Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX, USA

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Secluded from the area. Meals were excellent.
We spent the night between the Durban Airport and the Thanda Wildlife Reserve. It exceeded our expectations! The dinner that night was excellent at a very low price. I recommend it to others!
3 out of 5
by Amandafrom Yorkshire

small hotel about half an hour's walk from beach

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: the large rooms, the hot tub, and the restaurant staff.
The room was very spacious and well equipped, and we had a lovely big bathroom. The grounds were pleasant, and breakfast was good. We had an issue with the hotel in that there was a wedding there on the Saturday of our stay, of which we had not been advised. It seemed that most if not all of the other rooms were let to wedding guests. The noise from the disco/function was extremely loud, and we could not sleep. The member of staff that we contacted was unhelpful. I mentioned this to the manageress the next day, but was told that because we booked through Expedia the hotel had no way of contacting us to inform us of the function. Another issue of note was that our bill was computed wrongly upon checkout, which resulted in us having to subsequently make a further payment. Not something that should happen in a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ashishfrom South Africa

Amazing Surprise

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Normally we stay at an upmarket international resort which is located close to Ballito. We were truly surprised by the magnificent Hotel Izulu. The rooms are large and clean, with the bathroom being one of the best I've seen worldwide which includes many 5 star chains in various countries. The price is right and the breakfast was great. No rush with checkout. ...We were amazed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tanyafrom London

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I spent 2 nights here as part of a visit to Durban. The staff were great and the breakfasts delicious (with big portions). We had dinner at the restaurant on the first night which was very good. The bedrooms are large and comfortable and my 6foot2 husband still thinks that the beds are some of the more comfortable that he's slept in (mainly because his feet didn't stick out the end of the bed). I would definitely go back and recommend it if you want somewhere quiet, friendly and that offers value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bryanfrom Queensland

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a fair distance from the beach ( 1.5 km) but is otherwise excellently run. The only issue was a very poor wifi reception in the room and an explanation from the duty manager that, " maybe it was due to the rain" was not really satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peterfrom St. Maarten, Dutch Caribbean

beautiful quiet hotel in a great location

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: The comfort of the room.
Cons: Attention to cleanliness in the bathroom
Location: The mall nearby.......great for us to bank, sort out a phone for us , and a lovely lunch at an outdoor café called Zaras.
we stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions on our recent trip to South Africa. It is very convenient to the Durban airport and close to 2 shopping malls.It was easy to get to. It was a beautiful room, very quiet, the staff were all very friendly. The restaurant for dinner was wonderful. The bathrooms are luxurious and so welcoming with bath salts provided for your bath in a sumptuous tub! Our only complaint would be that the bathroom could have been cleaned a bit better---a dusty showerhead and some mold on the glass door of the shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good welcome and stay, staff extremely polite

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Spent a 2 nights here between staying in kruger park &going on to st LuciiaN
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hazelfrom USA

Amazing.

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a beautiful secret, tucked all in the back of ballito. I am from SA, 20 min from ballito. I took my hubby to SA for vacation. And a hotel Izulu was one of the places we stayed in.i was amazed with the beauty, the staff and the amazing room for the price. Complimentary breakfast was ok too. My only concern was the huge cat they had in the property. I am allergic and terrified of cats. They did their best to keep it in the office when I was around.i thank the staff, I really felt proud to be there with my America hubby. I also relayed this to the staff. My hubby and I even decided to book the entire place for our next trip to SA with our friend. We loved the intimacy of the hotel. It is home. A must if you going to Durban, 15 min from the Airport. It is Izulu(heaven).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean

Experience of Hotel iZulu

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Excellent hotel with very friendly staff. Comfortable and excellent value for money. I will certainly be back at some point. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lindafrom Fort Lauderdale, Fl

Personalized service - above and beyond

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Special touches and always attending to requests in a speedy manner with perfect service etiquette