Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Lots of character. Very nicely appointed. Proximity to the light rail.
Cons: Staff helpfulness. Maid service was spotty-some days very well done, others, much less so.
Location: The walk to the inner harbor (~1.25 miles) can take you through some questionable neighborhoods. Best to stay on Charles St. or take the light rail.
Overall very nice place with well appointed and comfortable rooms. I had pre-paid my stay through Expedia and gave a credit card to cover incidentals. To my surprise, many hundreds of dollars showed up as 'pending' on my credit card the next day. After considerable discussion with the hotel staff about whether this was reasonable and customary, they admitted an error had been made. Apparently it was not possible to remove these charges immediately (?). Unfortunately this mistake consumed so much of my available credit that it greatly diminished what I could do while there and some local activities I had to cancel outright.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, vintage look, modern comfort!

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Conveniently located in charming old Mt. Vernon neighborhood--an easy walk to museums and to the Peabody Institute, and an equally easy ride to the Inner Harbor via Baltimore's free bus system, the "Charm City Circulator." The turreted red brick hotel--childhood home to the Duchess of Windsor--is beautifully restored inside and out. Rooms are bright, modern and comfortable. The Keurig coffer-maker in the room is an especially nice touch! Front desk staff is pleasant and helpful. We certainly plan to stay at the Brexton again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom md

After glitches, nice stay

Posted Jan 19, 2015
We checked in and our bed wasn't made. Went to front desk and was told all king size rooms were booked so we settled for queen size and were comp for wireless. Then the room never got warm and when back (new front desk person) I explained what happen and she said no you were booked for suite king room and she moved us immediately. All lovely after that. Very helpful. Walking distance to Lyric theater. Nice time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom washington, D.C.

A real bargain hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2015
My husband and. I stayed at the Brexton hotel a few years ago and remembered its excellent location, interesting history and pleasing room. Although the room we were given was immaculate, it was chilly and we couldn't adjust the thermostat. We mentioned this to the hotel clerk and he told us he would attend to it while we were at dinner (excellent City Cafe steaks and frites meal just two blocks from the Brexton). When we returned, the same clerk mentioned that he had checked and found that the warm air was not blowing and he had adjusted that. He also said that we could ask for a small room heater if we weren't comfortable. The room was warmer, but the bathroom was frigid. We figured we didn't want a space heater in the bathroom for safety reasons, so we didn't ask for one--it was too cold to take a shower though, so we skipped it. We were surprised the next morning upon checking out that the clerk wasn't more attentive to us. He didn't inquire about our night, and when I mentioned that we liked the hotel, there was no enthusiastic response or eager, "we look forward to seeing you again!" There were no other guests claiming his attention at the time, so we were surprised that he didn't show more friendliness and interest. Because the hotel is such a good bargain, we definitely will return, but probably in warmer weather!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andreafrom Frederick

"Eh...ok for the price I paid"

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
It was ok at best, good for the rate I paid. Room was clean, tv was small. Kind of out of the way and quiet, which is good. Parking was free and available. Front desk help was pretty much non-existant except for the fellow who was working the desk as I was checking out--he was super fun and friendly. Oh, they definitely ran $100 through my card for "incidentals" which was beyond annoying. This was reduced to $9.95 for Internet after check out but $100 on hold from my bank account while I stayed there didn't leave a good taste in my mouth. All in all, not bad not great and will find elsewhere to stay next time I'm in Baltimore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bailey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
It was great but we did not get any room service. The room was nice but did not look like the pictures on the website. It wasn't as nice looking as the pictures.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was not clean - there was a dirty sock in the side table drawer! Wi-Fi did not work, even with the password. The toilet paper holder in bathroom was broken. The heat was impossible to regulate. There was no comfortable chair to sit on - you had to sit on the bed. The mugs and water glasses were not covered with plastic wrap. Plus they charged you for $3 for a bottle of water. The only good thing about this hotel was the convenience of the location for what our family needed. Would not stay here again. I'm sure there must be something better in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Beyond

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Everyone and everything was beyond our expectations. Absolutely loved it especially the kindness of the front desk staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrickfrom Washington, DC

Quick trip to Baltimore

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Have stayed here on several occasions; like the property (the history and overhaul) and the location. Rooms are spacious, clean, and adequately appointed. That said, the girl is starting to show a little wear from the years; nothing detrimental, but the bathrooms could use a bit of patching here and there and it appears that the HVAC units struggle with humidity in the summer (shelves with drip pans installed under the equipment). One notable ding -- $10+/day for internet access. A viable wifi signal is now considered a standard amenity but hotels are going the route of airlines and trying to charge for every little thing. Stop it!