Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great place, but with some unfulfilled perks

Posted Aug 15, 2014
This is a great hotel in a good location for doing business in Baltimore. The oversized rooms were clean and attractive. I would have given it 5 stars across except for two unfulfilled promises. First, the hotel advertised on its website that if you mention the ad at the restaurant you get a free glass of wine. Upon sitting down at the bar for dinner, I asked the bartender who first told me the $9 glass of wine I wanted didn't qualify. When I started to order dinner, he told me that if I ordered an entree he would take care of a glass of wine. $86 of food and wine later I was paying my bill when he said he "never got a chance" to take care of the wine, so he topped off a half full glass that I was leaving behind. The other broken promise was sort of funny. The hotel advertises itself as yoga friendly. The website makes a big deal of saying there is a yoga mat in every room. Since I do yoga when I travel, I thought "cool". But I looked everywhere and there wasn't a yoga mat. But wait! They also have a Yoga Channel on their TV, so I grabbed a towel to put on the floor and tuned in, expecting yoga classes. Instead, it was a 3 minute long, very clever animated short showing a guest bopping around Baltimore with...you guessed it...her talking Yoga Mat that is in every room! LOL. Neither the free glass of wine or the yoga mat were essential to my trip. I just can't figure out why the go to such lengths to promise perks they can't deliver.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Vernon, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feeback provided. I am sorry to hear you didn't receive all that you expected. Rest assured I will address these issues with my team, and handle acordingly. Thanks Again All The Best Joe Pagone General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Not very good for families

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Refreshments served from 5-6pm.Decor is nice.
Cons: Hotel did not have pool.
Location: It's close to the Baltimore Inner Harbor but there is no view of the water nor of Camden Yard,
We booked through Expedia which asked for the number of kids and their ages. We had a family of four and another of three traveling together. Kids ages 17, 14 and 12. We arrived and all they had left were rooms with king beds! After showing our reservations to the receptionist, he could not accommodate us with rooms with two beds. He gave us two adjoining king bed rooms and then gave us roll in beds. The roll in beds took up most of the spaces in the rooms. They were uncomfortable. The receptionist tried to help. But, for the amount of money we spent for the rooms, we were very unhappy that kids slept so uncomfortably.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Vernon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback regarding your stay. I am not happy to hear that you stay wasn't pleasant. We pride ourselves on delivering a great guest experience, and it appears we did not do so with you. Our team will review the challenges you enncountered while with us, and address them accordingly. Thanks again for your time. All The Best Joe Pagone General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne. England

Fab Hotel: Within walking distance of the harbour

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Architecture/ very clean/ lovely décor/ friendly staff/ambience/ convenient location
Cons: Tea/coffee facilities in the room/hairdryer with longer cables/ plug socket near a mirror you can see (not bedside light)/ room service menu in room
Location: Definitely visit National Aquarium -huge WoW factor. Take a cruise around the harbour and get the history of the bay; Eat huge crabs at Bo Brooks
The hotel is in a beautiful building and the décor is a strange eclectic mix. My king size bed was huge, very comfortable with leather faux travel trunk bedside cabinets and the room was quite traditionally decorated. I also had a massive high gloss shiny red desk with a big TV and still plenty of room to work on my laptop. It fell down slightly on the smaller, finishing touches. There was an ipod docking station and other technologies but no tea or coffee making facilities. I found out on my last day that you have to request a kettle. When asked why I was told 'so the rooms don't look cluttered'. What!! With an ipad docking station, two lamps, etc. (It was not cluttered) Also beautiful big bathroom with leather effect tiles but the towel rail is around the corner and across the room from the shower - not in easy reach so you either have to get out of the shower and walk across or leave it on the floor. The toilet roll holder fell of the wall at 3:30 am, apparently on its own - woke me up! hairdryer cord is only about 40cms and doesn't stretch, the plug socket for this is not near a mirror. Minor details I know but they do make a difference to your stay. That said, my room was very clean, service was great, staff were friendly. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the inner harbour, great restaurants, National Aquarium, and Hard Rock café I would definitely go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Keith, Hotel Management
Dear Lesley, Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed review. Please know we take this feedback very seriously and will share your feedback with our team. We do hope to see you again soon!. All the best, Keith Siebenaler Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC, USA

Wonderful style.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Almost everything, location, style, nice, nice people, gorgeous decor, big room.
Cons: Get rid of the high tech A/C, it drove us crazy all night, except when "OFF"!!
Location: Inner Harbor, the hospital for us, everybody went out of their way to make us comfortable. So Thanks.
Great Staff, beautiful decor, grand old hotel, great colorful style, big room, superb services, very convenient, hot day outside, the room's climate control is high tech, terribly loud all night, on and off, A/C dial had a sign asking us to bear with them, it was so uncomfortable we had to turn it off, and then we heard all kinds of other noise, city noise, hotel noise. But we did save energy.. Too bad because the hotel is great otherwise. Thanks for asking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Vernon, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to submit feedback regarding your stay. I am very gracious for the five star rating, and will use your feedback to better our overall operation. Thanks again All The Best Joe Pagone General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Beautiful classy hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel was elegant and classy We felt totally on vacation, no problems and restful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Vernon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this five star review. Our ability to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay is a top priority. I am very happy to know we that we you. Thanks again All The Best Joe Pagone General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close enough to walk to harbor.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
There is only one restaurant with a limited menu. No vending machines for snacks or sodas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Vernon, Hotel Management
Thank you the feedback you've submitted. I will use it to assist with making our operation better. Thanks again. All The Best Joe Pagone General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Every thing
Cons: Nothing
The Best Hotel stay so far in Baltimore. Great food at the Restaurant, friendliest and most efficient staff specially valet service. Overall Top Notch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Vernon, Hotel Management
Wow. Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be sure to share this great feedback with our team. Thanks again. All The Best Joe Pagone General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service vs. bad shower and AC.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Service is about the only aspect of my stay that I liked. Very courteous and attending staff!
Cons: HV/AC needs an overhaul, SUPER LOUD and kept coming on every 5 minutes (not an exaggeration). Shower has NO pressure at all! Old railroad building.
Location: Location is great, right downtown Baltimore, we walked everywhere, 5 minutes from the light train, and just steps from the charm city circulator.
Monaco occupies a beautiful old railroad building, B&O. The architecture and interior design are beautiful, unfortunately this is where the positive about the amenities stops. It may be because of the age of the building, nevertheless, HV/AC needs an overhaul! It was SUPER LOUD and kept coming on every 5 minutes (not an exaggeration). I was not even sure it needed to run so hard, because the building is solid, I checked and there weren't any drafts in the room for it to keep cooling. Shower has NO pressure at all! My husband attributed these flaws to an old building, but I remember boutique hotels in NYC that had no issues of sort while occupying old historical buildings. There are 3 very important aspects of stay at a hotel for me and any traveler: 1. HV/AC, 2. shower, 3. bed (in that order); Monaco have absolutely failed two of them. Unfortunately, we will not be staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Vernon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am sorry to hear about the challenges you encountered while with us. Rest assured our team will look into those issues and address accorrdingly. Thanks again All The Best Joe Pagone General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, close to harbor and festivities!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: It's cleanliness, location, restaurant downstairs.
Cons: Not much, although was saddened by the amount of homeless people sleeping around the area at nighttime.
Location: Was close enough to the harbor, aquarium, etc., didn't mind the walk in the day. Mostly took taxi/rides at night.
My husband enjoyed the late afternoon wine hour in "your" living room. Only thing I could find fault with was that I called down to ask for something and was surprised they didn't have it. Would use this hotel again if I was in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Vernon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the five star rating and review. We will be sure to stock up on those items you inquired about before your next visit. Thanks Again All The Best Joe Pagone General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hvac didn't work

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: Maintenance
Location: Didn't check it out
The service in the restaurant/bar was great during day - terrible at night sat at bar for over 15 minutes never got waited on - heating cooling was fixed once but stopped working during the night again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by Vernon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am sorry for all the challenges you encountered during your stay. Rest assured I will be looking into these issues and addressing with our team. Thanks again for your time. We hope you give us a second chance to show you how great we can be. All The Best Joe Pagone General Manager