Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nusa Dua, Bali.

Nice Comfortable Hotel worth for the price

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: I like the staffs are so friendly and full of informative. Very quiet and peaceful.
Cons: Trim the trees that blocked guest view across the river.
Location: The locations are good, not too far from the central Ubud.
We love this hotel and will come and stay again. For energetic people, you can go down to the river as an exercise, you can find great view and experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Your personal heaven

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Hotel is situated near to a river gorge... With 2 pools facing tall beautiful rain forest. Rooms are big and spacious. Ours was bintang villa 1 which had a private pool(clean) with nice loung chairs besides it. You can hire a private taxi from airport, he will charge you 300,000 rp. The resort food is very tasty. Overall my experience is 4.8/5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Pleasant stopover for short day trips

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Nice atmosphere, great gallery and museum. great breakfast options. great customer service and historical knowledge from Peter
Cons: offering a return shuttle for those that agree to a time or when dropping off return to pick up at designated point.
Location: A little bit far out from Ubud hence offering the return shuttle.
Very comfortable and large rooms, nice dated furniture throughout. bathrooms also very plush in an antique style. beds and pillows were soft and appreciated after walking all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Ubud gem

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was excellent!
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Hotel will take you on a tour of all sights and temples.
Tanah Merah isn't just a hotel, it is an experience that will stay with you. It is on the edge of ubud amongst the rice fields, perched over a steep 'jungle valley' giving some great views from the pool and breakfast area. The distance to the centre of Ubud is not a problem as the hotel will drop you there any time and the taxi back is cheap. The rooms are fantastic, huge and beautifully furnished. Peter, the Danish owner, is a collector of art and antiquities, particularly from China and Indonesia, with two large galleries that staff will show you on request - better than any of the museums in Ubud! Great value for money and if we return to Bali we will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. very scenic view and very quiet surrou

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The serenity
Cons: main doors/ bath doors would do with better latches.
Our group of five had a very pleasant time indeed. Would definitely recommend this hotel to all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bruno from Melbourne Australia

A peaceful sanctuary

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The view from the breakfast room and infinity pool.
Cons: No
Location: Perched in the hills above Ubud with the centr of town only a short 5 minute taxi ride from the resort.
My wife and I loved our 3 night stay, up in the hills and away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the district. The studio room was spacious and well equipped and the facilities, particularly the pools, restaurant and breakfast areas were located in idyllic settings. A real feature of the resort is the museum. It displays the owner's very impressive and extensive collection of historical artefacts. The museum has a number of rooms, each with a historical or cultural theme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Vicky from Melbourne

It's ok

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is a bit far from the Ubud centre, so it's difficult to get around for shopping and eating, but you will get better scenery. The studio we stayed was huge with two queen size beds, very comfortable, great for family with kids. But the soundproofing of the room was quite bad, we could easily hear next door's noise. The main restaurant was pricey and smelly, forced us to take the drive to the Ubud centre to have dinner. Overall, the hotel room has local Balinese character but I would try another hotel if I come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by junie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Roman from Nice

Not too bad but Overrated

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Could have been a great stay, the hotel pool is beautiful and you have a good view of the surrounding jungle from pretty much anywhere in the hotel ... The rooms are average and the prices for the laundry and the restaurant especially are ridiculously high for Bali which is a shame when the hotel is so far away from the center ... the staff is very nice and helpful same as anywhere on the island ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, Great

Posted May 5, 2014
Like a Museum ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,