Ratings based on 545 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western NY

Very nice hotel with employees to match

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: The staff are standouts. We interacted with quite a few - and all were personable, friendly, and helpful.
Cons: Refrigerators in the room would be appreciated.
Location: Great location, close to everything and walking distance to everything else.
I didn't read the reviews of this hotel until after I booked it. There were a few negative reviews which concerned me. However, in my experience there are always a few poor reviews for even the best places. I'm happy to say that I was completely satisfied from the moment I walked in to the moment I left. The staff are not only courteous, they seem genuinely interested in their guests. All of them. I highly recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When can I check in??

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: location.
Cons: Don't even bother promising to text when the room is available if you never plan on doing it. Ditch the murphy bed style mattresses.
Expedia room rate included a "free gift on arrival" and "free bottle of wine" with the "experience package." At arrival at 11 a.m., the room was not ready but the staff promised to text me when it became available. There was no "free gift on arrival." I returned three times during the day, but the room was never ready and the staff had no idea when it might be ready. The website said check in was at 4p, so at 4p, I went back and the staff still had no idea whether the room was ready. They called housekeeping, which said the room was "almost" ready but had no towels. The staff finally let us go up to the room despite the lack of towels. Towels were being placed in the room as we arrived at 4:07p. So did it take five hours to get this room ready knowing they had a guest waiting? Or did all guests have to wait until 4p? But there was never more than one person at most in line at the desk when we tried to check in throughout the day. Did the staff not even make an attempt to get a room ready for a guest that arrived at 11 a.m.? Did we get an "expedia special"? Anyway, the room had murphy beds -- the kind you pull off the wall. The mattress was like jello, the a/cs from the 70's, and looking between the bed and the wall where the bed pulled out could make you ill. Had to ask for the bottle of wine. Staff made no effort to explain what the "experience package" was that I had paid for, so I don't know what else we didn't know to ask for. Not worth the $300 we paid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Great location

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Staff not helpful.
Location: lots of things because you are located right in the inner harbor, National Aquarium, Oriole park all within walking distance
Choose the hotel because of the location, it is located right in the harbor beside Ruth Chris, hotel is pricey which I do not mind but do not feel like it was worth the money. Upon check in clerk could not find our reservation, I had my confirmation number so desk clerk used that and checked us in. I paid for a supreme package to include wine, gift and breakfast buffet which clerk was aware of but failed to provide me with the merchandise, I had to go back to the desk to ask for these things. There is actually no restaurant on site at the hotel so the breakfast was set up right in the middle of the lobby which I found a bit odd, as we were eating another guests dog was running up to our table which I found unbelievable, the guests had two dogs who were not on leashes. Hotel staff at front desk saw all of this since we were sitting in the lobby eating and failed to say anything to the other guest. Since there is no restaurant on site it was not a full buffet, they had waffles and omelets that were made for you, only beverages were coffee and juice, no sodas or tea. As I said location was great but for the price I think you can get a better deal at another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff/OK Amentities

Posted May 31, 2015
First off, I don't want this to sound too negative so I'll start with the good. The staff was excellent! Professional and courteous in every way. My only issues are that first off, we ordered the upgraded package which included a bottle of wine and I asked for it twice and we still hadn't gotten it at the time of departing. Next, the room cleanliness overall was very good but the shower was terrible! You had to let about 50 gallons of orange tinted iron laced water run out of the spout before you could turn the shower on. Next it had 2 temperatures: burn your flesh off hot and middle of January in Alaska cold! Nothing in between. Finally the stopper in the tub didn't stay up on it's own so you had to wedge something in there so the tub would drain. Overall a nice hotel and great location. We will return; just not in the same room we had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location

Posted May 12, 2015
My flight was significantly delayed and got in at 1:30 AM, had to leave at 7 AM so I only got a glimpse, but I would definitely go back. Nicely appointed. If I weren't exhausted I may have thought the bed was a bit too firm. No other concerns at all. Wine upon arrival, opened and served with great service, very good made-to-order breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

perfect hotel right on the harbor

Posted May 3, 2015
Awesome experience at pier 5! We were seeing a show at pier 6 pavilion and this hotel is right next store. Hotel was nice, restaurant was great, and staff made us feel right at home! Thanks Pier 5 hotel!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jessica from Washington, DC

Poor problem solving skills

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
The excitement of having an evening by the harbor with my sister to experience the location, because we are hosting a wedding in the area and this was to be one of the hotels we were booking for family and friends. Unfortunately, the enthusiasm was squashed by the sleepless night we were provided by our neighbors next door, loud commotion/fight/argument and the unresponsiveness of the hotel staff. We reported it issue to the front desk early in the evening. It took several calls for hotel staff to respond. No need to describe the commotion, but to say the least the neighbors’ quite-down at 3:45am. After my clear complaints, I was offered a $25 gift certificate. Laughable, when compared to the $354 (w/ taxes) I paid for the harbor view room. I would have expected an offer to change the room, subtracting from the cost or something creative, like speaking to those in the next room. When I showed my surprise at the $25 certificate, I was told to leave my email address and Mr. O’Brien would get back to me….still waiting. Unfortunately, this experience has left a very sour taste and Pier 5 maybe off the list for the wedding. There are other hotels with harbor view in the area. You can always walk up to the restaurants on site for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by Brett Henry, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you for your feedback. It was my understanding that Shane had reached out to the individuals that dealt with the noise issues from these particular guests. We eventually had to remove them from the hotel, which was a first for me in my tenure at the hotel. While we do our best to control these issues, we are at the mercy of our guests behaving and adhering to simple domestic, self-governing rules. The security did stop there twice prior to escorting them from the premise. My assumption is that he assumed that he had contacted all effected parties. I agree a $25 gift card is an insult of an offer, and I am terribly sorry that it was ever presented. We would love to make this right, and I am available at all times. Thank you for your business!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, Kentucky

Beautiful hotel, good location

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly staff
Cons: Free parking
We only stayed one night and didn't spend much time in the room. We had arrived several hours early and the staff allowed us to check in. The staff warned us about the show that was happening a stone's throw away at Pier 6 Pavilion (which we were actually attending). It's right by everything in Baltimore!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: God beliggenhed. Velfungerende hotel. Venligt personale. Dejlig morgenmad.
Cons: Værelsesmøblement, seng, belysning ikke specielt hyggelig, men pænt, rent.
God beliggenhed. Velfungerende hotel. Venligt personale. Dejlig morgenmad.Værelsesmøblement, seng, belysning ikke specielt hyggelig, men pænt, rent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Nice hotel very close to the National Aquarium

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Cosy, friendly staffs
The hotel is very close to the National aquarium and in a walking distance to the inner habour.