Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethlehem, PA

Nice, Inexpansive Hotel -- With Some Reservations

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The cost, the location, the cleanliness.
Cons: The bathroom was so small I could barely turn around to close the door when I went in. And the reservation screwups I've detailed above.
Location: Right next to the State Fairgrounds. My favorite diner in the world, The Nautilus, is less than a mile away and open 24 hours!
I've been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years, when I come to town for the Maryland German Festival. Why? Two reasons. First, it's inexpensive yet relatively nice. Second, it's a stone's throw from the State Fairgrounds, where the Festival is held. But every year there are always annoying little problems, and this year was no exception. The problems began immediately with check-in. The front desk woman couldn't seem to find my reservation (and although I'd brought a copy of my itinerary with me, I'd temporarily misplaced it). It took 10 minutes for her to find it, with another employee's assistance -- filed under "Jr. James, Lastname" instead of something that made sense. Fine. So we go through the usual paperwork and are finally handed the keys to our room -- on the third (top) floor. Never mind that I had specifically requested a first-floor room because of a medical problem. Of course that wasn't listed on the itinerary anyway, so perhaps the request never made it to the approval stage when the room was booked. Finally we get to our room and noticed yet another problem, so I returned to the front desk for my final complaint of the day. I had booked an upgraded room with a king-size bed, but we got a room with two smaller beds instead. "I'm sorry," the same clerk said. "None of those rooms were available, so we upgraded you for free to our Superior room." I wanted the king because I'm 6'4" tall and weigh 315 lbs. Trail mix in the refrigerator was not a substitute!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

YUCK!!

Posted Jul 14, 2015
100% smoke free is posted all over, however the smell of smoke was overwhelming. Air conditioning/ heating unit very load and smelled musty. Hallways and elevator very dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: It was near my final destination.
Cons: The rooms need some refreshment.
I arrived at the hotel around midnight. I was exhausted from the trip and all I wanted was a shower and comfortable bed. However, when I got my keys and went to the room it was a disaster. The mattresses were upside down (literary), the sheets and the pillows were on the floor, and there was a huge fan in the middle of the room blowing hot air. I was shocked because I thought I am a witness of a crime scene. The front desk lady changed my room with another non-smoking room but I could tell that someone smoked in the room just recently. I didn't go to ask for a new room because I was already tired and everything I wanted was to lay down and sleep. The next day, when I checked out, I left my phone number with the registration desk and asked for a call from a manager but I never got one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

RED roof near Baltimore

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Rooms were clean
Cons: The air conditioner was loud or louder, and cold or colder. If it was on, it was cold.
The desk staff at check in was rude, and lazy. We had a confirmation email, but her 'system' did not see it yet, so would not let us check in. I had to show her the email with the confirmation number, and she finally entered the number and she could see it. Then on check out, she said because we ordered online, we could not get a receipt...we had done the same situation the previous night, and a receipt was not an issue. She was unwilling to even try to generate a receipt for our records. She needs to be trained, and also some customer service training is necessary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Enjoyed our stay but would have been much better if we were able to get a room with a fridge and a microwave as we were staying there while we were visiting family for a few days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice. Affordable.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Ok. Convenient. Affordable price. Friday and Saturday nights are little too noisy outside at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair priced!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Easy to enter and exit.
Cons: Comfortable mattress!
Location: location was Ok
Location was good and had easy to get in and out of room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

A hotel that has to improve

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Convenient location in Northern Balto area.
Cons: Fridge was obviously damaged and leaking. Bathroom door has to be replaced. Blankets should be replaced. Humidity everywhere in the room..
Location: Towson University
This is all around run down establishment. Too expensive for what it offers. Stayed there a few years ago and was ok. But this time it was a real disappointment. If you are to spend more than 100$ and get such quality accommodation simply do not do it. Very poor choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mass

Just Okay

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: proximity to the event i was attending
Cons: internet signal, amenities
I guess my expectations from a facility that deems itself a "plus" beyond it's usual accommodations might have been a little under achieved.... internet access was a problem with no to little connectivity during my weekend stay there. The room itself was small, especially the bathroom. I could see staying here for a night ot two, but certainly not any longer than that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is older and it shows.

Posted May 26, 2015
Too close to the highway. The other guests were loud. The impression I hot was I would get two plush full size beds for 10 dollars more. The beds I got were not plush. Wouldn't stay at red roof again.