Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO , USA

Amazing hospitality and beautiful hotel!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I stayed 4 nights at hotel Izulu and it was the BEST accommodations I have ever experienced. The hospitality , location , rooms and all amenities truly are world class. The food is AMAZING! We dined for breakfast, lunch and 2 night in the restaurant. We had a dinner designed and created for us that I have never experienced anything like. Every single member of the staff had only our comfort and happiness in mind and they exceeded my expectations. There were so many little extra touches they did that other hotels do not that made them stand out among the many other very nice hotels I have stayed in all over the world. I will never stay anywhere else but Hotel Izulu on my next trip to Durban!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

wedding reception

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
lovely stay there for a wedding Just one complaint could not get the cold water tap to turn on in the bath so just had hot water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX, USA

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Secluded from the area. Meals were excellent.
We spent the night between the Durban Airport and the Thanda Wildlife Reserve. It exceeded our expectations! The dinner that night was excellent at a very low price. I recommend it to others!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Amanda from Yorkshire

small hotel about half an hour's walk from beach

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: the large rooms, the hot tub, and the restaurant staff.
The room was very spacious and well equipped, and we had a lovely big bathroom. The grounds were pleasant, and breakfast was good. We had an issue with the hotel in that there was a wedding there on the Saturday of our stay, of which we had not been advised. It seemed that most if not all of the other rooms were let to wedding guests. The noise from the disco/function was extremely loud, and we could not sleep. The member of staff that we contacted was unhelpful. I mentioned this to the manageress the next day, but was told that because we booked through Expedia the hotel had no way of contacting us to inform us of the function. Another issue of note was that our bill was computed wrongly upon checkout, which resulted in us having to subsequently make a further payment. Not something that should happen in a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kev from London

Felt like royalty

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels
From the minute I started communicating with the staff it was an absolute pleasure. They made my partners birthday a very special occasion and couldn't have asked anymore from them. The hotel was immaculate, the staff friendly and hospitable and the rooms perfect. It was the perfect place for a romantic, very special occasion!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ashish from South Africa

Amazing Surprise

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels
Normally we stay at an upmarket international resort which is located close to Ballito. We were truly surprised by the magnificent Hotel Izulu. The rooms are large and clean, with the bathroom being one of the best I've seen worldwide which includes many 5 star chains in various countries. The price is right and the breakfast was great. No rush with checkout. ...We were amazed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tanya from London

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I spent 2 nights here as part of a visit to Durban. The staff were great and the breakfasts delicious (with big portions). We had dinner at the restaurant on the first night which was very good. The bedrooms are large and comfortable and my 6foot2 husband still thinks that the beds are some of the more comfortable that he's slept in (mainly because his feet didn't stick out the end of the bed). I would definitely go back and recommend it if you want somewhere quiet, friendly and that offers value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bryan from Queensland

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is a fair distance from the beach ( 1.5 km) but is otherwise excellently run. The only issue was a very poor wifi reception in the room and an explanation from the duty manager that, " maybe it was due to the rain" was not really satisfactory.