Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice place but will not return to this one.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The room I booked was very clean and comfortable. The first nights stay was nice. The next morning I went out for breakfast and returned to find that my room had been cleaned and the bottled beverages I had purchased the previous day were missing! The bottles included several bottles of alcohol. The maid that had cleaned my room was just a few rooms down from mine. I questioned her about my missing bottles and she responded that she didn't speak English. I complained at the front desk and one of the clerks said she would talk to the room attendant and have her deliver the drinks back to my room. Needless to say, I never got any of my bottles back. This was a theft by a hotel employee! The hotel did nothing to contact me or follow through with what they promised me. Then, to make matters worse, I woke up the next morning in darkness. The hotel had lost power and only had emergency lighting in the hall. Luckily I had set the alarm clock on my phone to wake me up in time for my flight. I went down to the front desk and asked what was going on and was told the whole block had lost power. The hotel offered only water to us patrons. Nothing else was offered to compensate for the inconvenience. I gathered my belongings in my darkened room and then checked out. As I left the hotel the first thing I noticed was a working, well lit Mc Donalds that was only a few buildings down. I am still very unhappy with my stay at Double Tree. I really expected much more from this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Power Out and Sticky Glasses in Room

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The staff were very nice AND there was a full bar with restaurant.
Cons: Renovate.
Location: I would recommend the Country Inn and Suites BWI or Marriott; they were both a few blocks away and next door to Chilies.
The hotel served its purpose but the power was out for 6 hours which caused cell phones not to charge, alarm clocks not to go off, no hot water, no land line phone dial tone, the lobby looked like a refugee camp, the hotel became very hot quickly, and the glasses in our room had been used but not cleaned from the prior guest. I would recommend the Country Inn and Suites BWI or Marriott; they were both a few blocks away and next door to Chilies. The Double Tree was all by itself on the side street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

I would come back

Posted Aug 2, 2014
The guy that checked us in was great. Room was pretty clean. As far as the pool, it was shut down due to a pump issue during our whole stay literally. From the time we checked in til the time we checked out. We chose this hotel aside from others because it had a pool. Kids were not happy. But I also understand things do happen, but it was disappointing. Also didn't like going to grab some drinks in the morning to find out the market/store was closed til 2pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Comfy hotel and convenient

Posted Jul 29, 2014
My stay was nice. You could hear when the person next door turned on the shower and flushed the toilet. People across the hall were loud, constantly slamming the door, playing loud music and cursing. The food in the restaurant was so so, I've had better. I ordered breakfast from the menu, (omelet) and it was prepared with artificial eggs. That's not a real omelet. The shuttle driver (Sam) had attitude when he picked me up from the airport. He asked me how long was my wait and that I should have been on another level, I told him that I followed the sign that said ground transportation. Last but not least, there was no refrigerator of microwave in the room. And no to mention, there was no radio, just a little small alarm clock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Rooms were very clean and the staff was very accommodating. Bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to stay night before AM flight.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Stayed here night before an early morning flight. Had a nice dinner, and cocktail at the bar. Excellent customer service in dining room and bar. Front desk, Michael, was especially helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Adam General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 5 Star Review! We are a great option for travelers with early flights out of BWI. Thanks for recognizing Mike and thanks for choosing Doubletree by Hilton.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible food.. No proper restaurant

Posted May 26, 2014
Just one restaurant in the hotel with horrible service..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2014 by Adam General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We have a 3 meal a day restaurant, Eden's Landing, on property as well as our lobby Lounge and Props coffee shop serving coffee, danish, sandwiches, snacks and fruit. I am so sorry to read that you did not receive good service in our restaurant. That is not the norm! Thanks for choosing Doubletree by Hilton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sandy from Lancaster

Nice

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice clean rooms. Friendly check in personnel. Good complimentary cookies. Only disappointment was no continental breakfast. Just coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Adam General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, Thanks for the review. You can't beat the cookie! Thanks for choosing Doubletree by Hilton BWI.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mix of good and bad

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Room service staff were prompt and pleasant.
Cons: The service, particularly housekeeping.
Location: It's quite close to the airport, but it's awkward to get anywhere.
The room was of decent size and comfortably furnished. The bathroom was incredibly tiny, with nowhere to leave your toiletries. The room service breakfast, ordered the night before, was a reasonable value. The deliveries were timely and the staff was pleasant. Housekeeping was abysmal: we noticed blood (not ours!) on the duvet. Ick. Two towels - most hotels give you three, or even four, for a king room. We neglected to put our room service tray in the hall, and it was still there when we came back that evening. Really, housekeeping? We used the card to order breakfast the first night, and it was not replaced with a new one. It took four phone calls to find someone who a) answered the phone, b) knew what we were talking about, and c) would actually bring us a new one so we could order breakfast for the second morning. The location was odd; the way the roads are, it's tough to get to other places. I don't think I would choose to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2014 by Adam General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, I hope you had a chance to read my response to this same review on Tripadvisor. Your satisfaction is important to us! I definently needed to know about your experience. Thanks for sharing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the most terrible experiece but!

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: We were so exhausted aefter arriving from our flight that all we wanted to do was to go to sleep. Early the next morning we checked out
Cons: staff training and custumer service. housekeeping supervision.
Not the worst experience but I will never stay again at this location. Delay with courtesy shuttle, when we called to notify situation, the front desk employee, Pierre, was rude. When we arrived at the Hotel the employee remembered my name and told the group that because of my complaint the group had to wait an additional 20 minutes. We thought Pierre was kidding, however it took the group of 5 people almost an hour to check in. In my room the TV did not work at all and A/C worked but kept on turning on and off. I did not complain because it was over 1:00 am, exhausted and only wanted.to g.o to sleep. Also, in another room from the group a coworker found a dead insect, lke a beetle,.next to the pillow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Adam General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. This is not up to our usual standard. I think you can tell from fellow traveler's reviews that we typically deliver a high level of customer service and cleanliness. Please don't give up on us! We will use this feedback to help improve our services, so thanks for sharing.