Ratings based on 733 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Weekend Getaway

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: The first floor cafe, when closed looked scary, uninviting and sloppy. Keeping area open creates an extension of lobby for mingling and shareing.
We selected the Renaissance after reviewing, online, several other hotels within the Inner Harbor area. We found the location, ammenities offered and price to be the definitive factors in our selection. When we arrived, we were very happy to find the hotel, for the most part, live up to it's online reputation. We would like to share some reality points; the lobby cafe, facing the main street closes relatively early, just after happy hour; so access to and fro the hotel lobby requires a short walk around the side entrance. No worries, there is a bar/restaurant on the 5th floor open until midnight. Hotel parking, which allows in-out privileges is shared by the Gallery Mall so you may not find a spot real close to the elevator. The pool seemed to accommodate everyone who wanted to swim, although I thought a few more lounge chairs by the pool would have been nice. Hotel staff across the board were very gracious. All in all, a very nice place and one I would select again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa

Beautiful Baltimore

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Customer service and cleanliness
Cons: Keep non hotel guests out
Location: Baltimore inner harbor. Lots of restaurants. Mall. National aquarium. Bars.
This hotel was perfect for my husband and I. Close to everything, beautiful views, helpful staff, and just a great overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel near Baltimore convention center!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: This hotel is clean, attractive, and the staff is amazing!
Cons: I would have liked more outlets in the room, or more specifically, an outlet on both sides of each bed. However, this seems to be a common issue.
Location: This hotel faces the harbor. The convention center is but a few blocks away, there are many great restaurants, and the aquarium is nearby.
I've stayed at the Renaissance Harbor Place Hotel before, and that experience was great. This time was even better. Right from check-in at the front desk, the staff was excellent and really took care of me. The room was clean and spacious and offered a beautiful view of the harbor; couldn't ask for more! Also, the staff members by the main door were very friendly and opened the door for me with a smile every time. And on Sunday, when there was extreme traffic for the elevators, there was an attendant running each elevator to prevent long waits on any specific floor. In addition, check-out was made very simple as well to prevent the buildup of lines. The staff makes this hotel marvelous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great view; friendly staff

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: My Expedia reservation - which I made over a month ago - was not immediately available to the check-in desk at the hotel.
Location: All the shops and attractions of the Inner Harbor, and the Convention Center.
Great view of the Inner Harbor. Staff very friendly, helpful and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for the Price

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: Price was a little higher than most hotels
Hotel staff were very welcoming and very helpful, the room was larger than most standard hotel rooms, very sanitary, overall a wonderful experience considering the amount of traffic the hotel had for the particular weekend we were there for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Not what we booked

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The valets were very nice and helpful.
Cons: Honor what was booked.
Location: Miss Shirley's cafe, Camden Yards, Fort McHenry, the Inner Harbor
We booked a room with two queen beds but at check in were given a large room with a double Murphy bed, two twin roll out beds one of which was broken, and thankfully there was a couch that folded out into a double bed. We were only given three small pillows. There were four of us in the room. When we asked the front desk we were told all the other rooms were taken.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Not quite worth the price...

Posted Aug 7, 2014
The location in Baltimore is prime, I will admit. As a Baltimore native, I am extremely knowledgeable of the area and attractions. However, for $250 for ONE night, location isn't everything. The hotel room was nice but nothing special. I have been in hotel rooms for half the price that were just as nice. When we checked in, I asked for a rollaway bed, which they told me would be brought up to the room. Guess what? Never got that rollaway bed. The parking fees are OUTRAGEOUS. $28 for self park overnight and $40 for valet? No thank you. We opted to park 10min down the street for free. Luckily, being Baltimoreans, we knew how to get free parking downtown. Out of Towner's will have no choice but to pay those ridiculous costs unfortunately, on top of the already ridiculous room rate. One of my friends was trying to screw in the lightbulb in the lamp in our to because the light wasn't coming on, and the lightbulb broke. We called the front desk to get someone to vacuum so we didn't cut ourselves. No big deal, right? The ladies who came to vacuum looked miserable and annoyed, did their duty, and never even replaced the bulb! Overall, it wasn't an awful stay, but for $250 a night, I expected much more. There are cheaper hotels around the harbor at a much more reasonable price. We only stayed here because there's was no other availability on the Saturday we stayed and we had heard good things about the Renaissance. But no... Wasn't that impressive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by pamela, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel. Parking charges are comparable at all of the larger hotels in the Inner Harbor. I am glad you know the area and were able to find parking elsewhere. I do apologize for the challenges with the roll away and with housekeeping services. I can assure you that this is not standard service and I am following up with our management staff to review the issues during your stay. Again, thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, Pamela Saleh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Above and beyond service

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Staff are very helpful ... Rooms are very clean !!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not quite the Renaissance I know from NYC

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Was expecting something really special and found the hotel rundown. Paid a premium for a room with a view and that is all it had...the view, but the room was nothing special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by pamela, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Inner Harbor from your guestroom but am disappointed you felt the hotel was rundown. We do have several renovations scheduled in many areas of the hotel. Again thank you for your review. It is much appreciated. Pamela Saleh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

excellent view and convenient to inner harbor

Posted Jul 21, 2014
great hotel, great location! My friend and I had a great time. It was awesome to just walk across the street to Inner Harbor and hop on the water taxi.