Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some renovation

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Shower had limited hot water. Blanket had multiple hairs. Room and bed was comfortable but upon closer look the hotel needs some updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Brown Summitt, NC

Convient to family in Columbia & Laurel.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Convenience to family and friends, shopping and major routes.
Cons: Make sure the blanket over the sheets is clean along with the bed cover. And, we had to remove some long, black hair from the sheets..not ours!
Location: Already mentioned this prior.
Sheets were clean but the blanket on top was dirty with soiled spots.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I was disheartened to read that you found stains on your bedspread. I am deeply sorry for your experience. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will review our cleanliness and inspection procedures to ensure that this does not happen again. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tomora Davisfrom Columbia Parkway

Extended Stay, Columbia Parkway

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay at Extended Stay was wonderful. We were like 10 minutes from Baltimore Harbor, 10 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall and eatery's. Extended Stay don't have breakfast, only a Grab n Go's which consisted of apples, oranges, coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate, oatmeal, muffins, and granola bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Elisha Ackridge

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mitchfrom Baltimore

Okay for a One Night Stay... I guess

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I entered hotel and stood there waiting behind another gentleman. Directly behind the counter is a laundry room and clothes were being washed at the time. I waited and waited until I decided to call the front desk from my mobile phone. A woman came rushing out and then decided to help. I might still be waiting had I not called. The rooms stemmed a bit dated. The door wasn't the easiest to open. The television had some kind of short in it (it's the plug in the back). Something (burnt food or dropping) was inside of the pilot on the stove. Overall the room was okay. A few changes (fix door, new cord for tv, clean stoves thoroughly, etc) and it could be okay. It fell below Columbia-area standards IMHO. There is another Exrended stay that is 100% non-smoking. That one has better ratings. I chose the smoking room because I wanted to use my oil burner to give the room a gret aroma.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LLS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Forget all of the negative stuff you may read about this motel. It's fine! We were happy with it.... Room was perfectly adequate and met our needs... It's not the Sheraton or a Marriott but I wouldn't expect it be with the rate that we paid for it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am glad to read that our hotel met your needs and that you were pleased with the rate you paid. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Works for me

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I got a good nights sleep and that's the point. No frills, simple clean room. So it worked for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you got a good night's sleep. Thank you again for posting your review. We do hope that you will return to our hotel in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com