can be bought from Wayan Café and Bakery next door for under $10. Try the omelette and the pancakes. I would recommend a private villa with a pool if you planned a lengthy stay and wanted lots of pool time. We had 4 days in Ubud and after 3 we had well and truly seen what was on offer. We opted to upgrade to a villa to really enjoy relaxing by the pool. Whilst the communal pools were lovely there weren't lots of lounge chairs and the pool at the back of the resort had no pool bar. Whilst they would deliver to the pool this could have taken awhile. I would certainly return to the Pertiwi Resort & Spa again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kt from Canada

Great location, weird doors

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in ubud for one night on our honeymoon, and this hotel was close to everything, the markets, shops, restaurants, the monkey temple. We walked everywhere. The breakfast was great, the pool was great, the staff were wonderful. The only complaint was the door. To enter our room,it felt like we went through closet doors, that were locked by a padlock attached to two metal rings that were barley attached to the doors.. They didn't close all the way so I felt very insecure at night. I did notice that not all of the rooms had this luxury, but I would not stay in a room that insecure again, didn't sleep a wink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J from NY, NY

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean and great service. Literally next door to cafes, bars, massage bars, quick marts and the "scene" in Ubud. They speak English with ease. Bug spray a must in this tourist area .
3 out of 5
Recommended
by N

Posted Feb 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was close to Monkey Forest with a little walk downhill past many shops. Easy walk to the Palace. Great restaurants across the street. Breakfast was included and was good standard food. Get there by 9:30AM if you want it to be hot. Complimentary water which was needed. Used their driver for a day trip to rice paddies and mountain as well as to go to Sanur. He was nice but took us to places that were over priced. Wireless was free but seemed to only be available for limited hours. After 5 pm could not get on. Called the front desk and they did not care. Needed the internet for online course work. We asked for 2 double beds and received 1 bed. 3 people traveling. They provided a cot that repeatedly collapsed in the middle. The bathroom had black mold in the shower and grout areas and smelled bad. The sink leaked from the drain as well as the pipes underneath. Reported to hotel and they shut of the water valves as the solution. Location great! Room not great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by cherie

Good Location with great relaxations

Posted Jul 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
Overall i love the greneery environment there! The location is good with quite a number of good restaurants and shop houses out there. However, it would be great if they can offer me a Queen size bed instead of single bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by john

Posted May 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Place was great. Top location and top service from staff. I will stay there again. One negative point is the walk from the lower unit up to the breakfast room